Switch Theme:

Razordons & Misfires  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Winter Guard



Stuart, FL

Got an odd complaint from a fellow Lizardmen player at the LGS yesterday. He mentioned in conversation that he doesn't use Razordons because if they roll any misfires then the entire unit loses all their shots. I was confused why he thought this and he pointed out this entry in the Lizardmen FAQ:

Q. What happens if a Barbed Razordon stands and shoots and both artillery dice roll a misfire? Are 2D3 Skinks eaten? And what happens if only one artillery dice rolls a misfire? Are D3 Skinks eaten
and then fire a number of shots given by the other dice? (p57)

A. If you roll a misfire on either dice, no shots are fired and the unit loses D3 Skinks. If both roll a misfire, no shots are fired and the unit loses 2D3 Skinks instead.


It seems to me that this player (and whatever other players told him) are badly misinterpreting this Q&A by taking the answer (bolded) out of the context of the question, but I just want to confirm that when rolling a misfire the lost shots only apply to the single Razordon that rolled the misfire?

This same player also thought that when rolling with the Razordons he was required to roll all artillery dice simultaneously. So in the case of a Stand-n-Shoot with Razordons you couldn't tell which Razordon rolled the misfire. I have no idea what the source of this misunderstanding would be; most people couldn't do this if they wanted to anyway since they wouldn't own 6 artillery dice! Any thoughts on what might be the source of this misinterpretation (other than an opponent just outright trying to cheat)?

WM: Khador
WFB & BB: Lizardmen
40k: Space Marines
LGS: Davinci Dreamworks 2, Jensen Beach, FL 
   
Made in us
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos






Lake Forest, California, South Orange County

Razordon and Salamander units behave independently once they are on the table iirc. I don't recall any rules about them that say they have to stick together or shoot the same target.

If they DO have to stick together, then their shooting would most definitely be resolved separate from one another.

So if 2 razordons are in a unit, and one misfires, the other can shoot as normal. The FAQ doesn't say anything about other razordons having no shots fired as a result of another's misfire.

"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Aerethan wrote:Razordon and Salamander units behave independently once they are on the table iirc. I don't recall any rules about them that say they have to stick together or shoot the same target.

You got cheated.

Aerethan wrote:If they DO have to stick together, then their shooting would most definitely be resolved separate from one another.

This is most true for sallamanders as their rule tells you to resolve one compleetly before doing the next, but razordons just shoot a crapton of spikes together.

Aerethan wrote:So if 2 razordons are in a unit, and one misfires, the other can shoot as normal. The FAQ doesn't say anything about other razordons having no shots fired as a result of another's misfire.

True dat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/04 03:51:40



Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: