Switch Theme:

psychic CRUSH , the focused witchfire  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in kr
Fresh-Faced New User




focused witchfire is WITCHFIRE, IT MUST roll dice to hit if ther is no comment of hit.

and there is one question in my mind

Crush psychic said suffer a hit with 2D6 S, D6ap to focused target

does it mean you don't roll To HIT DICE??
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

That's how I've been playing it. You suffer a hit from the power implies you don't need to roll.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You cant roll to hit if youve already hit
   
Made in ca
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential






Victoria, B.C. Canada

A witchfire power must roll to hit unless it says the target suffers an automatic hit.



Change and change until Change is our master, for nothing neither God nor mortal can hold that which has no form. Change is the constant that cannot be changed.

No game of chess can be won without pawns, and this may prove to be a very long game.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLnIFn-iROE 
   
Made in kr
Fresh-Faced New User




THX , I understand that


Automatically Appended Next Post:
and What about Psychic Shrek?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/12 09:48:15


 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

What about it, the target unit suffers a number of wounds, they don't even have S or AP values.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in kr
Fresh-Faced New User




so You mean I don't roll to hit and roll to wound , right?
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

It says "suffers a hit." That means you dont need to roll as the unit is automatically taking a hit. Thats my interpretation anyway

Cant suffer a hit if you are missed

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/12 11:00:27


My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in kr
Fresh-Faced New User




So, in PSYCHIC SHREK's case

the target unit suffers a number of wound...

And it means it already suffers wounds, so I dont have to roll to hit and wound. Right?
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Seems to me that part of the witchfire power rules are that you must roll to hit unless you are using a blast or template, and with a blast you still do scatter as normal.

Without specifically overriding these they still apply, thus when an ability like Crush tells you that someone "suffers a hit" it means, after you have dealt with all the witchfire rules, including rolling to hit using your Psyker's Ballistic Skill.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

You still have to roll to hit but if you hit it causes X amount of wounds where X = 3d6 - leadership instead of rolling to hit and rolling to wound as normal. You only roll to hit once for psychic shriek. Then you roll to wound causing X wounds.

5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in kr
Fresh-Faced New User




Drunkspleen wrote:Seems to me that part of the witchfire power rules are that you must roll to hit unless you are using a blast or template, and with a blast you still do scatter as normal.

Without specifically overriding these they still apply, thus when an ability like Crush tells you that someone "suffers a hit" it means, after you have dealt with all the witchfire rules, including rolling to hit using your Psyker's Ballistic Skill.


Well, In case of Mindshacklel scarup, in inflicts d3 hit. So , following your opinion, Mindshackle scarup shoud roll to hit. Doesn't it?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
rogueeyes wrote:You still have to roll to hit but if you hit it causes X amount of wounds where X = 3d6 - leadership instead of rolling to hit and rolling to wound as normal. You only roll to hit once for psychic shriek. Then you roll to wound causing X wounds.


Actually shooting phase is

Set a target -> to hit roll-> to wound roll-> opponent's save roll

So I think if it suffers wound, ignore two steps (to hit &to wound)

And also I think 3d6- leadership is not "to wound roll" sequence. It is leadership test

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/12 11:32:12


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MSS isnt a witchfire power. So no, witchfire rules requiring a roll to hit dont apply. Apples and oranges.

Oh, and SCARAB. Not "Scarup"
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

MSS does roll to hit.

And I would think that something that causes "hits" and "wounds" dosent require to roll for that step or anything before. I have no refrence (therefore my argument counts for very little), but thats what would make sense.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Erm, no, no it doesnt. It inflicts D3 hits by the model.
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

My mistake. I thought the wording was d3 attacks against his unit.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in kr
Fresh-Faced New User




nosferatu1001 wrote:MSS isnt a witchfire power. So no, witchfire rules requiring a roll to hit dont apply. Apples and oranges.

Oh, and SCARAB. Not "Scarup"


Sorry about error,

So, "inflicts hit", "suffers a hit" or "suffers wounds" mean nothing on the rules?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The Witchfire rules require you to roll to hit. Have you rolled to hit?
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

Though you cannot inflict "hits" without hitting. If you inflict 1 hit at S-X and Ap-X and you miss the attack, then you cannot inflict the hit as per the psychic power rules. It just dosent make sense to me.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in kr
Fresh-Faced New User




The why this thing is written?

manifesting witchfire count as firing an assault weapon (UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED)

Ummmm, maybe I don't under stand it?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Vindicare-Obsession wrote:Though you cannot inflict "hits" without hitting. If you inflict 1 hit at S-X and Ap-X and you miss the attack, then you cannot inflict the hit as per the psychic power rules. It just dosent make sense to me.


Then MSS should roll to hit you mean.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/12 11:57:00


 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight






Georgia

My old Primaris Psyker had to roll to hit with his lightning arc because it is a shooting attack and does not specify anything about inflicting "Hits" or "Wounds".

Now psichic skriek says it inflicts "Wounds" per result of 3D6-Ld. - If it want'ed you to roll to hit it wouldn't have said anything.

Smite just says assualt 4 no inflicts "Hits" or "Wounds" so you have to roll to hit and wound with that power.

manifesting witchfire count as firing an assault weapon (UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED)

So IMHO it was noted in psichic shriek but not in smite.

40k is as exciting as riding a pony, which doesn't sound very exciting.......

But the pony is 300 feet tall and covered in CHAINSAWS! 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

I agree with shriek at the very least.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: