Switch Theme:

Whip Coils and Piling In Initiative Step  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List





Ohio

This came up at the end of another thread but what happens to models that in their pile in move come into base contact with a model with whip coils. Are they then attacking or reduced to 1 at that point?

1500
2500
3500 
   
Made in gb
Freaky Flayed One




Wingate, Co Durham, UK

They would pile in at their normal initiative as they arent in base but would then strike at I1 in the assault for being in base contact.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/01 19:07:12


Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Thats the way I see it as well.
   
Made in us
Nervous Accuser






Would the give them another consolidation then?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




THe only way the could Pile In would be if, at I1, they are not in base any longer.

Which could only occur if the whip coil models are dead, meaning they are no longer I1. So they couldnt even attack!
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Here's a more fun option. A multiple combat involving Wraiths with Whip Coils and Warriors on one side vs. a tactical squad with PW Sarge on the other. Sarge is in base contact with only the warriors after his pile in move, and he kills some. Wraiths make their pile in move, and now one is in base contact with Sarge, reducing his initiative to 1. Sarge survives the Wraiths attacks.

Initiative 1 is reached, Sarge is forced by the rules to attack again. Is there anything preventing a model from making attacks twice in a Fight sub-phase?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Userarm wrote:They would pile in at their normal initiative as they arent in base but would then strike at I1 in the assault for being in base contact.


This is the way we are playing it. We had a wraith die in I4 and the guy he was touching was I4 we just had him attack immediately. I called it Ipre-3 lol. There are going to be some bugs to work out this is one of them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 00:02:49


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: