| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 20:44:33
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Can you please help me clarify these questions with 100% accuracy.
If a transport DOES NOT move, can the unit assault after disembarking the transport? I know that if it moves, the unit disembarking can't assault, but need clarification on the vehicle not moving.
If a transport is wrecked or destroyed in the enemy turn, does that mean that unit can't assault during the next turn?
Thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 20:49:58
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Darklight wrote:Can you please help me clarify these questions with 100% accuracy.
If a transport DOES NOT move, can the unit assault after disembarking the transport? I know that if it moves, the unit disembarking can't assault, but need clarification on the vehicle not moving.
Thanks
The rules on disembarking are very clear on that matter, give them a re-read.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 20:55:13
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Darklight wrote:Can you please help me clarify these questions with 100% accuracy.
If a transport DOES NOT move, can the unit assault after disembarking the transport? I know that if it moves, the unit disembarking can't assault, but need clarification on the vehicle not moving.
Thanks
The rules on disembarking are very clear on that matter, give them a re-read.
This isn't helpful. I have re-read them, but want to make sure I get everything right. There appear to be some critical changes from 5th.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 20:56:04
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Darklight wrote:DeathReaper wrote:The rules on disembarking are very clear on that matter, give them a re-read. This isn't helpful. I have re-read them, but want to make sure I get everything right. There appear to be some critical changes from 5th.
It should be, the rules on disembarking then assaulting are really clear.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/04 20:56:17
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 20:58:53
Subject: Re:6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Novice Knight Errant Pilot
Stockholm Forge District; Skandian Hive Collectives
|
If the transport is not a). Open-Topped or b). have the Assult Vehicle rule you may NOT assult after disembarking even if the transport was stationary in the movement phase.
|
I have a little hobby-thread going in the P&M section. Some say it's the best blog on Dakka, some don't agree, most belive it would be better if I finished at least one project some time this century and not just kept starting new ones.
Check it out, you just might like it.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/385168.page |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 21:00:46
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
There is no distinction between whether the vehicle moved or not any more when disembarking (p79, 'Disembarkation Restrictions'). Note that Assault Vehicles (p33), including open-topped vehicles (p82), are exempt from this rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 21:02:47
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Darklight wrote:DeathReaper wrote:The rules on disembarking are very clear on that matter, give them a re-read.
This isn't helpful. I have re-read them, but want to make sure I get everything right. There appear to be some critical changes from 5th.
It should be, the rules on disembarking then assaulting are really clear.
You are not adding value here. My question should be even more clear, and by golley we are in a rules clarification forum! Who would have thought
that somebody might post a rules question they are unclear on?
I don't need a forum wiseas s telling me to go read the book.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 21:04:43
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The rules clarification forum is for unclear rules. The BRB says explicitly if you can assault or not after disembarking. The rules of the forum dictate that we can not give out rules ad nauseam GW frowns on that, and we do not want to get the mods in trouble with them.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/04 21:05:25
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 21:08:07
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:The rules clarification forum is for unclear rules.
The BRB says explicitly if you can assault or not after disembarking.
The rules of the forum dictate that we can not give out rules ad nauseam GW frowns on that, and we do not want to get the mods in trouble with them.
Oh bull$hit. This is a rules clarification, I need to make sure I get it right. GW has better things to do than frown at such things.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 21:11:34
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Actually ymdc is for interpretation , the rules are pretty obvious as Deathreaper stated.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 21:32:13
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
To be fair, DR's response didn't need to be that cryptic. It's a new edition, not everyone will have picked up the subtle changes in the rules yet; this is why I phrased my last post as I did. Hopefully that was helpful. And yes, it is a subtle change (with huge consequences). It's the sort of thing that you notice, but think you might have missed something. I think it's totally fine to ask that kind of question here - it's not like he's asking us how disembarkation works; he's just asking if he's missed something. Which he hasn't, because moving a transport or not before disembarking makes no difference. That's all that needed to be said, and it would have answered his question.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/04 21:35:32
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/04 23:50:10
Subject: 6th Edition - Transport Disembarking Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Cheexsta wrote:To be fair, DR's response didn't need to be that cryptic. It's a new edition, not everyone will have picked up the subtle changes in the rules yet; this is why I phrased my last post as I did. Hopefully that was helpful.
And yes, it is a subtle change (with huge consequences). It's the sort of thing that you notice, but think you might have missed something. I think it's totally fine to ask that kind of question here - it's not like he's asking us how disembarkation works; he's just asking if he's missed something. Which he hasn't, because moving a transport or not before disembarking makes no difference. That's all that needed to be said, and it would have answered his question.
Thanks Cheexsta. That's all I needed, a simple answer, not a vasectomy.
I assume that if my opponent blows up my transport during HIS turn, I can't assault during MY following turn?
I am leaning towards MSU lists being dead in 6th. They are way too vulnerable, especially with Overwatch added on top of these nerfs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|