Switch Theme:

Hatred & Detachments entering combat after the first turn  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





A funny thing happened in my game last night, as my regimental unit received a charge, and my detachment managed to flub it's roll to counter charge. The combat occurred, with my Warrior Priest passing on Hatred to his unit.

Next turn my detachment made another effort at the charge, and this time made it into the flank of the enemy. But this raised the question of whether the Regimental unit's ability to pass on Hatred could still work, because the Regiment had already fought a round of combat.

After a quick read through the rules we felt that Hatred was a rule a unit always had, but that it only gave benefit for the first round of combat, as such the detachment could benefit from Hatred, and since it was the detachment's first round of combat it could reroll to miss, even though the regimental unit couldn't anymore.

We were fairly confident we got this right, but I'm entirely willing to believe we missed something that you guys might pick up on, so I thought I'd clarify it here.

“We may observe that the government in a civilized country is much more expensive than in a barbarous one; and when we say that one government is more expensive than another, it is the same as if we said that that one country is farther advanced in improvement than another. To say that the government is expensive and the people not oppressed is to say that the people are rich.”

Adam Smith, who must have been some kind of leftie or something. 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Seems right to me.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in es
Inspiring Icon Bearer




sebster wrote:
After a quick read through the rules we felt that Hatred was a rule a unit always had, but that it only gave benefit for the first round of combat, as such the detachment could benefit from Hatred, and since it was the detachment's first round of combat it could reroll to miss, even though the regimental unit couldn't anymore.


Pretty much that.
   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer






Agreed with your assessment.

3000
4000 Deamons - Mainly a fantasy army now.
Tomb Kings-2500 Escalation League for 2012

href="http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/311987.page ">Painting and Modeling Blog
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



england

as far as i know charging into an ongoing combat still counts as an on going combat so NO to first round hatred. unless the unit has a special rule allowing hatred every turn

 
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener




The Black Planet

khsofsos wrote:as far as i know charging into an ongoing combat still counts as an on going combat so NO to first round hatred. unless the unit has a special rule allowing hatred every turn


What !!!!!

Except that its the detachments first round of combat therefore its allowed to re-roll misses if that is what the detachment rules allow.
Surely the question is whether this is allowed, i.e. charging in subsequent rounds of combat rather than the first unit for the parent unit - hopefully the FAQ will clear this up

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/08 00:45:05


Don't Panic !

4000pts 4000pts
2500pts 2000pts
1500pts 1500pts

Dwarf 4000pts Skaven 3000pts
O&G 3000pts 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




The parent unit passes Hatred along, not THEIR Hatred. A detachment charging in on subsequent round of combat gains the Hatred rule, and because it is the first round of combat for them, they get re-rolls.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in au
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





Cheers fellas. I thought so, but just wanted to make sure.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
FordPrefect wrote:Surely the question is whether this is allowed, i.e. charging in subsequent rounds of combat rather than the first unit for the parent unit - hopefully the FAQ will clear this up


At that point the unit was just acting independantly, and charged like any normal unit would charge. This had the effect of putting them back inside the 3" range of the parent unit, and therefore gave them Hatred.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 06:36:36


“We may observe that the government in a civilized country is much more expensive than in a barbarous one; and when we say that one government is more expensive than another, it is the same as if we said that that one country is farther advanced in improvement than another. To say that the government is expensive and the people not oppressed is to say that the people are rich.”

Adam Smith, who must have been some kind of leftie or something. 
   
Made in us
Nimble Pistolier



Shangri-La

Once a detachment is over 3" away from a unit it becomes a normal unit. I do not believe going back into the 3" bubble allows it to become a detachment again. It lost all benefits once it moved 3" away from the parent unit. (unless they changed this in the new edition)

However it sounds like the parent unit recieved a charge so it was never over 3" away. It still has hatred. Because its the first round of combat with the unit, the detachment itself has hatred. However if the detachment was further than 3" away before combat, and then charged in and was within 3" it would not have hatred as it no longer counts as a detachment.
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




There is nothing in the new rules for Empire Detachments that state they lose this designation if they move more than 3" away from the parent unit. It only states one model of the detachment must must be within 3" of the parent unit to gain those benefits.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in au
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





Stoupe wrote:Once a detachment is over 3" away from a unit it becomes a normal unit. I do not believe going back into the 3" bubble allows it to become a detachment again. It lost all benefits once it moved 3" away from the parent unit. (unless they changed this in the new edition)


Like Davall said, the special rules for detachments don't rely on having always been within 3" of the regimental unit. Basically some conditions come up, and if at those times the parent unit is within 3" then the detachment gets certain benefits.

“We may observe that the government in a civilized country is much more expensive than in a barbarous one; and when we say that one government is more expensive than another, it is the same as if we said that that one country is farther advanced in improvement than another. To say that the government is expensive and the people not oppressed is to say that the people are rich.”

Adam Smith, who must have been some kind of leftie or something. 
   
Made in us
Nimble Pistolier



Shangri-La

Sorry I was wrong. Reread it last night. Shocked thy removed it but so pleased they did
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: