| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 09:41:21
Subject: Orikan's Lord of Time ability, and Flyers leaving the board
|
 |
Andy Chambers
|
Alright, so 2 questions I'd like further opinions on:
Orikan's Lord of Time special rule: "This ability can be used once, at the start of one of your turns. For the remainder of that turn, all unsuccessful reserve rolls must be rerolled."
Can Orikan use this if he's in reserve himself? No references to Orikan having to being on the table to use it, unlike for example Zandrekh handing out USR's, which clearly states he's gotta be on the battlefield. I'd say, unless its FAQ'd, that Orikan can use it off the board.
Also, flyers leaving the board: (rulebook pg80-81)
"In a turn in which a Flyer enters the board from reserve, it can do so facing any direction you wish, providing that the resulting move will not carry it off the board again".
Straightforward, you can't zoom straight off the board when you come in. But can you flat out off the board?
"It is quite likely that a Flyer making a Zoom move will leave the board, either deliberately or by accident. If this happens, the Flyers is said to have left combat airspace - it the nenters Ongoing reserves".
Basically, my question is twofold:
1. A Flyer moving off the board is specifically stated to be making a Zoom move, does this mean I can flat out off the board, as it isn't a Zoom move per se? If I have a flyer who zoomed 36", then flatouted 18" off the board, is it legal? I'd say its a definite yes, but further opinions would be welcome.
2. Same as the question above, but can I flatout off the board on the same turn I come in? I'd say this is legal too, but further opinions would be welcome.
|
"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"
EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 09:46:05
Subject: Orikan's Lord of Time ability, and Flyers leaving the board
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You cannot use any start of turn powers when you turn up from reserve. So you want to be able to use something in reserve when he cannot use it when he turns up from reserve?
There is already a thread on this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 10:03:08
Subject: Re:Orikan's Lord of Time ability, and Flyers leaving the board
|
 |
Andy Chambers
|
Yeah, I found the thread, along with your "helpful comments".
pg 125:
"Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserves".
Nowhere does it say you can't use a start of turn ability while in reserve, as you haven't arrived from reserve yet, and you can't be sure if you will.
Reserves are rolled for at the start of the turn.
Orikan's ability is used at the start of the turn.
I can't find any reference anywhere as to which resolves first, but I would assume that the controlling player gets to decide which comes first, as it was in 5th with effects triggering at the start of the turn ie, trying to continue Imotekh's Storm, generate Scarabs with your Spyders and rolling for reserves, you could do them in any order you liked.
So lets say I decide to activate Orikan's power first. Then I roll his reserve roll, and he comes on. He's now used an ability that he can't use on the turn he arrives. Game broken.
Yeah, we'll have to wait for a FAQ on this one, until then I'll just have to deploy Orikan to get my rerolls.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/11 10:04:10
"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"
EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 12:04:34
Subject: Orikan's Lord of Time ability, and Flyers leaving the board
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, in 5th you could not use any start of turn abilities the turn you turned up, either
What youre really asking is - can models not in play take part? The general answer is no.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 12:22:22
Subject: Re:Orikan's Lord of Time ability, and Flyers leaving the board
|
 |
Andy Chambers
|
You're missing the point. The question is, what order do start of the turn actions resolve in? If you can resolve them in any order you like, then RAW Orikan can use his ability off the board, as the ability doesn't state you have to be on the board to use it, and the rule that prevents you from using it on the same turn you come in doesn't stop you from doing it as you haven't come in yet.
The abilities that you couldn't use in 5th, such as Logan's skills and start of turn Psychic powers like Fortune, were disallowed because you had to be on the battlefield to use them. Nowhere does it state in Orikan's ability that he has to be on the battlefield to use it.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/11 12:23:57
"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"
EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/11 14:32:00
Subject: Orikan's Lord of Time ability, and Flyers leaving the board
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No. You have no rules that allow you to use abilities while off the board and the RAW is quite explicit and unambiguous regarding the turn that they arrive from reserve.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/12 09:53:09
Subject: Re:Orikan's Lord of Time ability, and Flyers leaving the board
|
 |
Andy Chambers
|
Alright, leaving the Orikan question, could I still get replies on the Flyer questions, specifically am I allowed to Flatout off the board (or am I only allowed to Zoom off, during the movement phase)?
|
"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"
EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|