Switch Theme:

Half your army in reserve  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So for the new rules of reserving where only half of your army can start the game in reserve, does an Independent Character attached to a squad count as one unit or two units for determining how many units can be in reserve
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






rule book is pretty clear, IC + unit is 2
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Or 0 if you place them in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve.
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




I thought that was only for Dedicated Transports and the Unit that bought them Nos.

As in the Unit Inside a Stormraven counts for your 50%, as does an Independent Character attached to any unit, including those in drop pods or dedicated transports that must start in reserves.

This would be because there is no requirement for that unit to be in the transport, so that they would not be a unit that must start in reserve and so would not be ignored.

Or am I misreading something?
   
Made in se
Novice Knight Errant Pilot





Stockholm Forge District; Skandian Hive Collectives

You are. [Edit: Aaaand I mis-red your post Kreidor, sorry. ]

Units embarked upon dedicated transports that must arrive from reserve does not count when calculating the 50%, nor do the transport itself.

Units and their dedicated transport counts as one unit when calculating the 50%

Units that must arrive from reserve is not counted when calculating the 50%

Example:

A tactical squad in a drop pod does not count.

An assult squad embarked on a storm raven counts as one, the storm raven does not. Any attached IC's counts as one per.

A Devastator squad with a rhino counts as one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/13 10:25:47


I have a little hobby-thread going in the P&M section. Some say it's the best blog on Dakka, some don't agree, most belive it would be better if I finished at least one project some time this century and not just kept starting new ones.
Check it out, you just might like it.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/385168.page 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Cool, thats what I was thinking.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





yes this is a bit of a disappointing turn when you are playing air guard with 7 flyers 6 vet squads and a command squad. Makes it impossible to play the list right since all flyers start in reserve. you have to put 3 vets on the table even though its completely stupid to do so.
   
Made in se
Novice Knight Errant Pilot





Stockholm Forge District; Skandian Hive Collectives

Yepp, but you wouldn't want that anyway because if you have no units on the table at the end of a game turn you automaticly loose the game.

I have a little hobby-thread going in the P&M section. Some say it's the best blog on Dakka, some don't agree, most belive it would be better if I finished at least one project some time this century and not just kept starting new ones.
Check it out, you just might like it.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/385168.page 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





a good compromise would have been to let flyers start on the board in hover mode.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Kiredor wrote:I thought that was only for Dedicated Transports and the Unit that bought them Nos.

As in the Unit Inside a Stormraven counts for your 50%, as does an Independent Character attached to any unit, including those in drop pods or dedicated transports that must start in reserves.

This would be because there is no requirement for that unit to be in the transport, so that they would not be a unit that must start in reserve and so would not be ignored.

Or am I misreading something?
page 36 under DS rules it states that any model embarked in a transport that must DS do not count towards the 50% of your army can start in reserve. This applies to IC that are in a drop pod with their unit. You are correct about the Stormraven. Since the Stormraven is choosing to DS it falls under the IC count as a unit themselves rule, but in a drop pod they would not.

The only limitation to Dedicated Transports given in the rules is that only the unit that bought it can deploy in it, including any IC who joined them. I don't know where all these myths about DT started but nine of them are supported by rules. You do not have to take a DT to have your unit and IC not count for reserves limit, and you can deploy your DT in a different place than the unit that bought it.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: