Switch Theme:

Embark + Flat out + gravshoot same turn?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




This issue came up recently. I'm assuming you cannot embark on a valk, move 18" and then gravshoot all in the same turn.
I'm positive this is treated as a standard embark/disembark, cannot do both on same turn.

My IG opponent dissagrees.

   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

Point to the rules in the 6th edition book page 72ish (Going from memory on page since it's out in the car and it's pouring out) about how you cannot voluntarily embark and disembark in the same turn.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

Two things: A unit cannot voluntarily embark and disembark in the same turn, and a unit can only disembark if the vehicle didn't move or moved 6" or less. See pages 78 and 79 of the Rulebook.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




He is claiming Gravshoot is different than disembark.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

jake666666 wrote:He is claiming Gravshoot is different than disembark.


Well, your question had two parts.

First you asked if a unit could embark onto a flyer that is going to move 18", and we have to presume you're talking about a zoom move (18-36" in the movement phase) and the answer to that is: no the flyer rules prohibit a unit from embarking onto a zooming flyer.

So since that first part of the question was 'no' the rest of your question is moot.


But if you're just asking straight up if Grav Chute Insertion can be used by a zooming flyer, the answer is yes, but RAW it would currently only be in the shooting phase after the Valk/Vendetta has moved flat-out (gave up its shooting to move) because they didn't FAQ it the same way as the Blood Angel codex for the Storm Raven. However, I think it is likely they're supposed to be able to use Grav Chute insertion in the movement phase, even if the vehicle zooms.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






yakface wrote:But if you're just asking straight up if Grav Chute Insertion can be used by a zooming flyer, the answer is yes, but RAW it would currently only be in the shooting phase after the Valk/Vendetta has moved flat-out (gave up its shooting to move) because they didn't FAQ it the same way as the Blood Angel codex for the Storm Raven. However, I think it is likely they're supposed to be able to use Grav Chute insertion in the movement phase, even if the vehicle zooms.


I disagree, Grav Chute does not offer any special dispensation allowing the transported unit to disembark during the shooting phase, to allow it to do so would be incorrect.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Drunkspleen wrote:
yakface wrote:But if you're just asking straight up if Grav Chute Insertion can be used by a zooming flyer, the answer is yes, but RAW it would currently only be in the shooting phase after the Valk/Vendetta has moved flat-out (gave up its shooting to move) because they didn't FAQ it the same way as the Blood Angel codex for the Storm Raven. However, I think it is likely they're supposed to be able to use Grav Chute insertion in the movement phase, even if the vehicle zooms.


I disagree, Grav Chute does not offer any special dispensation allowing the transported unit to disembark during the shooting phase, to allow it to do so would be incorrect.


"If the Valkyrie has moved flat-out, passengers may still disembark, but they must do so as follows."


How does that not say that the unit is allowed to disembark after having moved flat-out (which happens in the shooting phase)?



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




At the start of his turn, he embarked his squad onto his hovering Valk. He then zoomed 18" and then disembarked his unit via gravshoot insertion.

Again, I say no.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

jake666666 wrote:At the start of his turn, he embarked his squad onto his hovering Valk. He then zoomed 18" and then disembarked his unit via gravshoot insertion.

Again, I say no.


A vehicle cannot start the turn hovering and then zoom. It is one or the other. We have already explained that your original example was not allowed by the rules so I'm not sure what else you're looking for.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





cedar rapids, iowa

Grav chute is a disembark, says so right in the sentence. Can't do both in a single turn.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: