Switch Theme:

valk/ven question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Alright lets say i am moving my valk over 12 inches into terrain. and roll a one. since it moved flat out it is wrecked.

not it has a rule saying Grav shute insertion. when do i have to declare i am getting the people inside out?


for instance i in my head had no intention of getting them out but i zoom 24" straight into a tree. and wreck and since i wreck i could not get out, and my unit would be destroyed along with it. Can i at this point go hey btw i am getting them out to salvage what i can after rolling the that killed my valk.

thoughts questions?

i think i could still disembark the unit due to Grav shute insertion. even though their ride is dead.

3000
3000
2500

on the other hand Nobz they decided it was in the best interest of ork society that they "Go Green" as such they specifically modified their warbikes to not make giant smoke, dust, grit, clouds. Instead they are all about driving with clean air, one might say their bikes Gak out rainbows.

 
   
Made in us
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds





Actually yes.

quote: "Grave Chute insertion: if the Valkyrie has moves flat out, passengers may still disembark, but must do so as follows. Nominate any point that the Valkyrie or Vendetta moved over and deploy the squad as if it were deep striking onto that point. If the unit scatters, every model must take a dangerous terrain test. If an of the models cannot be deployed, the unit is destroyed as described in the 1-2 result of the deep strike mishap table."


It states that you must have made the move before they get out.




Space marines

:tyranid: Tyranid

and a smattering of chaos 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

But at the point when you use the Grav Chute, the Valkyrie is wrecked and the rule no longer applies. So No.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





grendel083 wrote:But at the point when you use the Grav Chute, the Valkyrie is wrecked and the rule no longer applies. So No.

Not true.
Valkyrie is wrecked. Everyone must disembark (following the wrecked rules).
Normally, if you go Flat Out they could not disembark and would therefore be destroyed.
However, the Grav Chute rule allows them to disembark. They get out, Valk is removed.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

The Grav Chute doesn't replace standard disembark rules, it's an extra way of disembarking. And is used once the Valkyrie has finished moving. So...

Valkyrie is wrecked (Grav chute ceases). Everyone must disembark (following the wrecked rules).
Normally, if you go Flat Out they could not disembark and would therefore be destroyed.
The Valkyrie is removed.
Grav Chute would happen here... But Valkyrie is no longer in play so rule no longer applies.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/20 13:08:36


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I'm with Rigeld on this one, the first thing Grav Chute Insertion says is

"If the Valkyrie has moved flat out, passengers may still disembark"

that overrides the normal core rules saying that the models are ineligible to disembark, so when the Valkyrie moves flat out and proceeds to become wrecked, you don't say "oh I moved flat out, so now these models can't disembark" because you have something that has made that false.

The fact that it goes on to specify a different, special way of disembarking is irrelevant, the rule which would force the unit to stay in the vehicle and die with it has been changed so it no longer does that.

Not only is the transported unit eligible to do a Grav Chute Insertion after the Valkyrie destroys itself in terrain, they are actually obligated to.

edit: note regarding Grendel's order of operations it is incorrect, when you produce a wrecked result on the damage table (through any means) with a transport, you are told to disembark where possible before the vehicle is destroyed, indeed, if you weren't it would make it impossible to disembark from ANY wrecked vehicle; So the Valkyrie is most certainly alive, and its special rule intact, when you disembark the unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/20 13:53:52


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Axis & Allies Player




Texas

I am also with rigeld2 on this one. Which pains me, but sometimes we have to do the right thing even if we don't like it.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jwolf wrote:I am also with rigeld2 on this one. Which pains me, but sometimes we have to do the right thing even if we don't like it.

I CHANGED MY MIND I DON'T WANT THE MAYANS TO BE RIGHT!

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I disagree, because any special rules or wargear stop working if the vehicle is destroyed. Applicable FAQ from BRB:

Q: Do any upgrades or special rules a vehicle has cease
to work once it is destroyed? (p61)
A: Yes. For example if a Land Raider Crusader is
destroyed by ramming an enemy vehicle, its embarked
passengers would not be able to launch an assault in
the ensuing Assault phase as they would no longer
benefit from its Assault Vehicle special rule.

As the Valk/Vend is destroyed, it would lose the Grave Chute special rule, and the unit would not be able to disembark.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/20 14:03:36


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Happyjew wrote:I disagree, because any special rules or wargear stop working if the vehicle is destroyed. Applicable FAQ from BRB:

Q: Do any upgrades or special rules a vehicle has cease
to work once it is destroyed? (p61)
A: Yes. For example if a Land Raider Crusader is
destroyed by ramming an enemy vehicle, its embarked
passengers would not be able to launch an assault in
the ensuing Assault phase as they would no longer
benefit from its Assault Vehicle special rule.

As the Valk/Vend is destroyed, it would lose the Grave Chute special rule, and the unit would not be able to disembark.

The Valk/Vend isn't destroyed until the wrecked process is finished. For the wrecked process to finish, they disembarking rules have to be processed. Which means the Grav Chute still works.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

OK, I can understand that.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

Yeah, rules only matter at the time they come into effect. In the case of the land raider assault ramp, the LR is gone when it's the assault phase. For the valk it's still there until they disembark.

I think it's kind've stupid, but I can see it realistically. The valk would obviously be on it's way down and the people eject. Wtf other reason is there that wouldn't just make it fly over the obstacle?

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: