| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/03 18:59:54
Subject: Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
I did a forum search and couldn't find anything that highlighted this in particular. Does all of Coteaz's "I've been expecting you" shooting happen simultaneously or does it go in the order of your choice? For instance, a Mycetic spore comes down with a single Zoanthrope in it and both land within 12" of Coteaz. The Zoanthrope is placed on the far side of the spore from Coteaz allowing the spore to block LoS to the Zoanthrope from Coteaz's perspective. Currently "I've been expecting you" will only allow you to shoot the spore since the Zoanthrope is out of LOS, however, what happens if you destroy the spore with your shooting, does the Zoanthrope become a legal target now?
A similar situation would be a Dreadnought behind a drop pod, can you blow up the drop pod first to potentially deny the Dreadnought a cover save?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/03 22:39:57
Subject: Re:Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
I'd think that the spore is coming in from reserve, but the zoanthrope is coming in from the spore. I don't know if the zoanthrope is something you can shoot. I probably need help with this one.
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/04 00:01:13
Subject: Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
Well I know that if the Zoanthrope were to be put somewhere that was initially within LOS of Coteaz then he would absolutely be able to shoot at it. That is clearly spelled out in the GK FAQ in regards to his special rule. I'm unsure as to the timing of the whole thing whether removing the intervening model would then trigger "I've been expecting you" since the model is arriving by deep strike and is no within his LOS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/04 00:12:31
Subject: Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/04 04:33:41
Subject: Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
The two that I see that are relevant to this are:
Q: When are the shooting attacks from Inquisitor
Coteaz’s I’ve Been Expecting You special rule fired? (p45)
A: They are fired as soon as a unit that is a valid target
is placed on the board. Once the shooting attacks have
been resolved, the unit can complete its move. If the
unit is arriving by Deep Strike, this will be after the
scatter has been resolved.
Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or
Mycetic Spore, count as arriving from reserve for
Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been Expecting You special rule?
(p45)
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit
will be able to fire once at each unit.
I understand the second one allows me to fire at things that come out of drop pods or spores, and the first one says that I fire immediately at targets as soon as they become valid. That still doesn't clarify the timing of the shots in the context of my question, or at least I'm not seeing it.
My view on it would be that I can choose the order I shoot at the targets and it would progress like any other shooting phase in that if something is destroyed by a previous round of shooting it no longer exists for later rounds of shooting. So in the example I gave originally if I were to shoot the Mycetic Spore and destroy it, the Zoanthrope would then become a valid target and I would have permission to shoot it at that time. Does this seem like a reasonable interpretation of the rules?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/04 04:41:33
Subject: Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
I would have thought that first faq answer would have cleared it up for you.
"They are fired as soon as a unit that is a valid target is placed on the board'. Place the spore between the inquisitor and the zoanthrope, and the zoanthrope, being out of LOS, will mean it is not a valid target. No matter if the unit in between is destroyed, it wasn't a valid target, so it can't be shot at.
Thats my take.
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/04 04:49:00
Subject: Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
I can see that being the case, it still seems a little off though since the unit is still showing up from reserves and it is in his LOS.
As for the second case, with the drop pod, I would say that if you destroy the pod before firing at the Dreadnought, it wouldn't receive a cover save since it was definitely a valid target to start with and its cover no longer exists.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/04 05:11:25
Subject: Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
You resolve the whole shot at one unit before shooting at the next unit. Yes, if you kill the spore or Explode the pod the model will be removed.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/04 15:29:39
Subject: Coteaz Order of shooting
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
According to the first FAQ that you quoted, Drop Pod comes down, scatter, getting shot at, resolve damage. Then the Dreadnought get out from the Drop Pod, if you can see him too, shoot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|