Switch Theme:

Noxious Touch on Non-Daemons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Eternal Plague

Since Allies brings a whole new layer of army interaction, I want to know whether Epidemius and his Tally of Pestilence works on non-Daemons when the Tally confers Noxious Touch on followers of Nurgle.

Under the description for Noxious Touch, the rules do not mention anyone but Daemons as users of this ability.

Does that mean that non-Daemons who have this ability conferred to them as followers of Nurgle (like Plague Marines) arguably cannot use it since they are not Daemons?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/05 09:31:20


   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

What's the exact wording on Tally of Pestilence?

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




it says daemons of nurgle and those with the mark of nurgle.

Plague Marines have the mark of nurgle.

It also effects both sides.

Yes, he will rock a nurgle themed army with PM and Daemons.
   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

There you go then. QED.

Totally getting some PMs for my Daemons army now.

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Eternal Plague

The particular thing that I am questioning is when the Tally confers Noxious Touch.

Under the ability description of Noxious Touch, the ability only outlines usage by Daemons, not citing any other models or characters who use it.

So can Noxious Touch be used by Plague Marines even though they are not Daemons when the Tally confers the ability on them?

   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

So in the book it uses words like 'a daemon with noxious touch' rather than 'a model with noxious touch?'

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Eternal Plague

Correct. When talking about the ability, it only mentions Daemons. Specifically, "The Daemon" and then insert the text for what the Daemon gets with Noxious Touch.

Such as it is, RAW suggests that only a Daemon can use Noxious Touch, but Epidemius confers Noxious Touch to all followers of Nurgle, even non-Daemons. RAI might be such that even those with the Mark of Nurgle who are not Daemons should also obtain this ability.

Another wrinkle is that the GK FAQ explicitly states what is a Daemon, such as a CSM Daemon Prince and Possessed Chaos Space Marines. So those two models who have the Mark of Nurgle and are Daemons as classified by the GK codex are Daemons from another codex ruling. So at the very least, they should have Noxious Touch.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/05 11:48:13


   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

Hmm, that does muddy the waters. I would think that RAI are that the Plaguemarines would get it, but there's a definite RAW conflict going on there. I think this would be one of those ' opponent's consent' situations.

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in ca
Deadly Dire Avenger




In the FAQ for Deamons, on the first page they errata'd Daemonic Rivalry so that IC's can't join units of their allies and vice versa

 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine





Chattanooga TN

Don't units with daemonic influence of some type(marks possession etc) kind of count as daemons? I know that sounds odd but my thought is, if they have the touch of nurgle unless they've fully changed into daemonhood of some type wouldn't they be a "daemon" 1% or 99%...if that sounds anywhere in the ballpark of coherent...



15 successful trades !! 
   
Made in us
Nihilistic Necron Lord




The best State-Texas

htj wrote:Hmm, that does muddy the waters. I would think that RAI are that the Plaguemarines would get it, but there's a definite RAW conflict going on there. I think this would be one of those ' opponent's consent' situations.



I think it's pretty clear that it is not RAI, as both books were written in different editions, and it was not FAQd to be corrected.

Here is how it works, per RAW:

Anyone with Mark of Nurgle, gets Noxious Touch. Once the tally has been reached. However, if they are not a Daemon, they cannot benefit from having it.

4000+
6000+ Order. Unity. Obedience.
Thousand Sons 4000+
:Necron: Necron Discord: https://discord.com/invite/AGtpeD4  
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





rainbow dashing to your side

Sasori wrote:
htj wrote:Hmm, that does muddy the waters. I would think that RAI are that the Plaguemarines would get it, but there's a definite RAW conflict going on there. I think this would be one of those ' opponent's consent' situations.



I think it's pretty clear that it is not RAI, as both books were written in different editions, and it was not FAQd to be corrected.

Here is how it works, per RAW:

Anyone with Mark of Nurgle, gets Noxious Touch. Once the tally has been reached. However, if they are not a Daemon, they cannot benefit from having it.


I would have to agree with this as the exact wording is this:

the daemon and its weapons are covered in the most lethal and toxic substances, instantly infecting any flesh it touches. this Daemon's close combat attacks are poisoned 2+, as described in the warhammer 40,000 rule book

I would have to say that posessed and nurgle DPs would get it (as they are daemons) but normal followers of nurgle (plague marines, units with an icon etc.) wouldnt. and besides, I'm more scared of what happens when the tally hits 20 o.o

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/07 12:28:55


my little space marine army, now 20% cooler http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/424613.page
school league:
round 1 2011 W/2 L/1 D/0 round 1 2012 : W/2 L/1 D/0
round 2 2011 W/3 L/0 D/0 round 2 2012 W/3 L/0 D/0
round 3 2011: W/2 L/0 D/1 round 3 2012 W/4 L/0 D/0
school league champions 2011
school league champions 2012
"best painted army, warhammer invasion 2012/2013  
   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

I see where you're coming from, but I'm not so sure. Caemons was definitely not written with 6th ed in mind, and they had no reason not to use the word 'daemon' as the book had only one troop choice that wasn't a daemon, and that couldn't take Noxious Touch. It's seems kind of stupid for a model to be given a rule that it cannot use, and personally, I don't think that was intended.

RAW though, you are correct. By the straight interpretation of the written rules you either have to assume that the model gets it but cannot use it, or that the model suddenly becomes a daemon for the purposes of this rule alone. All a bit of a mess, really.

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





rainbow dashing to your side

htj wrote:I see where you're coming from, but I'm not so sure. Caemons was definitely not written with 6th ed in mind, and they had no reason not to use the word 'daemon' as the book had only one troop choice that wasn't a daemon, and that couldn't take Noxious Touch. It's seems kind of stupid for a model to be given a rule that it cannot use, and personally, I don't think that was intended.

RAW though, you are correct. By the straight interpretation of the written rules you either have to assume that the model gets it but cannot use it, or that the model suddenly becomes a daemon for the purposes of this rule alone. All a bit of a mess, really.


if it then becomes a daemon, does that mean we get fear causing plague marines

my little space marine army, now 20% cooler http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/424613.page
school league:
round 1 2011 W/2 L/1 D/0 round 1 2012 : W/2 L/1 D/0
round 2 2011 W/3 L/0 D/0 round 2 2012 W/3 L/0 D/0
round 3 2011: W/2 L/0 D/1 round 3 2012 W/4 L/0 D/0
school league champions 2011
school league champions 2012
"best painted army, warhammer invasion 2012/2013  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I concur. By the wording Noxious Touch cannot benefit you if you're not a Daemon.

Daemon Princes and Lesser Daemons are definitely Daemons, as per the CSM FAQ they both gained the Daemon USR. Though generic Lessers can't get a mark so won't benefit.

The GK FAQ does have a very broadly phrased question, "What counts as a Daemon?", which tells us that a bunch of other units also count, but of those units, Possessed are the only other one capable of taking an Icon and thus counting as having the Mark of Nurgle.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
The Hammer of Witches





Lincoln, UK

DPBellathrom wrote:
htj wrote:I see where you're coming from, but I'm not so sure. Caemons was definitely not written with 6th ed in mind, and they had no reason not to use the word 'daemon' as the book had only one troop choice that wasn't a daemon, and that couldn't take Noxious Touch. It's seems kind of stupid for a model to be given a rule that it cannot use, and personally, I don't think that was intended.

RAW though, you are correct. By the straight interpretation of the written rules you either have to assume that the model gets it but cannot use it, or that the model suddenly becomes a daemon for the purposes of this rule alone. All a bit of a mess, really.


if it then becomes a daemon, does that mean we get fear causing plague marines


Absolutely. In fact, I choose to interpret the rule this way!

But yeah, as it stands, I'm going to read this as no effect Noxious Touch for Plaguemarines. Boo!

DC:80SG+M+B+I+Pw40k97#+D+A++/wWD190R++T(S)DM+
htj wrote:You can always trust a man who quotes himself in his signature.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Remember that not all Daemonic units cause Fear. Fear comes automatically with the Daemon USR.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: