Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/01 20:22:28
Subject: Eldar Perils Test
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
I'm sure this has been covered but I wanted to make sure I am strait on how this works before my next tournament. So Eldrad gets a 3+ save to prevent perils, then if failed I have to make his invul twice. I get that much. I have recently read that eldrad would not be able to re-roll his ghost helm save if failed while he is fortuned, but the wording of fortune says any failed saves are re-rolled. I get that you can't re-roll a re-roll so it doesn't really effect the invul save re-roll caused by perils, but I see no reason why I can't make his ghost helm save twice.
Any input would be appreciated thanks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/01 20:24:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0102/06/01 21:29:53
Subject: Re:Eldar Perils Test
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ghost Helm isn't a "save", it's just a roll to ignore a result.
So, the breakdown if you get a Perils with Eldrad is like this:
Without Fortune:
Roll a d6 for Ghost Helm: If 3+ stop, if 2- continue
Roll a d6 for Invul Save: If 2- take a wound, if 3+ continue
Roll a d6 for Invul Save: If 2- take a wound, if 3+ you're safe
With Fortune:
Roll a d6 for Ghost Helm: If 3+ stop, if 2- continue
Roll a d6 for Invul Save: No matter what the roll is continue
Roll a d6 for Invul Save: If 2- take a wound, if 3+ you're safe
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/01 20:32:25
Subject: Eldar Perils Test
|
 |
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch
|
If Eldrad has Fortune up and suffers a Perils of the Warp, you get the following situation:
Roll once, if successful, discard and reroll (Perils). If failed, discard and reroll (Fortune).
Therefore, just roll the dice once.
Ghosthelm isn't a save, so you don't reroll it either way.
|
text removed by Moderation team. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/01 20:39:56
Subject: Eldar Perils Test
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
Ok the no save thing on the ghost helm makes sense. Although I'm getting a little contradiction on the fortune effecting the invul save. I have one vote for the two re-rolls canceling each other out and one that says , if I understand correctly you get to take a second test even if you fail the first. Both of which make sense to me. I guess it may be a T.O. specific answer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/01 20:41:25
Subject: Eldar Perils Test
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
When you have a re-roll on success and a re-roll on failure, you can either:
a) roll the die, ignore it, and roll again
b) roll the die once, cancelling out the two re-rolls.
It's mentioned in a FAQ iirc - away from my materials atm.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/01 20:41:30
Subject: Eldar Perils Test
|
 |
Axis & Allies Player
Texas
|
Eldarcraft, You have it wrong. If you do not have Fortune, you have to pass the Invulnerable save twice. (Perils makes you reroll successful invulnerable saves).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/01 20:41:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/01 20:43:49
Subject: Eldar Perils Test
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
rigeld is correct, per the BRB FAQ, if two things cause you to re-roll (one on success, one on fail), while technically you should roll twice, to save time, roll once.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/01 20:54:17
Subject: Eldar Perils Test
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
Ok that makes sense. That's kind of what I wast thinking and sorry jwolf I'm not sure how I worded thing(as I am too lazy to re-read it all) but yeah I understand the re-roll on successful saves due to the "perils of the warp" being so deadly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|