Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/26 14:22:09
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hi folks,
Quick question for you all - let's say I have a squad of Warriors with the Tyranid Prime in reserve, and the Hive Tyrant on the board with the Hive Commander ability.
The Hive Commander ability allows a single troop unit to use the 'Outflank' special rule - how does this work with my Tyranid Prime which is attached to the unit? Can/does he out-flank with them, like Gazgull outflanking with Boss Snikrott, or is he not allowed to outflank with the troop squad he is attached to?
Many thanks for your help on this!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/26 15:08:37
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
scouts and infiltrate, which normally allow the outflank rule are lost when an IC without the USR joins the squad so I (and I am a tyranid player myself) would say no since it is normally not allowed and the rule says nothing about allowing an attached IC to use it. Also snikrot does not use outflank it's ambush i beleive.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/26 15:14:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/26 15:15:10
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
That is for Scouts and Infiltrate, however, since the IC is a normal member of the unit, he would be able to outflank with the Troops.
On the other hand, if we use the Mycetic Spore as a precedent for attaching an IC to a unit entering via non-normal means, then it would be a no.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/26 15:28:21
Subject: Re:Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks very much, though reading from your reasons I'd be inclined to disagree with you.
Outflank isn't a USR, just one of abilities that are conferred onto the unit if they have the Infiltrate rule.
Closest matches to this scenario are 1) Ambush, which isn't a USR so like it can be conferred to the IC; and Brood Pregonitor, whereby the Tervigon can apply the Poison and Furious charge abilities to the Termigant squad - which if the Tyranid Prime joins, he also receives...
So for me it all points to him being allowed to outflank with the Warriors, does anyone agree?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/26 16:56:59
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
when i said USR i meant scouts and infiltrators. One of the most important things to bear in mind with rule queries is that the rules are permissive, if it doesn't say you can do it you cant. Also when an identical rule (USR or not) is lost in the situation you stated, it'd probably safest to assume you would lose it.
Anyway it's all probably moot in a few days.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/26 17:12:44
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
I think it is a lot simpler than guess work. The BRB states that independent characters can join a unit while they are still in reserve. This new combined unit rolls for reserves as one
Outflank is a deployment syle, so since the IC will deploy in the same way that the unit he joins does, so since outflank is granted not through a USR, the IC should be able to outflank with the warriors
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/26 22:23:52
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
spongemonkee wrote:when i said USR i meant scouts and infiltrators. One of the most important things to bear in mind with rule queries is that the rules are permissive, if it doesn't say you can do it you cant. Absolutely correct; and in this case the Tyranid Prime's unit is given the permission to outflank. Also when an identical rule (USR or not) is lost in the situation you stated, it'd probably safest to assume you would lose it. Complete nonsense in 40k rules. Snikrot is capable of bringing ICs along with him when outflanking(an actually Identical situation), so a USR that grants a capability being lost by/when an IC joins a unit holds no bearing on this situation, and even if it did: SW saga of the Hunter still allows a unit of Wolf Scouts to outflank when the IC is attached(even though they should technically lose the USRs that give the scouts the ability to Outflank) Anyway it's all probably moot in a few days
You never can tell with GW.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/26 22:24:29
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/27 19:36:42
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
The other argument is that after he joins it's no longer a Troop unit - its a Troop + HQ combined unit.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/27 19:44:17
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
In the Casualty section of a Blood Bowl dugout
|
rigeld2 wrote:The other argument is that after he joins it's no longer a Troop unit - its a Troop + HQ combined unit.
I'd disagree with this. After all, a Troops Unit with a HQ IC in it are able to capture objectives.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/27 20:51:03
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
The Shadow wrote:rigeld2 wrote:The other argument is that after he joins it's no longer a Troop unit - its a Troop + HQ combined unit.
I'd disagree with this. After all, a Troops Unit with a HQ IC in it are able to capture objectives.
I'm not saying how valid it is, only that the argument has been put forth repeatedly within the context of this rule.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/28 15:18:17
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Happyjew wrote:That is for Scouts and Infiltrate, however, since the IC is a normal member of the unit, he would be able to outflank with the Troops.
On the other hand, if we use the Mycetic Spore as a precedent for attaching an IC to a unit entering via non-normal means, then it would be a no.
Except that he is NOT a normal member of the squad, he's an HQ IC, not a member of the Troops squad. So once he joins, it is no longer a Troops unit, it is a Troops unit with an attached IC. And all the rule allows is for a Troops unit to Outflank.
The Shadow wrote:rigeld2 wrote:The other argument is that after he joins it's no longer a Troop unit - its a Troop + HQ combined unit.
I'd disagree with this. After all, a Troops Unit with a HQ IC in it are able to capture objectives.
Which is a completely different situation, only requiring that a model from the unit be close enough to control.
And it may all be irrelevant next week........................
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/06/28 15:21:56
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/28 15:45:38
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
You know don; you really cannot sit there and state that a unit of troops with an attached IC is not a Unit of Troops for 1 rule and then claim that they are for a separate rule.
"only troops can control [the objective]" BRB, page 90, Scoring units.
If a unit of Troops+HQ is not a unit of troops then they cannot score either.
And yeah that rules-interaction might mean sod-all in 2 days, but the core concept of keeping consistent will not be; If you want to claim something as X in 1 situation, you had better damn well keep it X in all identical situations.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/28 18:02:07
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Sure I can. GW has already established this for us. If you deploy that unit of Troops and the attached Warrior Prime in Dawn of War, have you deployed a unit of Troops or have you deployed a unit of Troops and an HQ? Simply put, a unit of Troops with an IC attached is no longer just a unit of Troops, which is all that the Outflank ability is able to affect. Scoring is different, only requiring a model from the troops unit to be within scoring distrance of the objective. The only question with an attached IC would be whether or not a Troops unit could control an objective if the IC was the only model within range. Personally, I'd give that to them. But the Outflank issue is (to me) cut and dry. The rule allows a unit of Troops to be given Outflank. Nothing says it encompasses attached characters. But who knows. maybe 6th will fix this for the Nids.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/28 20:35:40
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The IC rules cover that situation.
ICs join units, and you are never given explicit rules to attach ICs to units prior to deployment other than while in reserve.
Since the only method for ICs to join units is for the IC to join the unit; you have the Troops unit deploying and the IC, HQ unit deploying along with them. At deployment they are 2 separate units.
During the game they are a single unit, that unit is both an HQ and a Troops simultaneously.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/28 23:03:47
Subject: Re:Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
a few interesting developments:
in scoring, it only says that the unit has to come from an army's troops section, so anything that is bought as troops seems to be able to score (unless meeting one of the exceptions)
and the FAQ for the rulebook states you have to declare an IC is joining a troops unit before declaring which units will infiltrate, outflank, etc.
so it seems a unit can score without being comprised of solely troops.
also, I haven't been able to find a section that states the IC and unit count as one unit, can anyone direct me to that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/28 23:43:09
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Page 49, Independent Characters & Assaults, second paragraph, last sentence, for one such reference.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/29 01:08:22
Subject: Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Happyjew wrote:Page 49, Independent Characters & Assaults, second paragraph, last sentence, for one such reference.
Also ICs and Shooting, Same page, first paragraph, second sentence.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/06/30 08:39:10
Subject: Re:Outflanking Tyranid Troops & ICs
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
outflank in now a USR and only a single model in the unit needs to have it. IC's are allowed to be deployed in units before the game as long as you inform your opponent
|
|
 |
 |
|