Switch Theme:

6th. ed. psykers: who can use what?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Raging Ravener




Norway

As the topic asks, who can use what psychic disciplines? I have the July WD with the chart but it doesn't have the official RULE stamp as far as I can see and a friend of mine is arguing that since no restrictions are present in the BRB that all psykers can use whatever they want. What's more is that the rulebook even gives an example of how a pyromancy power might manifest if cast by an ORK, which is contrary to what the WD said, which was that Orks only ever use their own powers. The bit about the pyromancy spell was just flavour text but since the rulebook doesn't offer any clarification it's all up in the air to me.

Evolve, overcome, consume.  
   
Made in fi
Calculating Commissar







The codex FAQs are official documents, and contain correct discipline choices for each model allowed them.

The supply does not get to make the demands. 
   
Made in no
Raging Ravener




Norway

Can't find any restrictions in the Ork FAQ.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Nvm, it DOESN'T say they can use them powers whereas in the others it says they can, thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/01 08:37:50


Evolve, overcome, consume.  
   
Made in ie
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





Can CSM Aspiring Sorcerers use Warp Charge 2 powers?
All MoT dudes seem to be level 2 by their own longhand definition.

DR:80+S++G+MB--IPw40k00#-D++++A+++/aWD100R+T(D)DM++++

Church: So it is a sword, It just happens to function like a key in very specific situations.
Caboose: Or it's a key all the time, and when you stick it in people, it unlocks their death.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Tz sorcs are mastery 2, so can use warp charge 2 powers.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Are Spirit Stones on Farseers now useless? Do they still allow an extra power per turn, even though FAQ lists a Farseer as Mastery lvl 1?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Spirit stones make farseers Mastery 2

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger




Washington, DC area

Agamemnon2 wrote:The codex FAQs are official documents, and contain correct discipline choices for each model allowed them.


This, basically. If your codex doesn't address what you can use then I would fall back on the WD. If your opponent is being a d**k about it, throw him/her a bone and use your codex powers, proceed to win the game by tabling them in 3 turns, and don't bother playing against them again.

http://beltway-gamers.com For those in the DC/MD area who are looking for a solid gaming club.

DS:80S+G+M--B+I+Pw40k97+ID++A+/e/mR+++T(S)DM+

>6500
6th Ed Eldar - 4/2/5

"The warhost on the hill was one of the most bizzare sights I had ever seen on a battlefield... Xenos, daemons and humans collected together in units together, gripping dice and paintbrushes; Orks, humans and creatures for which I had no name, clad in ancient armour and clothing; steam-powered walkers with antique-armoured assistants; and many bizarre war-machines, many of which had no purpose that I understood.
An Eldar, bizarrely dressed in a customised suit of power armour and standing on a shield borne by two servants, was carried forth out of the crowd. Raising his Daemon weapon, he shouted three abrupt words:
"Thin! YOUR! PAINTS!"
With that, every member of the warhost screamed out their own battlecry; only a few that I heard were "WOLVES FOR THE WOLF GOD, WOLVES FOR THE WOLF THRONE!", "METAL BAWKSES!", and, strangest of all, "CREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED!". However, after a few seconds, all these shouts were replaced with a single, simultaneous battlecry:
"DAKKA DAKKA DAKKA! 'ERE WE GO, 'ERE WE GO, 'ERE WE GO!" Upon shouting this, the entire army charged down the hill, guns blazing." - extract from the report of Colonel Montague, Cadian 12th, on the "Gugalle Incident".
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok here is my question about psykers. I am a nids player and I get that all my psykers are Lvl 1 (minus the Swarmlord) the FAQ says that I get to roll on the table for each power I have from my codex including purchased ones. So in this case since the HT comes with two am I then able to roll twice for new powers? If so I would assume that since I am level 1 I only get to use one a turn and that any roll of a power that takes 2 warp charges is pretty much a dead roll.

