Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 03:06:56
Subject: Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
The rules for ordnance barrage say that cover saves are resolved from the center of the large blast template after scatter, so if a unit of genestealers are in area terrain, and for simplicity sake say that you roll a hit on the scatter and its in the middle of the squad, does that mean no cover saves?
It came up in a game I recently played when I was using a whirlwind tank. The opposition said that since they were in area terrain they got a cover save. Any input would be great, confirming or denying. Thanks in advance
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 03:08:55
Subject: Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
No, they get cover because they're in area terrain.
You get cover when you're either:
1. In area terrain
2. LoS is obscured from the firing point.
The rules for barrages only change part 2, not part 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 03:38:51
Subject: Re:Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
As above. Unit in area terrain would get cover, however if you dropped said barrage on my mob of 30 boyz who are behind a line of Kans, they wouldn't get a cover save for intervening models. Same as if you fired past another of your units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 04:19:39
Subject: Re:Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
So if the Ordnance Barrage lands with the center point in the middle of unit A, but there is enough of the blast marker to cover unit B, does unit B get a cover save? Since cover is determined from the center point, and it is going through one unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 04:27:10
Subject: Re:Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yep. Falls under the "intervening models." Don't have the BRB handy, but i'm fairly certain it explicitly states that you get a save (talking infantry squads) if there are ANY intervening models not of the firers squad.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 04:40:08
Subject: Re:Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
I see thank you. I was arguing that you would because the center of the marker is in the same area terrain of the unit. Thanks for the info.
I ended up using the round that ignores cover anyway Haha
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 12:08:57
Subject: Re:Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Sigmundr wrote:As above. Unit in area terrain would get cover, however if you dropped said barrage on my mob of 30 boyz who are behind a line of Kans, they wouldn't get a cover save for intervening models. Same as if you fired past another of your units.
What about if the Orks have a Mek with a KFF, would they still get a 5+ cover save?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 12:30:28
Subject: Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Axis & Allies Player
Texas
|
Yes, because they are effectively in an area that provides cover.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 14:11:01
Subject: Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle
Cleveland, OH
|
On a related note, you should be firing the Incendiary Castellan Missiles from your Whirlwind at Genestealers in cover! THAT would ignore the area terrain save and kill them outright on 4+ with no armor save (ap5)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/06 14:41:03
Subject: Re:Ordnance Barrage...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Also, all these rules apply to Barrage weapons, not just Barrage weapons that are also Ordnance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|