Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 02:08:30
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hello, I had a question about counter attack and psyk out grenades. As well furious charge
First off the space wolf FAQ says that if Ragnar blackmane and his unit are assaulted and counter attack is passed his unit gains ca and furious charge. I was wondering does that mean a unit like the traveler from the necrons also applies as in the traveler gets ca and FC?
In saying that does a grey knight with CA and psyk Out grenades get to use them when they are assaulted if they pass CA?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 02:23:00
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
It doesn't say that. It says they don't get Furious Charge as they aren't assaulting. All they get is the +1 Attack. So anything that keys specifically off Assaulting (such as grenades and Furious Charge) won't trigger off a successful Counter Attack roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 02:57:04
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Chrysis wrote:It doesn't say that. It says they don't get Furious Charge as they aren't assaulting. All they get is the +1 Attack. So anything that keys specifically off Assaulting (such as grenades and Furious Charge) won't trigger off a successful Counter Attack roll.
I just re read it and it says"ragnars unit does indeed gain furious charge"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 03:08:55
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Q. Picture this: My Grey Hunters unit including Ragnar Blackmane is assaulted and makes a successful Leadership test to Counter-attack. Do they then benefit from his Furious Charge special rule (+1 S and +1 I)? Also, can the original assaulter then deploy defensive grenades to rob the Space Wolves of their Counterattack bonus? (p55) A. The Counter-attack special rule only confers the +1 assault bonus and no other advantages normally associated with assaulting. Therefore Ragnar’s unit does not benefit from Furious Charge. Also, we think it is a bit rich for an assaulting unit to get the bonus for attacking and defending, so no, defensive grenades cannot be used to negate the bonus attack from counter-attacking. Edit: Copied directly from the Space Wolves FAQ.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/12 03:09:17
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 03:29:54
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Q. Picture this: My Grey Hunters unit including Ragnar
Blackmane is assaulted and makes a successful
Leadership test to Counter-attack. Do they then benefit
from his Furious Charge special rule (+1 S and +1 I)?
Also, can the original assaulter then deploy defensive
grenades to rob the Space Wolves of their Counterattack
bonus? (p55)
A. The Counter-attack special rule only confers the +1
assault bonus and no other advantages normally
associated with assaulting. Therefore Ragnar’s unit does
not benefit from Furious Charge. Also, we think it is a
bit rich for an assaulting unit to get the bonus for
attacking and defending, so no, defensive grenades
cannot be used to negate the bonus attack from
counter-attacking.
Edit: Copied directly from the Space Wolves FAQ.
Am I reading the wrong FAQ? http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m800008a_FAQ_SpaceWolves_2009
Can't seem to find another one
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 03:32:33
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?categoryId=1000018&pIndex=1&aId=3400019&start=2
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2170015a_Space_Wolves_FAQ_Version_1_2_January_2012.pdf
Most current space wolves FAQ.
I'm not sure how you couldn't find it -games workshop FAQ in google has always pulled it up first on any computer I use. Automatically Appended Next Post: Side note - this quote would've served well in a semi-recent 10 pager:
Q. Does a Wolf Standard allow Leadership test results to be re-rolled? (p62)
A. No, as it is impossible to roll a ‘1’ on 2D6 – when making a 2D6 result you must count both dice as a single roll, not address them individually.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/12 03:37:14
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 03:57:48
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
rigeld2 wrote:
Side note - this quote would've served well in a semi-recent 10 pager:
Q. Does a Wolf Standard allow Leadership test results to be re-rolled? (p62)
A. No, as it is impossible to roll a ‘1’ on 2D6 – when making a 2D6 result you must count both dice as a single roll, not address them individually.
Wow, good job finding that one. I'm sure you'll still find someone who'll argue with you though. Somewhere on the interwebs.
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 04:56:37
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
motyak wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
Side note - this quote would've served well in a semi-recent 10 pager:
Q. Does a Wolf Standard allow Leadership test results to be re-rolled? (p62)
A. No, as it is impossible to roll a ‘1’ on 2D6 – when making a 2D6 result you must count both dice as a single roll, not address them individually.
Wow, good job finding that one. I'm sure you'll still find someone who'll argue with you though. Somewhere on the interwebs.
Legit it is the first and only one I find in google... I'm on my phone though
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 10:47:21
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
rigeld2 wrote:
Side note - this quote would've served well in a semi-recent 10 pager:
Q. Does a Wolf Standard allow Leadership test results to be re-rolled? (p62)
A. No, as it is impossible to roll a ‘1’ on 2D6 – when making a 2D6 result you must count both dice as a single roll, not address them individually.
So many people accuse me of being awkward about SW rules on here cos I am playing to advantage but that is just crazy wrong.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 11:35:26
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
liturgies of blood wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
Side note - this quote would've served well in a semi-recent 10 pager:
Q. Does a Wolf Standard allow Leadership test results to be re-rolled? (p62)
A. No, as it is impossible to roll a ‘1’ on 2D6 – when making a 2D6 result you must count both dice as a single roll, not address them individually.
So many people accuse me of being awkward about SW rules on here cos I am playing to advantage but that is just crazy wrong.
How is it wrong?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 11:36:47
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Anyone trying to argue getting a re-roll of the leadership out of a wolf banner, it's a joke.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 11:38:02
Subject: Counter attack and psyk out grenades
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
liturgies of blood wrote:Anyone trying to argue getting a re-roll of the leadership out of a wolf banner, it's a joke.
Ah. The argument at the time was re-rolling 1d6 out of a leadership test with the Necron Chronometron (or whatever it is).
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|