Switch Theme:

Monstrous Creature charge units on 2nd level ruins where he cannot fit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Since only certain unit types can go onto the 2nd level ruins (notably MC, Bikes are not on this list), can a Monstrous Creature charge a squad of infantry on the second level ruin?

For:
MCs uses the "Infantry" rules with the special rules .... (pg 48)

Against:
Pg 98 (Moving Within Ruins): " only Beasts, Infantry, Jetbikes, Skimmers and all types of Jump and Jet Pack units can move on the upper levesl of a ruin"
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Knock the building down and force saves on the whole unit!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Knock the building down and force saves on the whole unit!

That would work for a Building, but the OP specified a Ruin.

OP: No, the MC can not go to the 2nd lvl so he will find it really tough to get into base contact witha anyone on the second or higher level of a ruin.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually the rules allw you to classify a ruin as capable of carrying MCs and walkers, you just have to specifically state it can do so.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:Actually the rules allw you to classify a ruin as capable of carrying MCs and walkers, you just have to specifically state it can do so.

So the default is that they can not move there, but you can classify terrain to say MC's and walkers can move there. Fair enough.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

The best way to deal with it is if it looks like the creature/walker in question could fit in that place then it can go there. Obviously using WMS in cases where it can't actually fit because of pose(stupid Mawloc)

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

My friend was displeased when I told him since his base cannot fit in the 2nd level ruin that he cannot charge my units there. But then we house-ruled it so he can. Given that I don't see any ruins in the GW line where in the MC base can fit on without dropping, wouldn't this be a killing blow to MC in close combat?

I can just sit on the ruins getting my 4+ cover save and shooting him with my guns.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Unless he assaults another unit into yours, in which case the MC can take advantage of the 6" rule for assaults in Ruins(only need to be within 6" of a friendly model in combat to be able to fight)

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Grey Templar wrote: Obviously using WMS...
I do not think that is a rule anymore, if it is, it is not called WMS anymore. (Or I missed it in the book, that thing has a lot of rules).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/14 23:17:22


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

I thought that rule only applies to the model that is in base contact, you still have to be able to make your charge distance to the enemy base which you can't since your base can never be placed on the 2nd-level.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Nope, its still there. Page 11

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Grey Templar wrote:Nope, its still there. Page 11

Thank you, in my quick search through the rules I missed it.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: