Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 08:00:07
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Was just mulling over an old army list and I think I've been playing this wrong, so I wanted everyone's input on it:
I play Dark Angels, and as such we don't use Land Raiders as dedicated transport options liks vanilla marines. They are heavy support. Can I still deploy my terminators inside of a Land Raider?
Probably over thinking this at too late of an hour...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 08:09:21
Subject: Re:deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Yes
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 08:41:28
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 10:01:15
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Yes (Rulebook FAQ, p7).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 16:38:41
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Page 94 of the main rulebook as well, no?
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 21:37:41
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
As I said, late night brain fart... thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 00:29:22
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mannahnin wrote:Page 94 of the main rulebook as well, no?
Nope. There is actually nothing in the main rulebook that allows you to deploy in a non-dedicated transport. The FAQ is actually required here (weird, huh?)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 02:23:30
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Nungunz wrote:Mannahnin wrote:Page 94 of the main rulebook as well, no?
Nope. There is actually nothing in the main rulebook that allows you to deploy in a non-dedicated transport. The FAQ is actually required here (weird, huh?)
It's in their. I'll get home and open the BRB. I had someone challenge this a few months ago.
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 10:54:30
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Lobukia wrote:Nungunz wrote:Mannahnin wrote:Page 94 of the main rulebook as well, no?
Nope. There is actually nothing in the main rulebook that allows you to deploy in a non-dedicated transport. The FAQ is actually required here (weird, huh?)
It's in their. I'll get home and open the BRB. I had someone challenge this a few months ago.
It's not in their (sic). It was a highly contentious issue before the FAQ; the closest one could get to a ruling was that you can deploy anywhere in your deployment zone, and the dedicated transport is in your deployment zone. Other rules (Rulebook p67, 'Dedicated Transports'; p94, 'Preparing Reserves') implied that you should be able to, but never actually state it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 14:06:01
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Violent Enforcer
Panama City, FL
|
BRB pg. 94
"Similarly, the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together."
It does not specify that it has to be a dedicated transport.
It's pretty clear.
It says that the player must specify which transports are carrying which units.
I could be missing something, but it doesn't seem like there is much to argue about.
|
7500pts. 1750pts. 1500pts. 2000pts. 11000pts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 14:23:52
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Nungunz wrote:Mannahnin wrote:Page 94 of the main rulebook as well, no?
Nope. There is actually nothing in the main rulebook that allows you to deploy in a non-dedicated transport. The FAQ is actually required here (weird, huh?)
Page 92 under a note on secrecy says you should make it clear to your opponent which squads are embarked in which transports.
It is only dedicated transports that can only be deployed either empty or with the unit they were purchased for.
And even for dedicated transports, after they are deployed, any friendly unit can be transported in them.
The only restrictions for deploying units inside transports at the beginning of the game are:
It must be an infantry unit,
There must be sufficient room in the transport for the entire unit,
If it's a dedicated transport, only the unit it was purchased for may deploy in it.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 20:17:16
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Nocturn, the issue was that the rule you quoted mentions just refers to detailing which units are in which transport. It doesn't give you permission to deploy any given unit in any transport... just tells you that if a unit is in a transport you have to tell your opponent about it. That's not a blanket permission to deploy any unit you want in any transport vehicle.
It was a rather large gap in the rules, that most players just ignored on the assumption that between that quote and the dedicated transport entry it was fairly clear that you were supposed to be able to deploy into non-dedicated transports. Similar sort of blind spot to the rules not originally allowing ICs to join units before deployment, which has similarly now been plugged.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 21:32:31
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
Richmond Va
|
If I am not mistaken, lets look at the outflanking/scouting rules for DT's. I belive it says the only way a transport gets a scout or outflank is if the unit inside has the scouting or outflank special rule and is also dedicated to the transport. I know the wording is awful in this post but what I take it to mean is that any unit can be deployed inside of a transport but unless it is dedicated it dosent pass on its rules. That being said, you must be able to deploy non dedicated units in a transport.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/20 21:33:09
My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much
Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 22:14:34
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Ya know, it really doesn't matter. There is an FAQ that has clarified it, so all the little obscure maybe it means and so on really are irrelevant. Yes, you can deploy in a non-dedicated transport and thanks to the FAQ there is no debate necessary.
Good enough?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 22:19:11
Subject: deploying into a non-dedlicated transport?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Nocturn wrote:BRB pg. 94 "Similarly, the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together." It does not specify that it has to be a dedicated transport. It's pretty clear. It says that the player must specify which transports are carrying which units. I could be missing something, but it doesn't seem like there is much to argue about.
That's talking about Reserves; we're talking about regular deployment. There was always permission to embark a unit inside a non-dedicated transport when it comes in from reserves, but never explicit permission to deploy a unit inside the transport on the table at the start of the game. It is implied in the rulebook several times, but never actually stated. However: don_mondo wrote:Ya know, it really doesn't matter. There is an FAQ that has clarified it, so all the little obscure maybe it means and so on really are irrelevant. Yes, you can deploy in a non-dedicated transport and thanks to the FAQ there is no debate necessary. Good enough?
This.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/20 22:19:27
|
|
 |
 |
|