Switch Theme:

An answered question about table edge and deployment (answered)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





My first question is, based off of previously played games and the brb faq is thus: Do you move units from reserve onto the board, from off of the "world" and count that movement, or do you place them at the very edge and move them that way?

Off | On
....|
....|
....|
..O|..... (6" here)
....|O.........(6"move here)

This is based off the faq that says that a transport failing to come on the board completely is destroyed (roughly) and also about how valkyries cant move onto the board 6 inches and shoot.

This leads to my next question, when you ram another vehicle, you do this: Every AV point above ten is +1, if the ramming unit is a tank its plus 1, and every three inches you move is +1. The same applies for the unit being rammed.

Now, take a night scythe. Last turn it moved 36 inches, to hit it in CC youd need a 6, because it moved more than 6 inches, furthermore, it gets a flatout save because it moved, well, flatout.

If a land raider were to ram a night scythe, and the land raider moved 12 inches, the landraider would cause a 4(av14)+4(moved 12)+1(its a tank)=str 9 hit on the nighscythe. Conversely, the nightscythe would cause a 12(moved 36 inches)+1(av11) =str13 hit on the landraider right?

now, if thats so, and units start "off the edge of the world" and move onto the table, how far would a LR travel for example, to ram the NS, how far would he go? I "think" as i see it, he only moved less than one inch if the NS is butted up against the tabletop, so hed only do a str5 against the NS' still 13...Is this correct?



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/06/08 00:32:07




 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Perth/Glasgow

I though the speed was only the ramming speed so the LR would cause a Str 9 hit and the NS would casue a Str 5 hit on the raider

At least thats how my LGS has done it

Currently debating whether to study for my exams or paint some Deathwing 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

First models are "placed" against the board edge (off the board) and then they move on.

For Ramming it is based on the ramming vehicle's movement, not the vehicle that has been rammed. Of course the Night Scythe can attempt to skimmer dodge a non-skimmer ram.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Oh reread it. duh

Yeah, just the rammer gets the bonus lol. The wording tricked me (each vehicles calculates str as indicated below) Oh well! Lol



 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Actually they both get the movement bonus. This is clarified in the example regarding a land raider and trukk.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/06 22:27:28


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

Q1) Moving onto the board from reserve or during turn 1 of DoW is done from the board edge, as if entering from off the board. This counts as their movement for that phase.

A valkyrie cannot move 6" and fire all of its weapons because you cannot physically fit the entire model on the board without it moving over 6", and a model that cannot completely fit on the board is destroyed.

Q2) In that Scenario, the Land Raider would indeed cause a S9 hit from moving 12" (4), being AV14, (4) and being a tank (1), but the return strike would be S5, since you only count the distance that the vehicle performing the ram has moved. Also bear in mind that since the Night Scythe is a Skimmer and the Land Raider is not, the Night Scythe will dodge the ram on a 3+.

If it was attempting to ram an NS that is up against the table edge, it would only cause a S5 hit, but the NS would cause only a S1 hit.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Avatar 720 wrote:If it was attempting to ram an NS that is up against the table edge, it would only cause a S5 hit, but the NS would cause only a S1 hit.


Of course, if it failed to Destroy the NS, the Land Raider would be destroyed.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

Indeed, which would likely be the case due to the NS getting the 3+ ram dodge and the raider needing a 6 followed by a 5 or 6. or since it cannot actually wreck it if it's not lost both its weapons and become immobilised, thanks to S5 only being able to glance.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/06/06 22:45:36


Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Ok so ONLY DoW is moving on the table from off the board edge then? Every other deployment/reserve move is done as if they were already on the board right?



 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Also, doesn't the ram STR cap out at 10?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Basimpo wrote:Ok so ONLY DoW is moving on the table from off the board edge then? Every other deployment/reserve move is done as if they were already on the board right?

No. All moving onto the board is done the same way.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/06 22:46:09


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

It does, yes, otherwise I wouldn't get nearly so annoyed at my EGTs rolling 1s when trying to damage something it rammed at top-speed.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Basimpo wrote:Ok so ONLY DoW is moving on the table from off the board edge then? Every other deployment/reserve move is done as if they were already on the board right?


