Switch Theme:

Daemon Allies - How do they arrive if only 1 unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block





So, with the 6th ed changes I'm taking the Masque and a retinue of 11 Daemonettes for my CSM army.

Now, the rulebook says You can declare indepdent characters are part of the unit (which i'm doing for the masque) in which case they deploy as a single unit in reserve.

YOu then roll a d6 for your preferred half to arrive, on a 3-6 they Deepstrike on my first turn - on a 1-2 its the other group.

Now, as I only have 1 Unit in reserve does that mean that it will always arrive on the first turn or if i roll a 1/2 then do I have them enter as a normal reserve unit?

Incurus
Long shall be your suffering. Joyous be your pain.

DR:80S+GM--B--IPw40k90/re+D+A+/eWD100R++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) The Masque isnt an IC (unless her rules have recently changed) - she forever dances alone!

2) The rulebook says to round up on fractions. So you halve the army, giving you 1 unit, as your preferred wave. You still have a chance of not getting your preffered wave, which will consist of 0 models (assuming you take a herald, not the Masque)
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Aha, the 0 preferred wave was what I was curious about - That works

Thanks for the reply

Incurus
Long shall be your suffering. Joyous be your pain.

DR:80S+GM--B--IPw40k90/re+D+A+/eWD100R++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

IIRC you can't take named characters as part of your allies so...

CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

That was a rumor, it was proven to be untrue.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

If you only had 1 unit of daemons (say skulltaker and bloodcrushers), would nothing come in turn 1 if you rolled a 1-2 and they were your preferred wave?

 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





That's basically what i asked above, Nosferatu replied saying that your "not preferred wave" would be a wave of 0 models, so potentially yes..

Though It also raises the question of can I choose my preferred wave to be 0 models?

Hmm..

Doesn't matter anyhow with the Masque not being a IC for me

Incurus
Long shall be your suffering. Joyous be your pain.

DR:80S+GM--B--IPw40k90/re+D+A+/eWD100R++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Incurus wrote:That's basically what i asked above, Nosferatu replied saying that your "not preferred wave" would be a wave of 0 models, so potentially yes..

Though It also raises the question of can I choose my preferred wave to be 0 models?

Hmm..

Doesn't matter anyhow with the Masque not being a IC for me


Except you have to choose 1 unit as your preferred wave. There is no such thing as a unit with 0 models
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: