Switch Theme:

Does the attacker pile in after charging?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

This seems relatively clear put but frankly very clunky, unintuitive, and needlessly complex so I figured I'd ask (especially as it is so different from previous editions). According to page 23, you make a pile in move of 3" prior to attacking at every initiative step, with the player whose turn it is going first if both sides have unengaged models at that initiative. If you just charged that turn and were only able to engage a single model due to the roll, do you then make another separate 3" pile in move right after charging? The rule doesn't seem to make any exception for units that just charged that I can find so you end up moving models individually twice in separate steps. That will seriously bog down the game when you're forced to make two distinct moves in an assault phase when you charge with a horde.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

All models on both sides pile in 3 inches when their initiative step comes up regardless if they made a charge move or not.

Be careful though, if you only get 1 guy into combat, and your opponent has a higher initiative, because if he kills all the models within 3 inches of the models that were charged, combat ends after the next initiative step, since your models will be further than 3 inches away and will not be able to reach base contact with their 3 inch pile in move.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/13 20:03:10


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

DeathReaper wrote:All models on both sides pile in 3 inches when their initiative step comes up regardless if they made a charge move or not.

Be careful though, if you only get 1 guy into combat, and your opponent has a higher initiative, because if he kills all the models within 3 inches of the models that were charged, combat ends after the next initiative step, since your models will be further than 3 inches away and will not be able to reach base contact with their 3 inch pile in move.


While that could happen, he would have to move another 3" himself as a pile in move making it less likely. Either way, I haven't seen any online videos reviewing or talking about 6e mention this distinct difference. Every battle report or "how to video" (including beasts of war) that I've seen has done this step wrong (with no pile in move for the person charging).. they only remember to pile in 3" for the person who got charged. I just wanted to make sure that there wasn't some exception that I missed as the mechanics (however needlessly complex and clunky) seemed fairly clear to me.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"At the start of each Initiative step, any model whose Initiative is equal to the value of the current Initiative step, that isn't already in base contact with an enemy model, must rnake a Pile In move." P.23

Any model gets to make this move, as long as they are not in B2B already.
warboss wrote:While that could happen, he would have to move another 3" himself as a pile in move making it less likely.

No, not if they are different initiative values. Let me give you an example.

8 Blood Angels Death Company missed their assault on a mob of 28 orks.

So the Orks move and they are in a conga line, so the closest model is 3 inches away, the second closest is 4 inches and so on. They shoot, actually Killing one of the death company, then assault and roll a 3.

Overwatch fails to wound any orks. So we have 1 ork in B2B, one just out of B2B at 2 inches away directly behind and touching the first orks base, one at 3 inches directly behind #2, one at 4 inches directly behind #3, and the rest are further away.

Now I4 coms and the 7 Death Company strike with 14 attacks. They hit 10 times, and wound 5 Orks. One Ork saves, but 4 still are removed.

So now the closest ork is 5 inches away. I2 comes, and the Orks try to pile in. They fail to make base contact, and combat ends. P.23 left column, 6th graph tells us this. and you work out assault results as described on P.26

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/07/13 20:26:38


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

DeathReaper wrote:"At the start of each Initiative step, any model whose Initiative is equal to the value of the current Initiative step, that isn't already in base contact with an enemy model, must rnake a Pile In move." P.23

Any model gets to make this move, as long as they are not in B2B already.
warboss wrote:While that could happen, he would have to move another 3" himself as a pile in move making it less likely.

No, not if they are different initiative values. Let me give you an example.

8 Blood Angels Death Company missed their assault on a mob of 28 orks.

So the Orks move and they are in a conga line, so the closest model is 3 inches away, the second closest is 4 inches and so on. They shoot, actually Killing one of the death company, then assault and roll a 3.

Overwatch fails to wound any orks. So we have 1 ork in B2B, one just out of B2B at 2 inches away directly behind and touching the first orks base, one at 3 inches directly behind #2, one at 4 inches directly behind #3, and the rest are further away. Either way, the point of the thread isn't that but rather whether or not attackers pile in right after a charge. People seem to be forgetting that online (as you just did, albeit with the defender).

Now I4 coms and the 7 Death Company strike with 14 attacks. They hit 10 times, and wound 5 Orks. One Ork saves, but 4 still are removed.

So now the closest ork is 5 inches away. I2 comes, and the Orks try to pile in. They fail to make base contact, and combat ends. P.23 left column, 6th graph tells us this. and you work out assault results as described on P.26


Your example fails to mention any pile in move on the part of the death company. That extra 3" would make a heck of a difference in the example you just gave as the combat would not have been over.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/13 20:49:26


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Lets say the DC were in a position so they could only base the first and second Ork on their pile in move, and were out of range from the others. and lets say the DC kill 7 dudes, instead of 4 The example still stands.

Combat ends immediately at I2 when the Orks can not reach the Death Company.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/13 21:10:20


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: