| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/15 17:07:24
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
ok, quick question. i remember reading... SOMEWHERE, that if you take BRB powers, you can't take Codex powers with it. i can't for the life of me find the rule again and was wondering... was i Dreaming? can you mix BRB and Codex powers? like can a Zoanthrope take the Lance shot and a BRB power too? If you could help me out with a ruling and a page number i would be ever grateful. :-D
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/15 17:12:45
Subject: Re:Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
It's in the individual codex FAQs that allow you to swap your powers in the first place.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/15 17:13:03
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
It doesn't expressly say in the BRB, but I know in the FAQs it says what units may trade in psychic powers and how many they can roll for. The trade in is all or nothing, you either use powers listed in your codex or powers listed in the BRB. This is taken on a model by model basis, so your Hive Tyrant can use BRB powers and Zoanthrope use codex powers, but the Hive Tyrant cannot have a mix of BRB powers and Codex powers.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/15 17:14:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/15 17:17:17
Subject: Re:Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Quick question then, would a Mastery level 3 Librarian from Codex: Grey Knights get 2 or 3 powers? (As the FAQ states he cannot exchange Hammerhand).
Iranna.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/15 17:24:33
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
@ Iranna: I do not believe that the Libby has brotherhood of psykers so he can actually exchange hammerhand.
@Crash: That's what i was under the impression of, but where does it say that? Is that in the FAQ's
Automatically Appended Next Post:
I stand corrected. in the FAQ he can not repalce hammerhand. So this leaves me to question again. if, say the Libby, can not exchange hammer hand, how can he use BRB only powers? (As previously stated by Iranna.)
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/15 17:28:54
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/15 23:21:06
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Nervous Accuser
|
GK librarians don't swap powers after they buy them like older codexes. The FAQ says they just get one for each mastery level and cannot buy anymore, they also keep hammerhand.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 03:08:29
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
ok, but if that's the case it's not an All or nothing as implied by Crash. Is that soley for GK libbys? where is the wording for this? The FAQ's state that they can exchange them for BRB powers but dosn't state they have to exchange all. But GK libbys can purchase psyker mastery level 3. So this raises the question, Libbys: 3 BRB powers AND hammer hand or 2 BRB powers and hammer hand. Automatically Appended Next Post: also, what about Tigurius? he can use any Psycic power known to SM libbys. The FAQ says he's mastery level 3 and can exchange 3 powers. does this mean he loses the rest? or does he gets 3 BRB powers and still have access to the rest?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 03:11:34
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 03:13:02
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
That is solely for GK Libbys, the Libby cannot trade in Hammerhand as all GKs have Hammerhand, so a Mastery 3 GK Libby has Hammerhand plus 3 powers rolled for
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 05:38:02
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
The problem is, no where does it says you lose your additional powers. For instance Corteaz can exchange two, but doesn't say he loses the third, instead it's quoted as such, "Coteaz can generate two powers from either the Divination, Pyromancy or Telekinesis disciplines (in
any combination) in place of those listed on his profile". This can be interpreted that he generates two, in place of two listed in his profile, it doesn't say in place of ALL of those listed in his profile. Tigerus can exchange 3, but no where does it say he loses his additional 7. It simply says he's mastery level 3, and under generating psychic powers it says you must generate powers equal to your mastery level, no where does it say you lose the remaining powers you have. The only instance where I see that you must exchange all your powers is in the case of Tyranids but this is only because it specifically says you exchange powers equal to those you have, including those purchased. Under my impression, if you're psychic mastery level 3, and have 4 powers, you keep the 4th and choose which three you wish to swap out. In the case of a GK Libby, if it was all or nothing, he would generate psychic powers equal to his mastery level, and lose hammer hand in the process anyway, but it expressly says he can't exchange hammer hand. Why would it state that, when he would lose it in the exchange, regardless of which powers he did exchange? Also, on this point, why does it give you the option of which powers to exchange at all. Instead it could say "If you choose to use the Psychic powers out of the BRB, you lose all your current powers, and generate X new ones from the BRB, where X is the amount of Psychic powers you currently have, or an amount equal to your mastery level". Instead you're given a choice on what to exchange, which would make no sense if you would just lose them all in the first place. If someone could cite a case in the BRB, FAQ or even the White Dwarf that specifically says it's an all or nothing exchange, or expressly says you lose any additional powers, I'd be willing to believe it. As of now as far as I see it, if you have for instance, Tigerus who is Psychic mastery level 3, and knows 10 powers, you are forced to exchange 3 out of the BRB, and keep 7 from the codex.
|
|
This message was edited 10 times. Last update was at 2012/07/16 05:52:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 09:31:08
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
as much as i agree with you, i see one problem. and that lies in the FAQ for SM directly. it says "you may use the psycic disiplines foud in the BRB, INSTEAD of those in codex: SM." that tells me that if a Libby uses BRB powers he can not use Codex powers. this is also stated "Including Tigurius." and continues to state that he may exchange 3. so does he lose the rest? this is where my confusion lies.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/16 09:41:44
Subject: Psykers... BRB only or BRB and Codex
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
in place of THOSE on his profile. By default this is *all* of his powers, as it does not specify an upper limit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|