Switch Theme:

The Overrun rules in Warpath  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pa
Regular Dakkanaut




Panama

Now I remember a rule I was having problems. The Overrun rules. Anyone used that one with success?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/06/19 14:21:30


Keep up the fight!  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Scyzantine Empire

I played my first game of Warpath today, running a Corporation list against Forgefathers.

I took two heavy support vehicles, one of which was left in charging range of my opponent's Huscarl with a heat hammer. He wiffed the hammer swing and the target I wanted to shoot at next was out of LOS across the table, so I Overran the Huscarl.

The auto-hits are devastating against a hero. I did 4 hits at Crushing [2], all of which got through his armor. Added to the five wounds he had already suffered took him out of the game.

Against larger squads of more heavily armored targets, it's going to have limited effectiveness, but when used to target small squads or heroes, it's killer.

What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money

"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+

 
   
Made in pa
Regular Dakkanaut




Panama

Thanks for the answer, so you find this better than the one in 5th edition of 40k?

Keep up the fight!  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Scyzantine Empire

The Tank Shock rules in 40K are honestly a joke. The only time it's effective to tank shock is when you're aiming for a low leadership unit lacking anti-tank against an opponent who isn't familiar with the rules.

Most armies have a decent leadership and making a Ld test with no modifiers is a cinch. Now, add in the fact that most units in the game have effective anti-tank to perform a Death or Glory attack and it makes tank shocking go from being a dicey herding method to a way to suicide your tanks.

I'd like to see the Overrun rules allow for a unit to make a Death or Glory attempt, but the risk of getting smushed should be increased. Maybe allowing the squad/hero getting overrun an attack against the armor unit in exchange for a +1 to the 1d6 roll for autohits. Damage applied to the armor unit can be used to test Nerve on your next turn.

This is probably a little more than Mantic wants to add to their system and it also seems to go against the idea that only you make rolls on your turn.

One loophole that we weren't able to resolve in the rules is that vehicles can overrun Infantry and collide with Armor, but doesn't mention Ordinance at all. If we were as nit-picky as the rules-lawyers for 40K, this would mean that it's not possible to run over Ordinance in Warpath at all. We decided that if I decided to "tank shock" his Jotunn, we'd treat it as an Armor unit for simplicity's sake. Any idea of an official ruling on that?

What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money

"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Seven Year War Afficianado






Chicago

We've played 3 times now and used the overrun rules each time.

They seemed just fine. Rarely was the overrun the decisive blow, but it certainly did some damage and helped to wear down units.

We haven't tried the overrun vs ordinance yet. I kept all 3 of my Bassies well back.

Chicago Skirmish Wargames club. Join us for some fast-play, indie gaming in the windy city.
http://chicagoskirmishwargames.com/blog/


My Project Log, mostly revolving around custom "Toybashed" terrain.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/651712.page

Visit the Chicago Valley Railroad!
https://chicagovalleyrailroad.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Scyzantine Empire

Eilif wrote:We've played 3 times now and used the overrun rules each time.

They seemed just fine. Rarely was the overrun the decisive blow, but it certainly did some damage and helped to wear down units.

We haven't tried the overrun vs ordinance yet. I kept all 3 of my Bassies well back.



I'd agree that it's not a decisive blow, but on a unit that's already accrued some damage (which the Huscarl already had) it can be the straw that breaks the camel's back.

What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money

"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Seven Year War Afficianado






Chicago

Definitely. It's one more tool in the toolkit. I think it adds a nice bit of Sci-fantasy flavor to the game.

In a real battle you don't often get tanks running over infantry, but in a sci-fantasy realm like 40k or Warpath it seems right.

Chicago Skirmish Wargames club. Join us for some fast-play, indie gaming in the windy city.
http://chicagoskirmishwargames.com/blog/


My Project Log, mostly revolving around custom "Toybashed" terrain.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/651712.page

Visit the Chicago Valley Railroad!
https://chicagovalleyrailroad.blogspot.com 
   
Made in pa
Regular Dakkanaut




Panama

I read some people commented in the old Rogue Trader there were not too many vehicles. Just a few Rhinos and troops running around.

Keep up the fight!  
   
Made in us
Seven Year War Afficianado






Chicago

Capt. Camping wrote:I read some people commented in the old Rogue Trader there were not too many vehicles. Just a few Rhinos and troops running around.


This is a bit off topic and probably deserves it's own thread...
but yes, In Rogue Trader (and somewhat in 2nd edition also) the game was much less focused on vehicles. Also, the number of figures on each side tended to be alot less. It's in 3-6th edition that the game has expanded to include masses of vehicles.

Chicago Skirmish Wargames club. Join us for some fast-play, indie gaming in the windy city.
http://chicagoskirmishwargames.com/blog/


My Project Log, mostly revolving around custom "Toybashed" terrain.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/651712.page

Visit the Chicago Valley Railroad!
https://chicagovalleyrailroad.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » Mantic Miniature Games (Kings of War, etc.)
Go to: