| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/18 20:22:18
Subject: IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
I've have read some of the other threads regarding Infantry Platoons and reserves and, correct me if I'm wrong, this is what I have concluded:
If the entire platoon is placed in reserve, the entire platoon arrives on a single reserve roll.
When deploying, each unit does so independently.
My question is this:
If a platoon constisting of a Platoon Command Squad and two Infantry Squads is separated, in this case, the PCS with a Homing Beacon starts the game on the board and two infantry squads arrive later, can the two squads arrive with a single reserve roll?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/18 20:34:20
Subject: IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
It won't work that way. While Elysian drop troops are a type of imperial guard, they do not use the imperial guard codex. If they have the rule that allows them to enter the on the same reserve role in IA8, they can. However if I remember correctly they do not have the rule, so they roll separately. Automatically Appended Next Post: I just got my hands on my IA8 book again, and had a look. They do have the ability that is listed in the IG codex, so you can roll for them collectively. When deploying the entire platoon is treated as a single choice for deployment, that seems to me to be an all or nothing option. If we use the IG FAQ (Since the wording is the same), we see the only time that you roll separately for parts of a platoon, is if they are in non-dedicated transports.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/18 21:34:49
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 14:00:13
Subject: Re:IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
If the squads mishapped and returned to reserves then they arrive later is they only way I can think of for them to arrive after the PCS. But they would then be able to benefit from their beacon.
|
"Elysians: For when you absolutely, positively, must have 100% casualties" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 14:59:13
Subject: IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Thanks for the responses.
Another question, are the separate parts of a platoon forced to come in collectively or do they have the option to?
The reason I ask is that I planned out my list to have the 3 infantry squads with demo charges come dropping in in ones or twos after the first turn spearhead.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/22 15:30:17
Subject: IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
acekevin8412 wrote:Thanks for the responses.
Another question, are the separate parts of a platoon forced to come in collectively or do they have the option to?
The reason I ask is that I planned out my list to have the 3 infantry squads with demo charges come dropping in in ones or twos after the first turn spearhead.
The whole platoon comes in collectively unless a part of it is riding in a non-dedicated transport (ie Vendetta). It works the same as a regular IG platoon in that regard.
|
"Elysians: For when you absolutely, positively, must have 100% casualties" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 19:58:30
Subject: IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
I don't think I'm explaining this clearly. I'll start over from the top.
1) What I'm trying to do is to deploy my Platoon Command Squad on the table with the rest of the platoon in reserve.
Am I allowed to do this? If I can:
2) Are the units that make up the platoon in reserve rolled for collectively or individually.
This is fairly integral to my army list and general strategy, since the platoon is supposed to provide staggered reinforcements to the main spearhead of veterans in valkyries/vendettas.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 20:12:08
Subject: IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No. Because you have to deploy the whole platoon or no parts of the platoon
2) Collectively, as it states in the codex AND in the FAQ
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/30 20:20:35
Subject: IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Is that so. Not to doubt you, but since this is a rules question, can anyone out there confirm him/her?
If you are correct, there goes that army list.
I guess I'll go with all veterans then.
Thanks for the responses either way.
Edit:
Was researching this question elsewhere on the interwebs:
http://www.belloflostsouls.net/2011/06/40k-infantry-platoon-basic-training.html
To quote the pertinent information, "there is no deployment based on Troops choices on the force organization chart. In 5th edition, we deploy units, not choices on the force organization chart."
I don't have my rule book on me, but I think this is a subtle wording that may affect the final result.
Make of it what you choose.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/05/31 17:37:28
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/01 15:57:15
Subject: IA8 Elysian Drop Troop Infantry Platoons and reserves.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
The FAQ (which post-dates that article) directly contradicts some of what's said in that article. (e.g. you can deploy two platoons in Dawn of War).
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|