Am I off on this?
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger




Washington, DC area

I *think* your mastery level is equal to however many spells you're allowed to cast. However, if your FAQ flat-out says that a HT is mastery 1 then you only get 1 discipline power. Best to stick with your codex powers and take 2.

http://beltway-gamers.com For those in the DC/MD area who are looking for a solid gaming club.

DS:80S+G+M--B+I+Pw40k97+ID++A+/e/mR+++T(S)DM+

>6500
6th Ed Eldar - 4/2/5

"The warhost on the hill was one of the most bizzare sights I had ever seen on a battlefield... Xenos, daemons and humans collected together in units together, gripping dice and paintbrushes; Orks, humans and creatures for which I had no name, clad in ancient armour and clothing; steam-powered walkers with antique-armoured assistants; and many bizarre war-machines, many of which had no purpose that I understood.
An Eldar, bizarrely dressed in a customised suit of power armour and standing on a shield borne by two servants, was carried forth out of the crowd. Raising his Daemon weapon, he shouted three abrupt words:
"Thin! YOUR! PAINTS!"
With that, every member of the warhost screamed out their own battlecry; only a few that I heard were "WOLVES FOR THE WOLF GOD, WOLVES FOR THE WOLF THRONE!", "METAL BAWKSES!", and, strangest of all, "CREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED!". However, after a few seconds, all these shouts were replaced with a single, simultaneous battlecry:
"DAKKA DAKKA DAKKA! 'ERE WE GO, 'ERE WE GO, 'ERE WE GO!" Upon shouting this, the entire army charged down the hill, guns blazing." - extract from the report of Colonel Montague, Cadian 12th, on the "Gugalle Incident".
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok here is the issue with saying a HT only gets one since he is level 1.



Thats in the very start of my FAQ. And is the crux of the argument I am having with a friend. He tells me I only get 1 power since I am level 1. But this paragraph seems to lead me to think I get the extra power but can still only use one.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Broodlords, hive tyrants, and zoanthropes get two rolls for disciplines. Swarmlord gets 4, Doom gets 1. Tervigons get 1-3 depending.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Note that the rulebook says that you get one Lore power for each mastery level. HOWEVER, most codexes (via errata/amendments) give most models two Lore powers even if they are mastery level 1. This is the way it will be until new codexes are released with the new psychic system.


Edit: Two or more. Some armies can purchase additional powers, even though they can't use them all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/01 16:03:14


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




See this is what I thought was right, but I have a stubborn friend who tells me I am just trying to get something in my favor. I see it has having more options. Thanks for the responses
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




It seems you trade a codex assigned power for a roll which becomes another new power. You end up with same # of powers, but your Mastery lvl dictates how many charges you can spend per turn. So Mastery lvl 1 with two traded powers can only cast once per turn.

And where does it say Spirit Stones add a Mastery lvl? It is not in FAQ... and is playing the model as the codex reads negate Mastery Lvl? If so then yes that is the way to fo until new codex, but if you are still only allowed one Charge, its Eldrad or a one cast Farseer.
   
Made in ie
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





Skootnasty wrote:
And where does it say Spirit Stones add a Mastery lvl? It is not in FAQ... and is playing the model as the codex reads negate Mastery Lvl? If so then yes that is the way to fo until new codex, but if you are still only allowed one Charge, its Eldrad or a one cast Farseer.


BRB says you Mastery Level is equal to the number of powers you can cast.
A Farseer with Stones can cast two powers => he is Level 2.
You still have to buy powers, and can then trade in those powers for Disciplines.

DR:80+S++G+MB--IPw40k00#-D++++A+++/aWD100R+T(D)DM++++

Church: So it is a sword, It just happens to function like a key in very specific situations.
Caboose: Or it's a key all the time, and when you stick it in people, it unlocks their death.  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

It also specifies under Eldrad that his Mastery level 3 includes the bonus for Spirit Stones.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: