Switch Theme:

Epidemius and Abbaddon  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight






Epidemius's powers work on Plague marines and guys with the MoN. Abbaddon has all the marks, but it isn't specificly stated he has the MoN. Does he benefit from Epidemius's Tallyman of Nurgle buffs?

 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




He has the Mark of Chaos Ascendant, he does not have the individual marks.
   
Made in gb
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






I say yes as in his rules it states that he has all 4 marks. It just doesn't say 'he has all 4 marks; mark of khorne, mark of tzeentch, mark of nurgle and mark of slanesh' it says 'he has all 4 marks and no arms' or something.
   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight






I forgot to add that it does specifically state he has the MoT

 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

No as Abaddon does not have the Mark of Nurgle but rather the Mark of Chaos Ascendent. The MoCA says that he gets the gifts of them, but he does not have the individual marks.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Epidemius's power work on followers of Nurgle, and there's a parenthetical note to help determine whether a particular model is a follower of Nurgle:
followers of Nurgle (i.e. any Daemon of Nurgle, or model with the Mark of Nurgle, both friends and enemies)
.

Abaddon is not a follower of Nurgle, and does not have a mark of Nurgle. (He took the marks that he had at one time, and made something different out of them.)
Mark of Chaos Ascendant. Abaddon has attained the favor of each of the Chaos powers in turn, and has proved the equal of his mentor Horus in that he has resisted becoming the pawn of any individual patron. Over the millennia Abaddon has melded the Marks of Chaos granted to him, and now bears a unique Mark that combines all of their gifts.


The Mark of Chaos Ascendant is not a Mark of Nurgle, and Abaddon doesn't follow Nurgle or any of the other powers. The powers just happen to want what he wants.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Abaddon has all the marks. It clarifies that he has all of the marks and they are included in his profile. It only gives the MoT as an example because he has an improved save instead of the standard MoT save. Where do you think his T4(5) comes from?

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Eternal Plague

Abaddon's fluff states he has all four marks, yet the actual rules state his mark is the Mark of Chaos Ascendant.

Typical HQs and models have to have an explicit statement somewhere that they have the "Mark of X" in order to count as having that mark. Abaddon has the Mark of Chaos Ascendant, which is fine for any ability that affects models with the Mark of Chaos Ascendant. Further, the Mark of Chaos Ascendant has all the abilities of the other Marks combined (as reflected in his profile), but in turn, does not have the specific Mark of any of the four Chaos gods.

If he were to have the other Marks as well as the Mark of Chaos Ascendant, then he would be T6, 3++, I7, and A5. Such as it is, the Mark of Chaos Ascendant is his sole Mark.

   
Made in us
Nihilistic Necron Lord




The best State-Texas

WarOne wrote:Abaddon's fluff states he has all four marks, yet the actual rules state his mark is the Mark of Chaos Ascendant.

Typical HQs and models have to have an explicit statement somewhere that they have the "Mark of X" in order to count as having that mark. Abaddon has the Mark of Chaos Ascendant, which is fine for any ability that affects models with the Mark of Chaos Ascendant. Further, the Mark of Chaos Ascendant has all the abilities of the other Marks combined (as reflected in his profile), but in turn, does not have the specific Mark of any of the four Chaos gods.

If he were to have the other Marks as well as the Mark of Chaos Ascendant, then he would be T6, 3++, I7, and A5. Such as it is, the Mark of Chaos Ascendant is his sole Mark.


Sounds like Warone got this one. If his fluff says he has the Mark of Nurgle, but his rules say he has the MOCA (mhmm.. Mocha..) Then he would not gain any benefit from Epidemius' tally.

4000+
6000+ Order. Unity. Obedience.
Thousand Sons 4000+
:Necron: Necron Discord: https://discord.com/invite/AGtpeD4  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It isn't the fluff. Its the rule for the mark of chaos ascendant. It gives him all four marks of chaos.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

No it gives him the benefits of all four Marks. It does not give him the actual Marks.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

That raises the question of why he gets the benefit from the Mark in regards to toughness and does not get the benefit in regards to the tallyman.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Eternal Plague

Because the Mark is Chaos Ascendant, not Nurgle. He has the benefits of four different marks under one special rule called the Mark of Chaos Ascendant. Unless the rule explicity states it also counts as Nurgle, it is simply the Mark of Chaos Ascendant.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: