Switch Theme:

Black Templar, HQ characters leaving command squads  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Prospector with Steamdrill




If you have (any) characters that have the ability to buy terminator command squads... but do not buy them terminator armor, what happens to them?

Also, if a Chaplain buys terminator armor and servitors, can he join a terminator command squad?
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






maaksel wrote:If you have (any) characters that have the ability to buy terminator command squads... but do not buy them terminator armor, what happens to them?

Also, if a Chaplain buys terminator armor and servitors, can he join a terminator command squad?


1) If you take the optional Terminator Command Squad, the character you purchased it for has to lead it, it says right there in the options "may lead", in the Black Templars Characters special rule it tells you what leading a squad involves and that is "the character and the unit are a single HQ choice, the character is a member of the unit and may not leave it."

As such, if your character doesn't have Terminator armour, he can't be a member of the squad, and thus can't lead it, so it's not a valid option to take. Your character must have Terminator armour to take a Terminator Command Squad

2) Since Cenobyte Servitors don't have Terminator armour they can't be attached to a Terminator Command Squad

note: I'm not familiar with any potential FAQ rulings on this, but this is how it stands based on the Codex.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Prospector with Steamdrill




See, that is where the rules lawyer comes in. It doesn't say "cannot take unless you have terminator armor", but it does say you 'have to lead it'... but if you can't join it because of the other rule involving must have terminator armor... then you can't join it... not 'cannot buy' it.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






maaksel wrote:See, that is where the rules lawyer comes in. It doesn't say "cannot take unless you have terminator armor", but it does say you 'have to lead it'... but if you can't join it because of the other rule involving must have terminator armor... then you can't join it... not 'cannot buy' it.


But if you aren't leading it, you aren't leading it, and thus, can't be taking an option to lead it. You have no permission to take it, except by leading it.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Prospector with Steamdrill




It doesn't say that anywhere. It says "is a member of the unit", which he is. Until you place him on the board and he can't join it due to the restrictions.

Never does it says "may not be taken without terminator armor", or anything along those lines.

I understand your argument, but it never actually says anything and assumptions are made. Thats what happens when you look at books written 7 years ago I guess.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




maaksel wrote:I understand your argument, but it never actually says anything and assumptions are made. Thats what happens when you look at books written 7 years ago I guess.


So, what are you going to do? Buy the IC Terminator Armor so that he can lead a Terminator Command Squad or turn up with a list that hangs the game on deployment?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

maaksel wrote:Never does it says "may not be taken without terminator armor", or anything along those lines.

Yes it does. Just not in those specific words.

You can take the Terminator Command Squad to accompany a character. The squad can only have characters attached to them if the character is in terminator armour. So if the character doesn't have terminator armour, they can't accompany the squad... so you can not take them.

 
   
Made in us
Prospector with Steamdrill




Inferring and saying it are entirely different. NO WHERE does it say "you may not buy this unit unless you have terminator armor" or "a character MUST be in this unit to take it", it simply says that the under character special rules, he must join the unit.

Thats fine, I understand. However, when I go to deploy, the next rule says "may NOT join unless he has armor", well shucks! You command squad go have fun! I'm going to go join this termie assault squad.

This basically means that chaplains can never join assault terminators, which is completely asinine.

Since this book is 7 years old, and all the 'new' books, no longer enforce this retinue restriction, I think it leans more toward the spirit and letter of the law.

RAW would state that I am correct. There is NO RESTRICTION to buying the unit other than having the character to begin with.

It never comes close to saying what you're 'quoting' isaniak. Not even close. Just says "is a member, cannot leave', well he can't join it to begin with.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Actually, it does say that the character must be in the unit to take it.

When it says the character may lead a command squad. That means that the character must be in the unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Prospector with Steamdrill




No, you can't say "that means", because there is no FAQ on it. He can lead it ALL he wants, except when you go to deploy it he can't join it because he doesn't have terminator armor.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Page 47 BRB (and by extension, page 8) shows that "leading" a unit means that the character is joined to it.

If he can't join the unit, he can't lead it - meaning it is an illegal unit choice.


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

maaksel wrote:No, you can't say "that means", because there is no FAQ on it.

Uh, yes, you can.

You don't need an FAQ on every rule in order for that rule to actually apply.


You're digging for easter eggs. The entry as written is very clear that the character has to be in Terminator Armour in order to take the squad. No amount of twisting words or claiming that it doesn't actually mean what it says is going to change that.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: