| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 04:43:38
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Guard, basilisks, whirlwinds, biovores, vibrocannon?
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
The Hive Guard rule says: "The Impaler cannon can shoot any target in range, regardless of whether there is a line of sigh to it or not."
The rulebook say: "If no models in the firing unit can see a particular model then Wounds cannot be allocated to it and must be instead allocated to the nearest visible model in the target unit. If there are no visible models in the target unit, all remaining Wounds in the pool are lost and the shooting attack ends".
Doesn't that not allowing the Impaler cannon to do much? Sure you can target but you can't allocate wounds.
And no I looked at the recent FAQ, no mention of this.
UPDATE: So wouldn't this mean a lot of things with barrage won't be able to wound units?
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/17 16:39:59
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 04:49:33
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Tyrant?
|
 |
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge
|
The hive tyrant can't take a impaler cannon. Only hive guard get them. and I believe its been FAQed.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 04:51:14
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Tyrant?
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Can you quote the page of the FAQ please? I can't find it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 05:26:05
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Tyrant?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It's not in there. RAW they lost the ability to shoot blind (well, they still can it just doesn't do anything).
Expect it to be FAQed.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 05:29:06
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Tyrant?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Wouldn't this be another example of specific trumps general, ie codex > BTB?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 05:40:39
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Tyrant?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Wouldn't this be another example of specific trumps general, ie codex > BTB?
There's no conflict. There's nothing in the codex specifying that the guns can cause wounds out of LoS, just the BRB saying they can't.
Small oversight, just don't screw over your local Nid player because of it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 14:38:50
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Tyrant?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Technically with an impaler cannon you draw LOS from the projectile, not the hive guard. It is the targetting unit (such as it is.)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 14:40:31
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Tyrant?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Gloomfang wrote:Technically with an impaler cannon you draw LOS from the projectile, not the hive guard. It is the targetting unit (such as it is.)
... No. There's no rule saying that. You're trying to apply fluff.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 16:40:50
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Guard, basilisks, whirlwinds, biovores, vibrocannon?
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
I talked to my friend more on this matter, he said this doesn't make sense because then it makes MoO, Basilisks, Whirlwinds, .... useless.
Do these other cases have a special rule allowing them to wound units they can't see?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 16:42:23
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Guard, basilisks, whirlwinds, biovores, vibrocannon?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Actually barrage around from the center of the blast, so they CAN wound models completely out of LOS.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 16:46:51
Subject: Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Guard, basilisks, whirlwinds, biovores, vibrocannon?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
leohart wrote:I talked to my friend more on this matter, he said this doesn't make sense because then it makes MoO, Basilisks, Whirlwinds, .... useless.
Do these other cases have a special rule allowing them to wound units they can't see?
Barrage weapons have an exception, normal Blast weapons have an exception if they scatter.
There isn't an exception for models like the Hive Guard.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 16:50:44
Subject: Re:Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Guard, basilisks, whirlwinds, biovores, vibrocannon?
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
So my IG mortars are still sweet to kill stuff without LOS?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/17 16:52:45
Subject: Re:Can't kill that which you can't see. Umm, Hive Guard, basilisks, whirlwinds, biovores, vibrocannon?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
TH3FALL3N wrote:So my IG mortars are still sweet to kill stuff without LOS?
Are they barrage? Read page 34.
Are they just blast? No - you have to scatter to wound something that you can't draw LoS to.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|