| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 18:58:57
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
On a boat, Trying not to die.
|
Hi Dakka. So, let's say that 10 Grey Hunters assault 10 Space Marines with Marneus Calgar. Before Marneus can attack, the Grey Hunters have killed all the Space Marines. Marneus is now left not in base contact with anyone, but the unit that he assaulted with is dead. Can he assault? Or is he left standing, and has to pile in at the end of the assault phase? DIAGRAM:
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/19 18:59:13
Every Normal Man Must Be Tempted At Times To Spit On His Hands, Hoist That Black Flag, And Begin Slitting Throats. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 19:02:54
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
First, since the Grey Hunters are assaulting, Calgar (as an IC) must move into base contact if possible during defenders react moves.
Second, whether or not he gets to attack is debatable and if someone else wants to start that argument, they may.
Third, if your group plays that he does not get to attack (as he is not in base contact initially), he would still be locked in combat, and would pile-in.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 19:03:05
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Even if the SM had survived Calgar cannot swing because an IC counts as a separate unit in CC. Since he is not in base contact with ab enemy nor is he withing a model in his unit (really just himself because he is his own unit in CC), he cannot attack.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 19:34:49
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Who can attack is determined at the start of combat. So if Marneus could attack at the start, he can attack when it's his turn even if no longer in B2B due to casulties.
However in your example he was not engaged with anyone at the start (IC have to be in B2B to attak), so cannot attack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/19 21:31:10
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Enginseer with a Wrench
|
He would have to pile in due to being part if the unit. If he passes moral, or just auto do what ever he does.
|
3000
3000
2500
on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/20 11:00:03
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
If he would have been able to attack before the Marines died, then he can still attack when it gets to his initiative step, regardless of any other casualties (Rulebook p35, last paragraph under 'Who Can Fight?'), unless he himself is dead, of course.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/20 11:00:46
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/21 10:13:41
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
you guys know Marneus Calgar has a power weapon right? At I5 he would go first... but to add to the thread, MC was still in combat even if he could not attack so he would pile in (as unlikely as it is because IC must move into base contact if possible during defenders react moves.)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/21 10:14:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/21 20:06:22
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Rex-Nine wrote:you guys know Marneus Calgar has a power weapon right? At I5 he would go first...
Not if he is using his power fists.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/21 20:15:40
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Chowderhead wrote:Hi Dakka.
So, let's say that 10 Grey Hunters assault 10 Space Marines with Marneus Calgar. Before Marneus can attack, the Grey Hunters have killed all the Space Marines.
Marneus is now left not in base contact with anyone, but the unit that he assaulted with is dead.
Can he assault? Or is he left standing, and has to pile in at the end of the assault phase?
To sum up the questions:
1) If an IC is not in base contact after all assault moves have been made, can he attack? The answer, no. He would have to get into base contact during the "Defender Reacts" move. However, if he was in base contact before blows, then he gets to attack, even if he is not in base contact when it's his turn.
2) What happens to an IC at the end of the assault if the squad he is with is killed but at least one model from the enemy squad still exists? Answer: The same thing that would happen if the squad didn't all die. i.e. take the leadership tests, etc. and pile in/fall back/whatever. In this specific example, Marneus would take a LD test with -10 (since his side lost combat by 10). If he passed (unlikely), he piles in, if he fails then he might get swept.
|
DS:70S++G+MB-IPw40k10#+D++++A+/aWD-R+T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/21 20:19:37
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Tye_Informer wrote:In this specific example, Marneus would take a LD test with -10 (since his side lost combat by 10). If he passed (unlikely), he piles in, if he fails then he might get swept.
Being Marneus, he chooses whether to pass or fail, rather than having to roll. So passing isn't unlikely at all...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/21 20:31:44
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
@insaniak: True, unless one happens to also bring another model with Chapter Tactics.
If I were playing Calgar, I would have used his power sword at I5 and cream those GH early on.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/21 20:32:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/21 20:50:38
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
leohart wrote:@insaniak: True, unless one happens to also bring another model with Chapter Tactics..
Not true, Calgar does not have Chapter Tactics. Only Combat Tactics. God of War is what grants the auto pass/fail morale tests.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/22 00:25:33
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
@Happyjew: Orly? Last time I checked, Chapter Tactics always remove Combat Tactics. And God of War rule only apply to units with Combat Tactics.
If Calgar is tagging along Vulkan, he is not auto pass/fail as he wishes. I don't think you even have a choice to NOT apply Chapter Tactics when an HQ with that rule is present.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/05/22 00:27:06
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/22 00:31:14
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
leohart wrote:@Happyjew: Orly? Last time I checked, Chapter Tactics always remove Combat Tactics. And God of War rule only apply to units with Combat Tactics.
If Calgar is tagging along Vulkan, he is not auto pass/fail as he wishes. I don't think you even have a choice to NOT apply Chapter Tactics when an HQ with that rule is present.
God of War applies to Marneus specifically, and then units with Combat Tactics can choose to pass or fail.
And if there's another chapter master he replaces his Combat Tactics with their ability - but he's still God of War.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/22 03:24:43
Subject: A question on multi Initiative Assaults.
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
@rigeld2: I stand corrected. Thank you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|