Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 17:52:15
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Horrific Horror
|
Question that came up in a game over the weekend...
If a transport vehicle goes flat out in the shooting phase and immobilizes itself in terrain what happens to the passengers? Last edition an FAQ after DE came out said they all died, but I couldn't find anything in the new book that stated what happens to the passengers. Does this mean they disembark as per the wrecked damage result?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 18:05:14
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
My gut feeling is that the eventual faq will state something along the lines of what happens to passengers in a flyer. S10 hit with no armor saves allowed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 18:13:20
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
As it's written now, it's just like if a normal transport is wrecked.
Keep in mind all immobilized results count as wrecked, which is a slight change from the recent 5th FAQ which specifically stated you needed to be immobilized on your own turn to wreck (if going flat out and failed a dangerous terrain test, then everyone died)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 18:17:50
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
loreweaver wrote:As it's written now, it's just like if a normal transport is wrecked.
Keep in mind all immobilized results count as wrecked, which is a slight change from the recent 5th FAQ which specifically stated you needed to be immobilized on your own turn to wreck (if going flat out and failed a dangerous terrain test, then everyone died)
In fifth it was: Flatted Out and Immobilized on your turn? (Dangerous Terrain Test only) They are all dead
Flatted Out and Immobilized on their turn? Wreck
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 19:12:39
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You have no permission to disembark, so the unit is destroyed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 19:27:47
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Ohio
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You have no permission to disembark, so the unit is destroyed.
That seems like a large jump in logic. Please justify.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 19:32:23
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
newbis wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:You have no permission to disembark, so the unit is destroyed.
That seems like a large jump in logic. Please justify.
That's the exact justification used for the 5th edition FAQ answer which said the same. The answer probably still remains the same as there is no specific ability for units to disembark from a vehicle that is moving flat out.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 19:40:59
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
newbis wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:You have no permission to disembark, so the unit is destroyed.
That seems like a large jump in logic. Please justify.
Models that cannot disembark are destroyed, as per the emergency disembark rules. Given no model may disembark, they are all destroyed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 19:58:48
Subject: Re:Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
jms40k wrote:That's the exact justification used for the 5th edition FAQ answer which said the same. The answer probably still remains the same as there is no specific ability for units to disembark from a vehicle that is moving flat out.
5th rules were different. The only vehicles that could move Flat Out were Fast vehicles. And Fast Transport vehicles had a rule that said passengers cannot embark or disembark if it moves Flat Out in that Movement Phase. Therefore, troops embarked on a Fast Skimmer that immobilized itself (and thus wrecked) on Dangerous Terrain were not able disembark and were subsequently destroyed.
In 6th, there is no such rule on Flat Out moves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 19:59:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 19:59:05
Subject: Re:Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Ohio
|
@ Nosferatu
I don't think that applies. By your logic, any time a vehicle went over 6" and was wrecked, the passengers would be destroyed. The difference is that the passengers are not choosing to disembark, they are forced to disembark.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/02 19:59:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 20:15:38
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
elrabin - except you ARE prohibited from disembarking while moving flat out, or in fact over 6". Page 79
newbis - that isnt my logic. The turn you move over 6" you cannot disembark. Not subsequent turns.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 20:15:45
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
pg78 Models can only voluntarily embark and disembark in the Movement phase. They cannot voluntarily embark and disembark in the same turn. However, they can embark and then be forced to disembark if their transport is destroyed.
A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved so long as the vehicle has not moved more then 6"
p679 Wrecked. The passengers must immediately disembark in the usual manner
In other words I agree with elrabin. No where does it say that a unit embarked on a vehcile can not disembark if going over a certain speed, it only indicates when it can or must.
No more issues with losing units to wrecking as in 5ed imo.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 21:15:58
Subject: Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
winterman wrote:pg78 Models can only voluntarily embark and disembark in the Movement phase. They cannot voluntarily embark and disembark in the same turn. However, they can embark and then be forced to disembark if their transport is destroyed.
A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved so long as the vehicle has not moved more then 6"
p679 Wrecked. The passengers must immediately disembark in the usual manner
In other words I agree with elrabin. No where does it say that a unit embarked on a vehcile can not disembark if going over a certain speed, it only indicates when it can or must.
No more issues with losing units to wrecking as in 5ed imo.
I agree with this conclusion; however, it really shouldn't have happened all that often in 5th anyway as it was only if you wrecked as part of your flat-out movement that units were automatically lost.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/02 21:35:35
Subject: Re:Flat Out Dedicated Transports Getting Wrecked
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
(pg. 83) Skimmers and Damage Results
If it moved Flat Out in this, or the Previous turn, a Skimmer that suffers an Immobilised result immediately crashes and is Wrecked.)...
(pg. 74) Wrecked Vehicles
...reduced to 0 Hull Points is is immediately Wrecked... left on the table and effectively become a piece of terrain...
(pg. 80) Effects of Damage on Passengers:
"Wrecked - The passengers must immediately disembark in the usual manner (see page 79), save that they must end their move wholly wihin 3" rather than 6". If, even by performaning an emergency disembarkation, some models are unable disembark, then any models that cannot disembark are removed as casualties. This does not prevent the rest of the unit from disembarking. The unit must then take a Pinning test. After this, the vehicle becomes a Wreck."
Cheers,
|
|
|
 |
 |
|