Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/11 00:26:39
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot
Racine, WI
|
Hey Dakka! So I came across this while going against my friends Mech IG list. I used Anrykrh the Traveler to take command of an enemy Leman Russ in squadron of 3. Now in the FAQ for this, it states that the vehicle affected may not fire at itself. But being in a squadron, would I be able to fire the Leman Russ at the other members of the squadron, thus potentially hurting the one I took control of?
Food for thought!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/11 00:36:35
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
|
It's not allowed to fire at itself in the same way a blast weapon cannot fire at - ie target - units locked in close combat. However, scatter may move the round into said close combat, and damage is applied as normal.
In other words; yes, it can. Remember that normally a Leman Russ (or any unit) can't fire at itself, anyway, but can still hurt itself through scatter.
EDIT: I assume you mean;
"Q: Can an enemy vehicle affected by the Mind in the
Machine ability fire at itself? (p62)
A: No."
In which case, yeah, it's pretty clear. It can't fire at itself - this says nothing about the tank right next to it. It just means it can't directly target itself. I suppose you could target the ground and hope it scatters, but... free Leman Russ shot. Use it wisely.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/11 01:04:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/11 01:26:12
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
Frozen Ocean wrote:I suppose you could target the ground and hope it scatters,
You must place the blast marker over the base of a model or hull of a vehicle. You can not place it over nothing.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/11 06:34:03
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot
Racine, WI
|
Yes I know. But if there are 3 leman russ's in 1 squadron, and I take control of one of the tanks, could i fire at the other 2 in the squad?
Automatically Appended Next Post: Let me try to illustrate this:
A C Anrykrh
B
With the given situation, let's say I successfully take control of tank C. Assuming it is facing the other 2, would I be able to put a blast template or just simply shoot at either A or B?
Then, if that is true, through allocation by the opponent, wouldn't he be able to choose to put a damage result on the vehicle that fired, since it's in a squadron with the other 2?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/11 06:38:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/11 15:20:22
Subject: Re:Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
I do not see any reason why you could not target a vehicle in the same squadron. If the owning player allocates glancing/penetrating hits to the firing vehicle, that's his choice. In fact, if you are allowed to fire more then one weapon (I'm not really sure as I do not have the Necron Codex in front of me) he may be required to allocate hits to the firing vehicle depending on how many vehicles are in the squadron and how many hits you cause.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/11 15:34:21
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
|
ToBeWilly wrote:
You must place the blast marker over the base of a model or hull of a vehicle. You can not place it over nothing.
I know, but such rules are often disregarded by myself and those with whom I play! (As is the inability to shoot at your own units - outside of CC, of course - if you so choose, not that we ever do)
Meanwhile; I understood what you meant about the squadron. However, it is still a single model firing; Kharn the Betrayer, for example, is fully capable of attacking those in his squad when he goes berserk. I... never thought about allocating wounds on to him, though. lmao
What do you mean, 'put a blast template or just simply shoot at either A or B"? Of course you put a blast template; the weapon is a blast weapon. It's not like the Lychguard (or Triarch Praetorian, whichever has a shield)'s shield, the spirit of which seems to imply that the blast is merely focused and redirected. In this case, it's exactly the same as the Leman Russ firing at anything else.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 13:12:53
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
it woudl be cool if you did this and managed to immobilise a whoel squadron with his power (seeing as how, if he's in a barge he can in theory kill 3 tanks in one turn)...
I think...
Move - sweep kill Tank A
Use MiTM to shoot tank C with Tank B
charge and kill Tank B
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 17:40:20
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
|
Even better. Destroy Tank A with Tank C, Tank A explodes and damages the other two, and everyone rolls ones.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 17:47:20
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Frozen Ocean wrote:Even better. Destroy Tank A with Tank C, Tank A explodes and damages the other two, and everyone rolls ones.
Erm.... How could a strength 3 explosion hurt an armour 10, or more.
|
Tournament record: (W/D/L)
Space wolves : 1/1/1
Dark Eldar : 6/0/1 (1 overall win)
Daemons :8/0/2 (1 overall win)
Normal games starting 5/11/12:
Dark Eldar 13/0/1
Daemons 32/1/1
Friends armies 1/0/0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 18:36:08
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Scarabs
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/14 13:54:31
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
Actually entropic strike anywhere. Not neccessarily scarabs.
With that said I don't see how you can fire at the same squadron. They are a single unit and you are simply allowed to fire one of the vehicles...yadda yadda. You can't target the same unit that you exist in. Now could you fire at another nearby unit and hope for a friendly scatter? Sure.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/14 14:25:17
Subject: Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
I'm pretty sure you can't either, although it sounds cool. As it seems, by reading, the tank is still part of that unit even though you have control over it, and you can't target 'your own unit' when choosing to fire at something, which for that tanks shot the other tanks would still count as its unit.
Would be pretty awesome otherwise. But unless by taking control of it you seperate it from the unit, I'm gonna say rules as is go against the possibility.
|
“We are the ones you left for dead. The ones you left in the ground. Buried and forgotten, we have tunneled our ways to the stars, and there will be no dirt nor cave where you can hide. The Dwellar are here.”
Dwellar Codex; 40k Dwarfs
“Well, what do you carry the gun for if you’re just going to waste bullets?” Timer reloads his Boomer as Forling fires his Shrapper.
“I may ‘ne be a good shot Timer, but I don’t miss much from this close up with my hammer,” Forling continues to fire.
“All the enemies are good and far away so what the hell does that…” Timer looks up to see Forling giving him an angry stare. “Oh, yea, ok, um, good shooting.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/14 14:39:32
Subject: Re:Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
I'm still going to have to say, I believe you can. Here's why: Mind in the Machine states, "...you can immediately shoot with it as if it were your unit." and, "Once these shooting attacks have been resolved, the vehicle returns to your opponent's control."
If it is your unit for the duration of the shooting attack it is no longer, at this moment, part of the squadron. Hence, it can target members of that squadron. And, since it doesn't return to the squadron until after the shooting attack has been resolved, it can't be allocated hits. Contrary to what I previously thought.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/14 15:00:46
Subject: Re:Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
ToBeWilly wrote:I'm still going to have to say, I believe you can. Here's why: Mind in the Machine states, "...you can immediately shoot with it as if it were your unit." and, "Once these shooting attacks have been resolved, the vehicle returns to your opponent's control."
If it is your unit for the duration of the shooting attack it is no longer, at this moment, part of the squadron. Hence, it can target members of that squadron. And, since it doesn't return to the squadron until after the shooting attack has been resolved, it can't be allocated hits. Contrary to what I previously thought.
I agree with your final conclusion based of the wording of "Mind in the Machine".
I was not privy to that information myself prior to my last post, after reading it, I concur with your assessment.
|
“We are the ones you left for dead. The ones you left in the ground. Buried and forgotten, we have tunneled our ways to the stars, and there will be no dirt nor cave where you can hide. The Dwellar are here.”
Dwellar Codex; 40k Dwarfs
“Well, what do you carry the gun for if you’re just going to waste bullets?” Timer reloads his Boomer as Forling fires his Shrapper.
“I may ‘ne be a good shot Timer, but I don’t miss much from this close up with my hammer,” Forling continues to fire.
“All the enemies are good and far away so what the hell does that…” Timer looks up to see Forling giving him an angry stare. “Oh, yea, ok, um, good shooting.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/15 13:42:27
Subject: Re:Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
ToBeWilly wrote:
I'm still going to have to say, I believe you can. Here's why: Mind in the Machine states, "...you can immediately shoot with it as if it were your unit." and, "Once these shooting attacks have been resolved, the vehicle returns to your opponent's control."
If it is your unit for the duration of the shooting attack it is no longer, at this moment, part of the squadron. Hence, it can target members of that squadron.
It never says anywhere that it ceases to be a part of the squadron. Show me where it says that and then yes I will agree with you.
It simply that you may shoot with that vehicle as if it were under your control ignoring stuns and shakes. Since nothing says that it isn't a seperate unit then you still cannot shoot at it.
ToBeWilly wrote:
And, since it doesn't return to the squadron until after the shooting attack has been resolved, it can't be allocated hits. Contrary to what I previously thought.
Again nowhere does it say that it ceases to be apart of the squadron.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/15 14:29:06
Subject: Re:Anrykrh The Traveller vs Squadrons
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
This is a question that cannot be answered by the rules as written so there is little point debating it on that level.
It all comes down to the issue of:
• Yes, the firing vehicle is under the control of the Necron player but is it still part of the same Squadron? (Don't see why not)
• However, is the squadron still an enemy unit? (seems that way)
Therefore it makes sense that the vehicle can fire at its own unit, even placing the blast over itself perhaps?
Again, its all just speculation on how best you think to play it because the rules are not of any help really.
For the INAT, after a long argument we finally settled on counting the firing vehicle as temporarily separate from his squadron-mates. So he could fire at them, but could not hurt himself (not counting scattering blasts, naturally).
|
|
|
 |
 |
|