Switch Theme:

Confirming the disembark and no assault/charge  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

I looked and flipped pages to find otherwise. To confirm, according to page 79's "Disembarking Restrictions" :

(paraphrase) It doesn't matter whether the transport moves or not, disembarking troops can't declare and assault.

They're gonna have to wait a turn.

Right?

Big change for muhreens, huh!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 16:44:05


"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Unless they are assault transports (including all open-topped).
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

jms40k wrote:Unless they are assault transports (including all open-topped).
Yup, barring these, LandRaiders, DE, orky rides & such. Gonna be another boost to SRgunship sales.

Of the many subtle and overt changes, this is a small rule (teeny, tiny little paragraph!) that is going to have a big impact on power armor, thus I wanted to confirm it.

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Something interesting that someone else mentioned. If you check Wrecked, it says the unit cannot assault in their next assault phase, not the next assault phase.

Ouch.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

pretre wrote:Something interesting that someone else mentioned. If you check Wrecked, it says the unit cannot assault in their next assault phase, not the next assault phase.

Ouch.


I brought this up in another thread on this topic, but even assault vehicles, by RAW, only allow assaults on the turn the squad disembarks.

Assault vehicles that are wrecked in enemy shooiting force the squad to disembark on their turn. By RAW, they can't assault on your turn...

So, assault terminators, Orks, or Wyches will stand there for a turn, unable to charge...
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Pro-Tip: don't get wrecked.
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

loreweaver wrote:Pro-Tip: don't get wrecked.

lol. Good luck with that.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Polonius wrote:
pretre wrote:Something interesting that someone else mentioned. If you check Wrecked, it says the unit cannot assault in their next assault phase, not the next assault phase.

Ouch.


I brought this up in another thread on this topic, but even assault vehicles, by RAW, only allow assaults on the turn the squad disembarks.

Assault vehicles that are wrecked in enemy shooiting force the squad to disembark on their turn. By RAW, they can't assault on your turn...

So, assault terminators, Orks, or Wyches will stand there for a turn, unable to charge...

Wow. Nice catch!

I imagine that will get FAQ'd.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 17:31:55


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




The assault vehicle rule permits assaults after the vehicle has been wrecked.
   
Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

I hope they FAQ that, although I could see them not. It's basically "entanglement-lite", for all of us that remember the good old days of 4th edition.

How would Ramshackle interact with that rule? Does it completely override the rules for wrecked or exploded vehicles, or will trukk boys be stuck as well.

Another bad news for open topped transports: damage from explosions is back up to S4!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
copper.talos wrote:The assault vehicle rule permits assaults after the vehicle has been wrecked.


How so? It doesn't mention it, and as written, it simply says that a unit can assault the turn it disembarks.

A unit getting out of a wrecked vehicle disembarks a turn before it tries to charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 17:38:58


 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

Incorrect on the wrecked status and charging if it is an assault vehicle.

pg 33, assault vehicles, clearly states they may charge even on a turn the vehicle was destroyed.

pg. 80, wrecked result. Passengers must IMMEDIATELY disembark, not disembark in their own turn.



So it goes one of two ways. Lets say I play DE. Way one is I managed to destroy my own raider with wyches inside. The vehicle is wrecked, hits the ground, and is destroyed. Wyches get out. They can still assault.

Way two, its your turn and you blast the hell out of my raider (just as easy as ever, if not more so...damn you bolter fire!). Vehicles wrecks, and is destroyed. I can only assault in my turn, so for the remainder of your turn the wyches are chilling in the wreckage (unless it exploded of course). Your turn ends, now its my turn again. Wyches are no longer in the transport, and are free to move and assault.

Either way, I see no rule stating that when the unit (in this case wyches) were to be under my control again after having their transport wrecked would they not be allowed to charge, provided a legal charge is actually possible (in range, etc.).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 17:39:20


----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

@Polonius: Can I have the page number where you are reading this from?
   
Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

I'm at work, so I don't have my book.

But if you read the section on the effects of vehicle damage on passengers, above the paragraphs for wrecked and explodes, it says that no unit can assault (and other stuff, IIRC) in it's next assault phase.
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Aipoch wrote:Incorrect on the wrecked status and charging if it is an assault vehicle.

pg 33, assault vehicles, clearly states they may charge even on a turn the vehicle was destroyed.

pg. 80, wrecked result. Passengers must IMMEDIATELY disembark, not disembark in their own turn.

Wrecked isn't destroyed.

When the passengers disembark they are not allowed to assault in their next assault phase whether it was voluntary or not.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

@Polonius: I am reading page 80: Effect of Damage on Passengers and I cannot find it at all :-( .

Also, since now that I am on this page, it turns out as long as you shot at the transport, if the transport is destroyed (wrecked or explodes), you can assault the content. No longer is only the guy that actually explodes the vehicle can.
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

I believe he's actually referencing the transport rules for disembarking and assault and not the damage rules.

Any time you disembark, you can't assault in YOUR (emphasis mine) next assault phase.

When you get wrecked, you disembark within 3".

Hence, you can't assault in your next assault phase.

Assault vehicles let you assault if you disembarked in the current turn. Since you disembarked during your enemy's turn, you can't assault in your turn because the assault vehicle rule doesn't help you in subsequent turns.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

I'm on the page, reading it exactly as it appears.

pg.74, verbatim, Wrecked Vehicles: ... The tortured vehicle simply cannot take any more. The vehicle is DESTROYED, and its crew are slain. The model is left in place and becomes a wreck.

It says nothing on any of the relevant pages under that says when passengers disembark from AN ASSAULT VEHICLE (wrecked or otherwise) they cannot charge.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The rule referencing the following turn is completely irrelavant. I'm outside of my assault vehicle before my turn even starts. Does the assault vehicle rule let me charge? As I am not inside my vehicle, it doesn't really apply or matter at this point. Do the rules for the rest of the game say I can freely move and, if possible, launch an assault? Yes.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/07/02 17:58:29


----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Under the USR's, the Assault Vehicle rule states that units who disembark from a vehicle, even if it was destroyed, can assault.

Destroyed == Wrecked or Explodes.
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

I'll have to wait until I have the book in front of me to check.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

Disembark states that when you get out, you cannot assault in your next assault phase. So if you get out during your own movment, you can't assault that turn. If you get out during your opponents turn (cause he blew it up), you can't assault during your next turns assault phase. The inabiilty to assault "attaches" to a unit when it gets out.

Assault vehicle overrides that rule by allowing a unit to assault the turn in which it disembarks.

If you do not assault the turn you disembark, you cannot, as I read it last night, assault the next, as it is no longer the turn in which you disembark.

It's a very minor point, and one that's easily glossed over. It could be a misstatement by GW, or it could be an intentional nerf on mechanized assault. Either way, unless I totally read something wrong, the RAW is clear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 18:05:44


 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

You are correct on the overwritten rules, but you're still missing the point.

Your turn has ended. It is the start of my turn. First thing I do is move (after reserves and such). The unit that came out of the transport IN THE PREVIOUS TURN is, for all intents and purposes, already out of the vehicle and its own infantry (or whatever) unit. Any rule preventing it from assaulting in THE CURRENT TURN that has to do with vehicles is irrelevant, because it did not leave the vehicle in this turn. Also, remember that "turn" is specifically identified as player turn, not game turn.

Still only talking about assault vehicles here. I'm not referencing anything for regular transports that do not have the assault vehicle special rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 18:09:37


----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

The thing you're missing Aipoch is that the disembarking restriction is for the units next assault phase. Not the next assault phase in this turn. Hence, it carries over to your turn.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

No no, I didn't miss that point, but you're talking about regular transport vehicles, and I'm talking about assault vehicles.

----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

The assault vehicle bonus only applies to the turn you disembark. The turn you disembark was your enemy's turn, so it doesn't help you on your turn.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

As my original point has been addressed, I'm gonna have a MOD lock this ass-hattery. I'd rather not have my name heading this silliness.

pretre wrote:Wrecked isn't destroyed.


"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Brothererekose wrote:As my original point has been addressed, I'm gonna have a MOD lock this ass-hattery. I'd rather not have my name heading this silliness.

Woah, we have a real badass over here.

Sorry that people are discussing the topic that you brought up.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: