Switch Theme:

Ever living and sweeping advance?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Got stuck on this one when playing a game recently, rolled for E.L and failed anyway.

Here's the example:

Necron Overlord on his own and Necron Warriors vs Wolf Lord. Wolf Lord kills Overlord and does sweeping advance on the Warriors.

Question is, can the Overlord can back up? The Overlord wasn't part of the Warrior unit, also if a ever living model was in a unit which has been destroyed by sweeping advance can it get back up?

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





There was a really nasty thread about this a while ago.

It boiled down to units being caught in sweeping advances not being removed as casualties, thus they can't use RP or EL

Whether that's still the perception, I'm unsure.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/13 13:31:13


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






If the character is alive when his unit is swept, he is removed from play with no recourse to return, ever living won't work on a model that is swept.

If the character dies to melee attacks before his unit is swept, the game breaks because Everliving tells you "If the model had joined a unit when it was removed as a casualty, and the roll was passed, it must be returned to play, with a single Wound, in coherency with that unit as explained in Reanimation Protocols" however, you can't place the Character in coherency because the unit no longer exists, so you will just have to decide with your opponent how such a situation should be handled.

Note: There is a FAQ that suggests in the second instance you default to just resurrecting within 3" of the counter as though you weren't attached to a unit when removed as a casualty, but there's no rules support or explicit FAQ addressing it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/13 13:43:24


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

As mentioned, the Overlord WAS NOT part of the Warrior unit. He was also killed before the remaining Warriors were swept by the Wolf Lord.

Can he get back up?

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





mercer wrote:As mentioned, the Overlord WAS NOT part of the Warrior unit. He was also killed before the remaining Warriors were swept by the Wolf Lord.

Can he get back up?

Still up to debate.
Since his unit was part of the combat, it was still swept - even if he was dead at the time.
There's no FAQ covering this.

Decide at your table.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

If the overlord was not attached to the warrior unit, then he can most certainly stand up, as sweeping advances are applied to the individual units, not the combat as a whole. The overlord was already down and was not attached to the warriors, so no SA can be applied to him. Resolve the rest of the combats, then check for his roll to get back up at the end of the phase.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Maelstrom808 wrote:If the overlord was not attached to the warrior unit, then he can most certainly stand up, as sweeping advances are applied to the individual units, not the combat as a whole. The overlord was already down and was not attached to the warriors, so no SA can be applied to him. Resolve the rest of the combats, then check for his roll to get back up at the end of the phase.

Actually, that's a good point. I apologize for mis-remembering the SA rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

Heh, I screw up rules all the time, no need to apologize to me. I had to double check this one just to make sure I was right

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Drunkspleen wrote:If the character is alive when his unit is swept, he is removed from play with no recourse to return, ever living won't work on a model that is swept.

If the character dies to melee attacks before his unit is swept, the game breaks because Everliving tells you "If the model had joined a unit when it was removed as a casualty, and the roll was passed, it must be returned to play, with a single Wound, in coherency with that unit as explained in Reanimation Protocols" however, you can't place the Character in coherency because the unit no longer exists, so you will just have to decide with your opponent how such a situation should be handled.

Note: There is a FAQ that suggests in the second instance you default to just resurrecting within 3" of the counter as though you weren't attached to a unit when removed as a casualty, but there's no rules support or explicit FAQ addressing it.


No wounder it took so long for GW to digitalize their products. They would be the worst programmers ever.
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

rigeld2 wrote:
mercer wrote:As mentioned, the Overlord WAS NOT part of the Warrior unit. He was also killed before the remaining Warriors were swept by the Wolf Lord.

Can he get back up?

Still up to debate.
Since his unit was part of the combat, it was still swept - even if he was dead at the time.
There's no FAQ covering this.

Decide at your table.


I've said this twice now, the Overlord IS NOT part of the Warrior unit. The Overlord is seperate and is not attached to the Warriors in any shape or for.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Maelstrom808 wrote:If the overlord was not attached to the warrior unit, then he can most certainly stand up, as sweeping advances are applied to the individual units, not the combat as a whole. The overlord was already down and was not attached to the warriors, so no SA can be applied to him. Resolve the rest of the combats, then check for his roll to get back up at the end of the phase.


That's what I thought and what I did, but he did not get back up

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/13 15:04:17


warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





mercer wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
mercer wrote:As mentioned, the Overlord WAS NOT part of the Warrior unit. He was also killed before the remaining Warriors were swept by the Wolf Lord.

Can he get back up?

Still up to debate.
Since his unit was part of the combat, it was still swept - even if he was dead at the time.
There's no FAQ covering this.

Decide at your table.


I've said this twice now, the Overlord IS NOT part of the Warrior unit. The Overlord is seperate and is not attached to the Warriors in any shape or for.


rigeld2 wrote:
Maelstrom808 wrote:If the overlord was not attached to the warrior unit, then he can most certainly stand up, as sweeping advances are applied to the individual units, not the combat as a whole. The overlord was already down and was not attached to the warriors, so no SA can be applied to him. Resolve the rest of the combats, then check for his roll to get back up at the end of the phase.

Actually, that's a good point. I apologize for mis-remembering the SA rules.


Because obviously you missed it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

mercer wrote:
Maelstrom808 wrote:If the overlord was not attached to the warrior unit, then he can most certainly stand up, as sweeping advances are applied to the individual units, not the combat as a whole. The overlord was already down and was not attached to the warriors, so no SA can be applied to him. Resolve the rest of the combats, then check for his roll to get back up at the end of the phase.


That's what I thought and what I did, but he did not get back up


Yeah, in 11 games I think I've had an overlord stand back up maybe three times...and in putting 3 wounds on him with the 2+ save I've rolled all 1s three times now

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





EL can still roll. They are still treated as casualties.



 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

This edition: up for debate.
Next edition: it looks like they are finally clarifying the whole "removed as casualties" vs "removed from play" thing. It's looking like good news for Necrons, but we'll have to wait for the book to be certain.


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

Fafnir13 wrote:This edition: up for debate.
Next edition: it looks like they are finally clarifying the whole "removed as casualties" vs "removed from play" thing. It's looking like good news for Necrons, but we'll have to wait for the book to be certain.


If the Overlord did not start the combat attached to the warriors, there really is no debate. He can still make his roll.

I'm praying to any deity that will listen that 6th retains that little section from the pancake rules, but we'll see. It's almost too logical of a move for GW.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Maelstrom808 wrote:
Fafnir13 wrote:This edition: up for debate.
Next edition: it looks like they are finally clarifying the whole "removed as casualties" vs "removed from play" thing. It's looking like good news for Necrons, but we'll have to wait for the book to be certain.


If the Overlord did not start the combat attached to the warriors, there really is no debate. He can still make his roll.

I'm praying to any deity that will listen that 6th retains that little section from the pancake rules, but we'll see. It's almost too logical of a move for GW.


It would be nice if 6th edition fixed problems, of course, given most of the rumours read as some sort of horrible reverse wishlist of everything the game doesn't need, I'm not particularly hopeful.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: