Switch Theme:

Feel No Pain.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




A couple of friends and I were confused about fnp in 6th edition rules.

We were unclear on the interpretation of 'unsaved wounds'. Does this mean a save must be taken and failed in order for fnp to come into play?

Say an same strength vs toughness weapon hits a model with a 3+ save. But it's AP2. Is feel no pain uselss because no save is taken?

I searched the forums for something about this but couldn't find any info. Thanks in advance.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You attempt to take a save against AP2, but automatically fail. You now have an unsaved wound
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Unsaved wounds are merely wounds suffered as a result of failing your save, or not having a save in the first place.

An Ork boy with a 6+ save, suffers a hit from an ap4 weapon, still gets to roll FNP.

An Ork boy who fails his 6+ from an AP- weapon still gets to roll FNP.

Exactly as it was in 5th.
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you for the speedy reply. That makes perfect sense.

Except AP rules on page 17 of the rulebook say that no save is even taken? That is why we were confused.
   
Made in se
Novice Knight Errant Pilot





Stockholm Forge District; Skandian Hive Collectives

''Unsaved wounds'' Covers Wounds resolved against a model because of a.) Failed armoursave b.) Armoursave ignored because of AP c.) Model has no (-) save.

Feel No Pain may always be taken with the following exeptions: a.) The wound inflicts Instant Death b.) Case-specific rule that states that FnP (if any exsts) may not be used against wounds inflicted by said attack.

I have a little hobby-thread going in the P&M section. Some say it's the best blog on Dakka, some don't agree, most belive it would be better if I finished at least one project some time this century and not just kept starting new ones.
Check it out, you just might like it.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/385168.page 
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks a lot guys. Cleared up
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Follow the flow chart :-)


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Deathreaper, can I suggest a slight wording change on your chart? I'm guessing you intend to use it again. At the moment it doesn't cover models that specifically ignore armour saves, ie. Boneswords, Lelith Hesperax.

Something like... "Model suffers a wound after either failing its save or is disallowed its save".

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Like this?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/12 15:16:49


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

That'll do nicely.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

@OP: It says an unsaved wound. Did you pass a save? If not, then you took an unsaved wound.

Just because you had no avaliable save doesn't mean its unsaved. if anything it especially means it was unsaved.


The funny thing is that now if you have EW you can always take FnP. Even if your T4 and get hit by Str8+, you can still FnP the wound.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Grey Templar wrote:@OP: It says an unsaved wound. Did you pass a save? If not, then you took an unsaved wound.

Just because you had no avaliable save doesn't mean its unsaved. if anything it especially means it was unsaved.


The funny thing is that now if you have EW you can always take FnP. Even if your T4 and get hit by Str8+, you can still FnP the wound.


No, ID negates FNP and EW negates ID in that order. The rule for FNP states that a FNP roll cannot be taken against a weapon that inflicts ID. Just because an EW ignores ID does not mean that ID was not inflicted, in fact its quite the opposite. If ID was not inflicted the EW could not have ignored it.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

EW ignores ID. One of the effects of ID is you can't take FnP. Hence you ignore it.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Grey Templar wrote:EW ignores ID. One of the effects of ID is you can't take FnP. Hence you ignore it.

No, ignoring FNP is not an effect of ID. (I checked the ID rules, it does not mention FNP at all).

It is a restriction on the FNP rule.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/12 17:12:24


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Grey Templar wrote:EW ignores ID. One of the effects of ID is you can't take FnP. Hence you ignore it.


Ignoring FNP is not an effect of ID. It is a conditional modification of the FNP rule itself. The FNP rule specifically states that an unsaved wound that inflicts ID cannot benefit from a FNP roll. ID simply says that an attack with S of 2XT reduces the model to 0 wounds and is removed as a casualty. EW is immune to the effects of ID, not ignores. It is immune to being reduced to 0 wounds and removed as a casualty. No ignoring the rule itself.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Grey Templar wrote:EW ignores ID. One of the effects of ID is you can't take FnP. Hence you ignore it.

Gah, not this again

That is a chronic misreading of the rules. FNP has a restriction on ID causing wounds, EW makes no mention of FNP, thus no matter what if the wound causes ID you ignore FNP
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Hey guys, firstly massive props for helping me out and answering so quickly and directly.

As an extension of my OP, we have another friend who is claiming that rending in 6th ignores FNP because it 'instantly causes a wound' as he claims. My understanding is that rending wounds are not instant death, is which is correct?
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

darren88 wrote:Hey guys, firstly massive props for helping me out and answering so quickly and directly.

As an extension of my OP, we have another friend who is claiming that rending in 6th ignores FNP because it 'instantly causes a wound' as he claims. My understanding is that rending wounds are not instant death, is which is correct?

Instantly causes a wound means it causes a wound regardless of toughness. Since rending does not cause ID it does not negate FNP.
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you again
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

darren88 wrote:Hey guys, firstly massive props for helping me out and answering so quickly and directly.

As an extension of my OP, we have another friend who is claiming that rending in 6th ignores FNP because it 'instantly causes a wound' as he claims. My understanding is that rending wounds are not instant death, is which is correct?

Read the Flow Chart, It does not lie.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: