Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/22 20:15:01
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Question: would Zahndrekh be able to apply his Adaptive Tactics ability to a unit of Wraiths with a Necron Destroyer Lord attached for abilities such as Hit and Run, Furious Charge, Counter Attack, etc? The issue being that these are USR that do not apply when IC are attached.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/22 20:24:50
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Of course he can, and from what I see in the rulebook nothing states those USR's would be lost by the unit of wraiths just because the IC doesn't have them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 01:50:35
Subject: Re:Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
So you are saying a unit of Wraiths can hit and run, with a Lord attached?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 02:13:14
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
If the Lord is attached when they're given the ability then he is given the ability as well because he's part of the unit. The only problem arises if only one of the IC or the unit has the rule. In this case both are given the rule so there's no conflict.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 05:27:11
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Question of my own here. I did this tonight actually. I had obyron and lychguard at the start of my turn, i see two units i want dead standing next to me. I give lychguard and obyron furious charge from zandrekh at the start of my turn. I then serperate them in my movement phase so that they may charge separate targets, both still having furious charge. Sound legal/legit to you guys? Would seem to work in the correct order of operations to me...
|
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 06:09:27
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Dave-c wrote:Question of my own here. I did this tonight actually. I had obyron and lychguard at the start of my turn, i see two units i want dead standing next to me. I give lychguard and obyron furious charge from zandrekh at the start of my turn. I then serperate them in my movement phase so that they may charge separate targets, both still having furious charge. Sound legal/legit to you guys? Would seem to work in the correct order of operations to me...
Not legal. IC would not be member of the "chosen unit" anymore and thus would lose the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 06:20:54
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Luide wrote:Dave-c wrote:Question of my own here. I did this tonight actually. I had obyron and lychguard at the start of my turn, i see two units i want dead standing next to me. I give lychguard and obyron furious charge from zandrekh at the start of my turn. I then serperate them in my movement phase so that they may charge separate targets, both still having furious charge. Sound legal/legit to you guys? Would seem to work in the correct order of operations to me...
Not legal. IC would not be member of the "chosen unit" anymore and thus would lose the rule.
So too then would the lychguard.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 07:41:14
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
NecronLord3 wrote:Question: would Zahndrekh be able to apply his Adaptive Tactics ability to a unit of Wraiths with a Necron Destroyer Lord attached for abilities such as Hit and Run, Furious Charge, Counter Attack, etc? The issue being that these are USR that do not apply when IC are attached.
This as always will be a contentious issue because the rules say that a unit doesn't pass on its special rules to joined ICs unless the rule specifically says they do.
However, the popular interpretation of this rule tends to allow that when a unit is granted the special rule from another source then the joined IC would benefit from it as he is part of the unit at that point. It is this train of thought that allows an IC to join Snikrot's unit and benefit from his Ambush special rule (which is FAQ'd by GW).
So in short, I do believe that an IC would definitely benefit from a special rule that was granted to the unit he was joined to by Zahndrekh.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 09:17:45
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Unit1126PLL wrote:Luide wrote:Dave-c wrote:Question of my own here. I did this tonight actually. I had obyron and lychguard at the start of my turn, i see two units i want dead standing next to me. I give lychguard and obyron furious charge from zandrekh at the start of my turn. I then serperate them in my movement phase so that they may charge separate targets, both still having furious charge. Sound legal/legit to you guys? Would seem to work in the correct order of operations to me...
Not legal. IC would not be member of the "chosen unit" anymore and thus would lose the rule.
So too then would the lychguard.
No, the lychguard were the target unit, and are still about.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 09:44:26
Subject: Re:Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
The target united was Lychguard+IC. I would think either both new units loose the rule, or both keep it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 09:48:56
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The target unit was a unit of lychguard, with an IC as a normal member of the unit (oage 49)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 15:22:03
Subject: Re:Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
NecronLord3 wrote:So you are saying a unit of Wraiths can hit and run, with a Lord attached?
Yes, because the lord would have the rule as well if you apply it to the wraiths while the lord is attached.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 18:53:06
Subject: Re:Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Well, they can try and hit and run at least...at I2, good luck.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/23 20:30:23
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:The target unit was a unit of lychguard, with an IC as a normal member of the unit (oage 49)
Hm, I thought it would be more logical than that, I.E.:
Unit A = Lychguard + IC
I = IC
L = Lychguard
Target Unit = Unit A = (I+L)
I != (I+L) provided L != 0 (it isn't). This is why Obyron loses the rule.
L != (I+L) provided I != 0 (it also isn't). This is identical in structure and meaning to the statement above, but is for some reason not applied. :/
But clearly logic isn't applied in this case - stupid GW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/24 01:56:12
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Why you would even try to Hit and Run with an I2 unit is beyond me, but go for it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/24 02:07:16
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
McNinja wrote:Why you would even try to Hit and Run with an I2 unit is beyond me, but go for it.
That's still a 1 in 3 chance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/24 03:23:55
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
McNinja wrote:Why you would even try to Hit and Run with an I2 unit is beyond me, but go for it.
It has a better chance of working than a Tyrannofex does of popping a Land Raider.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/24 05:23:05
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Unit1126PLL wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:The target unit was a unit of lychguard, with an IC as a normal member of the unit (oage 49)
Hm, I thought it would be more logical than that, I.E.:
Unit A = Lychguard + IC
I = IC
L = Lychguard
Target Unit = Unit A = (I+L)
I != (I+L) provided L != 0 (it isn't). This is why Obyron loses the rule.
L != (I+L) provided I != 0 (it also isn't). This is identical in structure and meaning to the statement above, but is for some reason not applied. :/
But clearly logic isn't applied in this case - stupid GW.
I don't know that your logic is sound in this case. Here's a lengthy discussion about the same topic involving Characters on Thunderwolf mounts joining Thunderwolf Cavalry with an IC already attached: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/442940.page
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/24 18:27:00
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
Texas
|
Lordhat wrote:I don't know that your logic is sound in this case.
Neither of these arguments ( TWC, Zandrekh) are based on logic - they're semantics, definition of terms. ie, completely arbitrary and *agreed on* meaning/usage of the "unit" concept. lol No grist for the logic mill.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/24 18:35:14
Subject: Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
I think it is just a situation not handled well by the rulebook, but considering it makes allot of rules and situations not work it is generally ruled in a different way. Just as with Royal Court Members, and Wolf guard, there is no support in the rule book for how they function as upgrade characters, it has all been covered by FAQs to make it work well.
I had to ask this question, just to cover my bases in the event of someone trying to call me on an army build I am using in our League.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/24 18:47:01
Subject: Re:Zahndrekh's Adaptive Tactics
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
Texas
|
I'm agreeing, ie, that it's not handled well in the rulebook b/c it's not clearly defined, so we're sorta forced to go with some reasonable convention. And anytime you do that, you can get alternate interpretations.
|
|
 |
 |
|