Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 23:14:45
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
ok, so my question is this. If i move my DE raider flat out, can the unit inside .. lets say wyches ... disembark, move, run, assault?
or do they just disembark then assualt?
Friend and i are confused on that fact. Moving and disembarking dont make much sense to me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 23:17:55
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Axis & Allies Player
Texas
|
Neither. Flat out means no getting on or off the vehicle. BRB, P. 70 FAST TRANSPORT VEHICLES.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/12 23:49:38
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
The furthest you can move and still disembark from a DE Raider (or any vehicle) is 12", which is cruising speed.
You disembark within 2" of any point of the vehicle (because it is open topped), you can then make a normal move for the infantry that were inside, but only if the Raider hadn't already moved that turn, if the Raider had moved, the infantry inside may only disembark and move no further.
Any unit is eligible to run after disembarking from a vehicle.
Because the Raider is open topped you may assault on the turn you disembark from it, assuming no other restrictions prevent you from doing so (e.g. running with a unit that doesn't have fleet)
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/14 13:51:56
Subject: Re:open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
As the others have said. Going flat out prevents embarking or disembarking of any kind.
Now assume the raider was stationary. The unit of wyches can disembark from 2" of the hull and may move, run, and assault since they have fleet.
Now assuming that the raider moved. If it moved 12" or less then the embarked wyches can disembark as above, and may run and assault as before, but they may NOT move since the raider has already moved.
Assuming that you have a haemonculus with them will prevent you from assaulting (even though its open-topped) if he runs with the wyches since he doesn't have fleet. That is why you see most players leave him behind.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/16 20:16:36
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
|
2" from the hull is their movement ( If Raider moved 12" or less). Up to 6" Run move as its an open topped fast skimmer, and as they are Fleet, up to 6" Assault. Concievably, this would give you up to 26" of covered ground.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/16 20:23:12
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
worldwarme wrote:2" from the hull is their movement ( If Raider moved 12" or less). Up to 6" Run move as its an open topped fast skimmer, and as they are Fleet, up to 6" Assault. Concievably, this would give you up to 26" of covered ground.
This.
Remember that your units are not forced to be completely inside that 2" radius (as most seem to believe), but rather the distance between the base and the vehicle's hull can be no more than 2".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/16 20:33:28
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Pete Haines
Springfield, MA
|
Kharrak wrote:
Remember that your units are not forced to be completely inside that 2" radius (as most seem to believe), but rather the distance between the base and the vehicle's hull can be no more than 2".
DOH!
|
"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."
I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/16 20:43:46
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Kharrak wrote:worldwarme wrote:2" from the hull is their movement ( If Raider moved 12" or less). Up to 6" Run move as its an open topped fast skimmer, and as they are Fleet, up to 6" Assault. Concievably, this would give you up to 26" of covered ground.
This.
Remember that your units are not forced to be completely inside that 2" radius (as most seem to believe), but rather the distance between the base and the vehicle's hull can be no more than 2".
But every base must be within that 2" at least a little so you can't just have the back rank of troops within 2" and the rest farther away but you can gain some decent distance placing so the model is just within 2" barely.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/17 13:53:16
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
|
Every Millimeter counts when you're using Dark eldar.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/17 18:46:14
Subject: open toped and disembarking
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
I completely agree, cause that unit of wyches who fall just short of their target will soon be a unit of dead wyches.
I was just pointing out that you can't do something like:
wwww
wwww
w------
[=======]
[ vehicle ]
[=======]
w = wyches
--- = 2" of the hull
I have seen people allot of times try something like this to get an advantage by claiming that the unit is within 2" so it was legal to do it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/17 18:47:40
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
|