No. All movement onto the table is done as if the unit started its move positioned JUST off (touching) the edge of the table.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Q: Can a vehicle that is moving on from reserves
perform a tank shock? (p68)
A: Yes it can, declare the distance it is going to move
along with its direction and move the tank onto the
board that many inches, measuring from the board
edge as for a normal from reserve
. The tank shock is
performed as usual. However, if the tank is forced to
stop for any reason before the entire vehicle is on the
board then the vehicle, and any embarked units, count
as destroyed and are removed from play.

Bolded part, from the main rules FAQ.....................................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





lol which doesnt answer the question of which SIDE of the edge to measure from, which is why i posted the question and received an answer in the first place



 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

If the model is moving onto the board, they are not on the board yet.
So do not measure assuming they are on the board, simply measure from the edge of the board.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

lol which doesnt answer the question of which SIDE of the edge to measure from, which is why i posted the question and received an answer in the first


The edge doesn't have a side. You just measure from it. If your unit moves 12" onto the table from the edge, no part of that unit can be more than 12" onto the table.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Basimpo wrote:lol which doesnt answer the question of which SIDE of the edge to measure from, which is why i posted the question and received an answer in the first place


Neither side, you measure from the board edge itself. Think about it for a minute, and you will realize that the board edge does not have sides. it is a single line along the edge of the board. So yes, it actually does answer the question.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Uh look at the little diagram i did The edge of the board does have a side, and thats why i asked the question. Which was, do you start the measurement as if you were on the table already (thats one side) or if you were off the table (thats the other side). The table edge is a line On either side of that line is a side The question has been answered though Thanks.




 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It has 2 sides that have no difference in width betewen them, as the edge of the board is a 1 dimensional construct
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





its an obviously boundry on which one side is the place you play the game, and on the other side is not the place you play the game. There is no further "plain english" hammering garbage that needs to be spouted about it. Its done and over with.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"garbage"? really?

The point is that there is no difference between the two measurements, because the edge has no thickness. None. Making the question irrelevant to begin with
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





So the edge doesnt matter? To me the clear inch or so gained over one side of the board versus the other suggests a little bit of mattering to me. Its garbage because all it did was obfuscate the the matter (telling everyone something irrelevant to the question, the width of the edge, height of the table, alignment of the moon and so forth) and re-restart the question process and brain hammering again, to the point where popup books and pictures are needed.





[/url]



Notice: Even though the width of that naughty little line doesnt matter, the side you start on apparently does matter.

Also, I dont aim to offend you. But had you read the prior posts there was no more need to drag this out. Furthermore, the height, weight and length of the line didnt matter at all to the question, because you would either start on one side, or the other.





 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Misunderstanding police here:

The quote from Basimpo is still asking if the vehicle is first placed with its rear touching the edge, and then measured its movement distance; or if the front edge of the vehicle is measured from starting at the table edge.

If is the front at table edge Basimpo. If you are using a retractable Tape measure(the tool kind); then just hook it to the edge where you want your vehicle to come on from, measure to where you want it the go, then place the front of the vehicle at your desired spot(the vehicle has moved that distance).

In the case of your land raider ramming as it comes in from reserve; you use that measurement(hook on edge to the rammed vehicle) for the distance traveled in the ram(if this distance is not enough to get the landraider fully onto the board, and you do not explodes your ram target you just lost your land raider as well).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It tells you you start *just off* - so starting on breaks this rule.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Worse part is that some of the first responders(Happyjew) in this thread had answered his question quite clearly; but then a side discussion started and basimpo ignored the answer to get further confused.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Actually, the part where it seems like im confused and the question remains un answered is me actually stating that the question was answered...anything else after that point is basically re-re-re-re-reanswering the question in the first place.

Im not confused about the question, its how ive been playing it. I had someone argue vehemently against this and thats why i asked the question in the first place to get clarification.

Also, regarding that the question has been answered is why i changed the title to what it is now...redundant



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: