Switch Theme:

Chariot (CCB) Sweep attacks....  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

What takes presedence? Rulebook or Codex?


They are pretty much the same except in a coupe of points:

1) In the Necron 'dex i think the CCB allows D3 attacks, the rulebook says "...each attack the rider has in his profile"
2) Sweepign into combat. oringinaly you could, in theory do sweep attacks into a combat since the 'dex didnt say one way o another. the rulebook clearly says "pick one unengaged unit".


Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Codex would likely take precedence by general rules of Codex > Rulebook when a conflict occurs. But I'd probably have a discussion with my opponent or the TO first.
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User





Praxiss wrote:What takes presedence? Rulebook or Codex?


They are pretty much the same except in a coupe of points:

1) In the Necron 'dex i think the CCB allows D3 attacks, the rulebook says "...each attack the rider has in his profile"
2) Sweepign into combat. oringinaly you could, in theory do sweep attacks into a combat since the 'dex didnt say one way o another. the rulebook clearly says "pick one unengaged unit".



1) Incorrect, we got three attacks in codex.

I would say rulebook for number 2, as the CCB now is a Chariot, and the Chariot rules are more or less as CCB rules in Codex, but we are given the charge thing. You can't shoot in to cc, so cant see why we would be able to Sweep Strike into CC.

Painted:
~8500pts (Blood Raven)
~6000pts
 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

See page 7 of the Rulebook, very last paragraph.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I'd say, as a Chariot, the CCB definitely has access to the Chariot's Sweep Attack, since there's nothing explicitly denying that, it just so happens that it has it's own special rule that shares a name and operates similarly, neither of them inheret from or replace one another, A similar example would be the old Dark Eldar codex where the Talos had a special rule called "Skimmer" that had nothing to do with being an actual skimmer.

As such, I would say you can choose which one to use as you see fit, even changing each turn (although for the sake of everyone's sanity, I would advise using consistency in your choice)

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Freaky Flayed One




Wingate, Co Durham, UK

If there is a confliction of rules due to wording or being different your codex rule trumps the rulebook, this is only the case if it has not be errated or FAQ'd to amend it, in this case it hasn't as the Necron FAQ simply updates the type of vehicle the CCB is with Chariot but does not amend or remove its Sweep attack thats in the codex.
The last paragraph on page 7 of new rulebook advises you that if this happens you always use your codex rule so in this case the CCB can do everything it can before but gains the additional benefits of the chariot rule ie D6 HoW attacks, +1 on saves etc.

Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

to be fair, when i actually used it in a game last night the rulebook ones are exactly the same, except they exclicitly state you have to target an unengaged unit the barge has moved over for the Sweep attacks.

By the way, it is MEAN now! Got charged my a Tac squad last night, took a hull point but survived and took out 2 marines. Moved out of combat by sweepign the unit, killing another 2. only swept 12" so coudl then turn aroudn and fire - another 2 dead marines from gauss cannon.

THEN i charged in with D6 I10 S6 attacks (i rolled for 5 attacks), one more dead marines. used MSS to make the powerfist sergeant punch his squad mate to death (only one), then killed the last 2 with the warscythe!

One Barge, 10 dead marines - I took 1 "wound". WTF!?!


Oh, this is all after Going Flat out 30" (12" move + 18" Flat Out) in my own turn to sweep and kill a Land Speeder.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/03 06:11:50


Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in nz
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





New Zealand

Did you sweep attack the Land Speeder in the Movement phase? Because it's the only time you can. You can't sweep in the shooting phase when you move flat out.

I'm sure you got it right but i'm just chucking it out there since it's a big change to how CC barges played in 5th.
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

OOOOh......you're right! So now the Barge can only sweep targets at up to 12" because the rest of it's movement is in the shooting phase.

That's quite a buzzkill.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Plus when you moved 12" inches to sweep the tax squad, you couldn't disembark to assault, cause you can't disembark if the vehicle moved more than 6".
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

Didn't need to disembark, the CCB is now a Chariot and can charge into combat itself.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: