Switch Theme:

Drod Pod Disembarkation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator







Don't shoot the messenger on this on...it is someone else's argument, and I'm playing devil's advocate on here.

I've seen several posts on disembarking from drop pods 6 inches away and shooting...

However, let's look at the rules.You disembark from a vehicle by placing a model next to the access point and so on. They can then move 6 inches away from the access point.

Deepstrike rules on page 36 say when you deepstrike, you cannot move more than to disembark from a vehicle.

I would take it to mean that you place the units outside the pod, base to base with it.

I've been told Drop Pod rules allow you to disembark as normal from a transport, which could override the above and let you move, or couldn't....

What are people's thoughts?

40K RTT W/D/L 63/3/29
1 overall, 12 Best Sportsman, 3 Best Army, 5 Best Painting,1 Best Black Templars.
WFB RTT 0/0/6
1 Best Sportsman,1 Best Army 
   
Made in ca
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster




Fredericton, NB

You now disembark up to 6" (3" if wrecked). So its perfectly legit.

Know thy self. Everything follows this.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





yup drop pods are slightly better now
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator







Guys, read the rules. You don't disembark 6 inches away. Page 79, Place model in base contact with Access Point....The model can then make a normal move.

Drop Pod's come in via deep strike, and you can't move other than to disembark.

40K RTT W/D/L 63/3/29
1 overall, 12 Best Sportsman, 3 Best Army, 5 Best Painting,1 Best Black Templars.
WFB RTT 0/0/6
1 Best Sportsman,1 Best Army 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





From the SM rule book drop pod entry.


Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must immediately disembark, as normal. Once passengers have disembarked, no models can embark on the Drop Pod for the remainder of the game.
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator







Right, you disembark, as normal. Which means you put the figure outside the transport, in base to base with the access point, which means you now ring the drop pod. That's how you disembark. Nothing says you can move after leaving a drop pod. I can see where you can claim it does, but at the same time, the language does not support it.

40K RTT W/D/L 63/3/29
1 overall, 12 Best Sportsman, 3 Best Army, 5 Best Painting,1 Best Black Templars.
WFB RTT 0/0/6
1 Best Sportsman,1 Best Army 
   
Made in gb
Iron Fang






Looking over the rules the first step is to place the model at the vehicle access point, which is where KGatchs comment is coming from, the rules then state that the disembarking model can then make a normal move but must end its move wholly within 6" of the access point it disembarked from... My interpritation is as this is all under the "Placing disembarking models" and there is a restriction on the movement of the model disembarking. Then this is in essence a disembark move and not a normal move meaning that the model leaving the drop pod can go the full 6".

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Ravanar wrote:Looking over the rules the first step is to place the model at the vehicle access point, which is where KGatchs comment is coming from, the rules then state that the disembarking model can then make a normal move but must end its move wholly within 6" of the access point it disembarked from... My interpritation is as this is all under the "Placing disembarking models" and there is a restriction on the movement of the model disembarking. Then this is in essence a disembark move and not a normal move meaning that the model leaving the drop pod can go the full 6".


bingo.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Unnecessary personal attack removed. Please address the topic, not the poster. - insaniak


The "normal move" is not a "normal move" per se because the rules place limitations on how the player can move. The language, as you are so fond of harping on, suggests that disembarking is a two step process: get out and get away. This is supported by the use of the word model and the inclusion of the move under the Placing Disembarked Models. Not moving, but placing the disembarked models.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/14 19:51:14


 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

While I would firmly vote in the move 6" camp here, I could see GW having missed this rather obvious issue. I hope they either reaffirm or clarify this in an FAQ soon.

That leads to another issue, we should start a thread dealing with issues the BRB FAQ should address (if this already exists, I apologize).

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) You must disembark from the DP
2) If you DS in a DS vehicle, you cannot move further

This means you a) get out and then b) stay with your butt against the drop pod, as the 6" is specifically a *move*

Drop Pods got a lot harder to use this edition.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Captain Antivas wrote:
The "normal move" is not a "normal move" per se because the rules place limitations on how the player can move. The language, as you are so fond of harping on, suggests that disembarking is a two step process: get out and get away. This is supported by the use of the word model and the inclusion of the move under the Placing Disembarked Models. Not moving, but placing the disembarked models.


It's a normal move for all intents and purposes with one additional restriction. Also models all move individually so long ss the end in coherency with their unit so I have no idea what you're trying to imply in that last statement.

There is no mention of a disembark move in the rules. All we have is an option for disembarked models to move normally albeit with a cap on their movement. The deep strike rules say models may not move futher from their deepstike position in the movement phase however they can disembark. They cant move after they disembark.

Again for clarity, there is no such thing as a disembark move, only an allowance to make a normal move with a cap on distance. If you cannot make a normal move due to a special rule, such as deep strike, you would not be able to move at all after being placed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/14 19:52:24


 
   
Made in ca
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster




Fredericton, NB

"In a movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deepstriking transport vehicle if they are in one." p36

"Vehicles count as having moved at cruising speed." p36

See page 79 Summary
Units disembark one model at a time, in base contact with an access point and not within 1" of an enemy. The model may then make a normal move (capped at 6"). You then repeat this process for every model in the squad ensuring they end in coherency.

Having read this repeatedly I am drawn to one conclusion....the act of disembarking from a transport consists of both being placed in base contact with it and taking a normal move of up to 6". Nowhere is disembarking defined as only being placed in base contact. (unlike the get placed within 2" rule of 5th)
It seems to me that the reference to normal move is actually there to prevent models from disembarking using special moves (jetpack etc).

In summary: nowhere is disembarking solely defined as being placed in base contact with an access point. it is being placed and making a "normal move" on a model by model basis. (capped at 6")

If you really want to run circles, how can models disembark form a transport that moved at cruising speed?

Know thy self. Everything follows this.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Lightcavalier wrote:If you really want to run circles, how can models disembark form a transport that moved at cruising speed?

Because the rules for the Drop Pod specifically allow the unit inside to disembark.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster




Fredericton, NB

wrong means

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/14 19:58:16


Know thy self. Everything follows this.
 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver







I agree

Just forgot what I was going to say.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The whole process of disembarking includes the 6 inch move, its under the disembark process heading, in the transport section. Its not a normal move it is a disembark process that has two steps, get out and stay within 6 of the access point.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

That's not right, tgf. The model gets out, in contact with the hatch, then moves up to 6" (but staying wholly within 6" of the hatch). This move can be reduced by difficult terrain; it's definitely a move, not placement.

This is correct:
nosferatu1001 wrote:1) You must disembark from the DP
2) If you DS in a DS vehicle, you cannot move further

This means you a) get out and then b) stay with your butt against the drop pod, as the 6" is specifically a *move*

Drop Pods got a lot harder to use this edition.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I think your wrong Mannahnin the move portion of disembarking is under the disembarking section not the movement section, it is part of the disembark.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

I've read this over quite a few times in the book. I could totally see an FAQ covering this go either way.

I hate this, but I'll probably house rule it to stay the 5th edition rules for hopping out of a drop pod until it is either consistantly addressed by GT FAQ's or a GW BRB FAQ hits the main site. (I hate house rules).

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator





Seattle Area

I have been playing it so that they disembark 6". Yes, depstriking units normally can't move, but as we know drop pods specifically allow you to disembark: disembark says that you can move up to 6"... to that is how I play it...and that is how the local redshirts have been letting me play it. But if I have to I'll call the Seattle Bunker and put this issue to bed.

Carcharodon Astra, by the Emporer it is willed.  
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator







The Deepstrike rules have their own rules for disembarking.

I had a redshirt tell me I can still charge after coming in after outflanking....Their knowledge is sadly lacking.

40K RTT W/D/L 63/3/29
1 overall, 12 Best Sportsman, 3 Best Army, 5 Best Painting,1 Best Black Templars.
WFB RTT 0/0/6
1 Best Sportsman,1 Best Army 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

The rule says they cannot move other than to disembark. That statement in context says that a terminator/jump pack/infantry that can DS etc, who enters play by DS cannot move after deploying. It then adds a modifier to that: other than to disembark from a transport. Nothing that enters play by DS can move in the movement phase, unless they are disembarking. Then they can move per the disembark rules, since getting out of the vehicle is not moving. Instead, you disembark by reading the Placing Disembarked Models section that tells you to start at the access point and go out no more than 6" from there.

Note that they said normal move not moves as normal. The model is not free to move like they normally would with the limited distance, they are free to make a normal move. Normal for basic rules not normal for them.
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator







Can you cite for me where in the Deep Strike rules it says to refer to the Disembark from Transports rule?

40K RTT W/D/L 63/3/29
1 overall, 12 Best Sportsman, 3 Best Army, 5 Best Painting,1 Best Black Templars.
WFB RTT 0/0/6
1 Best Sportsman,1 Best Army 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

There's only one disembark in the game. No need for them to specify which one they mean.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Lobukia wrote:There's only one disembark in the game. No need for them to specify which one they mean.

What he said.

Personal criticisms are not legitimate arguments, and are a violation of Dakka rule #1. -Mannahnin

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/15 15:01:20


 
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator





Lobukia wrote:There's only one disembark in the game. No need for them to specify which one they mean.



I disagree. I think the Deep Strike rules are self contained, and do not refer you to the regular disembarkation for a reason.

Let me ask you this.....what is the point of them saying you cannot move further other than to disembark???? What is the reason behind that? They already say you can't assault, but you can run. You can't move any further after a normal disembarkation from a normal transport....so I'm trying to figure out what is the point of that sentence. They are very crystal clear on what you can or can't do.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 06:19:23


40K RTT W/D/L 63/3/29
1 overall, 12 Best Sportsman, 3 Best Army, 5 Best Painting,1 Best Black Templars.
WFB RTT 0/0/6
1 Best Sportsman,1 Best Army 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Exactly. The rules on disembarking (p79) are pretty darn clear. There are two separate parts; in two separate paragraphs. Placing Disembarked Models states that the model is placed in contact with the hull. And "The model can then make a normal move."

It's a move. And the DS rules specifically forbid it.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

KGatch113 wrote:
Lobukia wrote:There's only one disembark in the game. No need for them to specify which one they mean.



I disagree. I think the Deep Strike rules are self contained, and do not refer you to the regular disembarkation for a reason.

Let me ask you this.....what is the point of them saying you cannot move further other than to disembark???? What is the reason behind that?


5th edition rules, written with different core rules in mind?

I'm confused. YOU are the one who headed to the disembarking rules to say how this should be handled, and now you're saying those aren't the rules to use?

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The disembarking rules are quite clear that the model is placed in contact with the hull, and then can take a normal move up to 6", with the additional restriction that it has to end that move with the entire base within 6".

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: