Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0023/06/22 14:52:02
Subject: A few rule questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
A couple friends and I just starting playing WFB after a 12 year break. Needless to say there are a couple of rules that we aren't 100% sure on and I was hoping to get some help.
1) If you fail a charge and have a caster in the unit is he still free to cast that turn?
2) Can a caster still cast in combat? Can a caster cast an augment or hex spell into a combat he is not a part of?
3) When you announce a charge do you first wheel your unit to face the target and then measure or do you measure from the closest corner to the target? Also does it matter if the unit is turned and your furthest point is not within the charge range of the target?
I believe those are the rules we are most curious about at the moment, I would appreciate any help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/22 14:58:58
Subject: A few rule questions
|
 |
Incubus
|
1) Yes
2) Yes (as long as it is not direct damage), yes
3)You measure closest corner, then wheel, no it does not matter if farthest point is not within charge, if some of your unit is in range and your dice get you there, you are there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/22 15:24:37
Subject: A few rule questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Rivet wrote:1) Yes
2) Yes (as long as it is not direct damage), yes
3)You measure closest corner, then wheel, no it does not matter if farthest point is not within charge, if some of your unit is in range and your dice get you there, you are there.
Thank you I appreciate the help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/23 03:19:02
Subject: Re:A few rule questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
As long as the unit you are charging is visable to the charging unit, you can make contact with no more then 1 wheel, and the closest distance between the two units is equal or less then the distance rolled for the charge, then the charge is successful.
Here is an example of a charge I made a few months ago(it did cause some nerd rage)
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/23 15:51:33
Subject: A few rule questions
|
 |
Crazed Savage Orc
Saginaw, MI
|
I like that diagram, It really shows it.
Probably one of the nerd rage is that once you declare a charge to ungors raiders they need to collapse into the center to form a rank and file unit
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/23 15:58:20
Subject: Re:A few rule questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Nah, he fled with the Raiders.
The rage was the fact that my almost 90 degree wheel didn't eat up any of my charge distance.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/23 17:11:54
Subject: A few rule questions
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
The rules clearly say it doesn't so no point in that.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/23 17:24:10
Subject: A few rule questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I appreciate that diagram. It really sums up all of our charge questions really well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/25 15:31:46
Subject: A few rule questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
minor nitpick on the diagram, but shouldn't the raiders have squished down into base contact with each other when you declared the charge against them?
/minor nitpick
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/25 15:55:50
Subject: Re:A few rule questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
hmmm, i don't know about that one.
They did declare a Flee reaction, so I think they would have just turned without coming into formation.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/25 20:11:44
Subject: A few rule questions
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
Another small nitpick from an earlier post.
If I remember correctly, the single wheel you're allowed to make doesn't have to be at the beginning of the charge move. It can actually be in the middle of the charge move and has to be made in such a fashion that it maximizes the number of enemy models you will contact in the target unit.
This is significant where things like impassible terrain or other units might be in the way if the charging unit performed the wheel at the beginning of the charge move.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/26 04:55:20
Subject: Re:A few rule questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
That is correct.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
|