Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 02:03:25
Subject: 6th edition allies question
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
With allies, I have to take a single HQ and one troops. Heavy support is optional.
So, I have a main force of IG. In that force I have a squad of 6 ogryns and commissar Yarrick. In my allied detachment, SM, I have purchased whatever HQ and troops, but also a land raider. Can I put the Ogryns and Yarrick in the LR. I know the rules say they cannot ride in a dedicated transport, but the LR is not purchased as a dedicated transport. Also, the land raider is a "assault vehicle" as well as a heavy support option. I believe I can do this, but, just want to clarify and reasons as why or why not.
I know that a tactical squad cannot ride in a Chimera, seeing as how a Chimera can only be used as a dedicated transport in the IG codex. The Land Raider can be used as a dedicated transport, but, no if I am using it as a heavy support option.
|
javascript:emoticon(' '); 3,000 pointsjavascript:emoticon(' ');
2,000 points
265 point detachment
Imperial Knight detachment: 375
Iron Hands: 1,850
where ever you go, there you are |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 02:15:18
Subject: 6th edition allies question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It's not that you cannot ride in allied dedicated transports, it's you cannot ride in allied transports.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 02:16:29
Subject: 6th edition allies question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
martin74 wrote:I know the rules say they cannot ride in a dedicated transport, ...
They actually say that you can't ride in allied transports, not just dedicated ones.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 02:24:31
Subject: 6th edition allies question
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Okay, correct on the "can't ride in allied transports. I don't have a SM codex near by, so, does the entry for a land raider say "transport vehicle"? It is a heavy support option when I would use an ally FOC. I know it say tank and some other odd words. Just not sure if it is a transport vehicle. I know the battle wagon is a tank, but, not listed as a transport vehicle. Even though it does have transport capacity. How many times have Land raiders been used as just heavy armor tanks, nothing close to a transport vehicle.
|
javascript:emoticon(' '); 3,000 pointsjavascript:emoticon(' ');
2,000 points
265 point detachment
Imperial Knight detachment: 375
Iron Hands: 1,850
where ever you go, there you are |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 02:28:36
Subject: 6th edition allies question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Anything with a transport capacity is a transport regardless if that is its primary function.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 02:29:37
Subject: 6th edition allies question
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Depends, how did you buy the Land Raider? If its a dedicated transport, then no. If it's a Heavy Support option, then yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 02:33:51
Subject: 6th edition allies question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Depends, how did you buy the Land Raider? If its a dedicated transport, then no. If it's a Heavy Support option, then yes.
This is incorrect. A transport is a transport, regardless of which slot it comes from.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/06 02:34:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 02:40:41
Subject: 6th edition allies question
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Just cracked open the tome, and you are right.
|
|
 |
 |
|