Switch Theme:

Deepstrike Question: Cannot be deployed?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

I'm having trouble finding a way to phrase the question simply, so I'll use "pictures."

X = The first model in a deep striking unit.
Y = the other models in a deep striking unit.
T = Impassable terrain or anything else blocking a unit.

So X lands directly adjacent to T and there are eight of Y.

Am I able to deploy as below, with the eight Y beginning to form a new circle:

YYY
YX T
YYYY

Or does a deep strike mishap occur as I am not able to deploy a complete circle?


 
   
Made in au
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot




Australia

I reckon that's a misshap there!

4th company
The Screaming Beagles of Helicia V
Hive Fleet Jumanji

I'll die before I surrender Tim! 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Yep, that's a mishap. In order to land safely, you must complete a circle, no matter what, before starting a new one.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in au
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot




Australia

You could have interpeted it worse though. My best mate argued with me for more than twenty minutes the first time he played that you made actual circles next to each other!

So you're doing okay...

4th company
The Screaming Beagles of Helicia V
Hive Fleet Jumanji

I'll die before I surrender Tim! 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

Thanks for the answers.
I'm considering using groups of immortals with a veiltek, and my friend is getting together a bunch of storm boyz with Zagstruk. I figured we'd better have this deep strike stuff down before actually trying it.


 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






See, I always saw this situation that you lost the units that could not be deployed correctly, similarly to when you have a unit deploy from a transport and there is not enough room to place all the models.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





CrashCanuck wrote:See, I always saw this situation that you lost the units that could not be deployed correctly, similarly to when you have a unit deploy from a transport and there is not enough room to place all the models.

That's not what the rules say, though. The rules say if you can't place everybody the unit mishaps.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




CrashCanuck wrote:See, I always saw this situation that you lost the units that could not be deployed correctly, similarly to when you have a unit deploy from a transport and there is not enough room to place all the models.

Excet the rules for DS tell you very clearly what happens - mishap if any model cannot be deployed.
   
Made in us
Nervous Accuser






In previous editions I believe you would just lose the models that couldn't be placed.
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

Yeah I think that was 4th edition.

@CrashCanuck: I just learned today that the within 2" disembarking thing doesn't mean all models have to have their bases completely withing a 2" distance, they just have to have a 2" distance from the access point to the edge of their base. I'm slow, but I hear many people are doing that wrong. It seems weird that you'd not have enough room to deploy (though I can think of many situations you might be talking about).

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




DarbNilbirts wrote:In previous editions I believe you would just lose the models that couldn't be placed.


Nope, in 4th the unit was just destroyed, no roll.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: