Switch Theme:

Psykers in Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

I don't use farseers all that often in my Eldar army, so I'm not boned up on these aspects of the rules. Can he use his psychic powers while in a transport? I recall that the argument was no, because he's not technically on the table, but wasn't sure if that was the case or not. Thanks in advance for the help.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

He can use powers but it depends on the power, if it requires line of sight he may not be able to use it if it is not a PSA. See Njal stormcaller's abilities.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high

I believe that has been FAQ'd in a few codicies, and the answer has been no.

Bedouin Dynasty: 10000 pts
The Silver Lances: 4000 pts
The Custodes Winter Watch 4000 pts

MajorStoffer wrote:
...
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





If it requires LoS he can't use it (PSA or not)- none of the Eldar vehicles have firing points.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
iGuy91 wrote:I believe that has been FAQ'd in a few codicies, and the answer has been no.

There's no restriction on using a power that doesn't require LoS.
Please cite a FAQ saying otherwise.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/22 12:57:42


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes you can, see the rulebook FAQ

You cannot use PSAs as they require a fire point, something eldar lack, and you cannot cast powers on units inside transports other than the one your psyker is embarked on
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






Any of the powers that state "X unit within Y inches of the farseer gets Z effect" may still work and you resolve the distance from the hull of the transport. So the powers Doom, Fortune and Guide may still be used when the Farseer is in a transport. None of those powers require LoS and are not PSA.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes you can, see the rulebook FAQ

You cannot use PSAs as they require a fire point, something eldar lack, and you cannot cast powers on units inside transports other than the one your psyker is embarked on

My bad, forgot that eldar have no firing points.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






liturgies of blood wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes you can, see the rulebook FAQ

You cannot use PSAs as they require a fire point, something eldar lack, and you cannot cast powers on units inside transports other than the one your psyker is embarked on

My bad, forgot that eldar have no firing points.


Not at all your bad; Nos is currently codex-correct, you are technically correct.

If the Eldar are ever given a transport with firing points, you will be correct.

If you are playing in an Apoc game and put the farseer in a rhino, chimera, Ardcased Battle/looted wagon(any transport with fire points), or any open-topped vehicle, you are completely correct.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: