Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:30:04
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So, came up in our last game, the Tesla Destructor from Annihilation Barge shoot at unit in open.... one unit was affected by the Arc rule, but we could not draw line of sight from AnnihilationB to unit affected by Arc, we assumed that the shoots are lost due to lack of LOS...
Not sure if this is correct ,so, how you read this rule?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:34:30
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Technically, it would hit and wound, but you would not be able to allocate any wounds to any of the models.
Up to you how you resolve that situation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:34:47
Subject: Re:Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I'd say you got it correct, at least how it should be played. The FAQ says cover saves and armor facings of arc'ed units are determined from the Anni Barge, so I'd think it fairly safe to say that you must be able to draw LOS from it as well for wounds.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:35:01
Subject: Re:Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
LOS is drawn from the target, not from the barge.
The splash damage is not from the vehicle; it is from the target unit, as that is where the damage is coming from.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:36:33
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
The shots are not lost. You don't need LOS to work out Arc hits. Think of them as working like blast markers; It's OK for them to affect units out of LOS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:47:48
Subject: Re:Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote:LOS is drawn from the target, not from the barge.
The splash damage is not from the vehicle; it is from the target unit, as that is where the damage is coming from.
The FAQ disagrees with you.
Marshal_Gus wrote:The shots are not lost. You don't need LOS to work out Arc hits. Think of them as working like blast markers; It's OK for them to affect units out of LOS.
Except they aren't blast markers, and unlike blast markers you are never given permission to ignore LOS.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:53:33
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Does that mean you are allowed to focus fire with Arc hits too? I mean, come on guys its meant to be random arcs from the primary unit, not some precise shot from the firing vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:56:47
Subject: Re:Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
Maelstrom808 wrote:CthuluIsSpy wrote:LOS is drawn from the target, not from the barge. The splash damage is not from the vehicle; it is from the target unit, as that is where the damage is coming from. The FAQ disagrees with you. I'm not entirely sure I agree with that. The FAQ refers to cover saves and vehicle facings, but not to LOS. Now, logically, as the arcing is originating from the target unit, the damage should originate from them...but on the other hand, the FAQ does specify that cover is to be treated as if the damage is coming from the barge itself. Now, does cover = LOS? That's the question.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/18 21:57:34
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 21:56:54
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Phazael wrote:Does that mean you are allowed to focus fire with Arc hits too? I mean, come on guys its meant to be random arcs from the primary unit, not some precise shot from the firing vehicle.
I'd say if you focus fire with the main shot, then the arc hits would follow the same. The FAQ tells you that cover and armor facings for arc hits are determined from the barge's perspective, that's a pretty blatant example that they consider the arc hits to need to be resolved from the barge.
I agree that it's unfluffy and it should be worked out from the target unit, but GW apparently disagrees. Automatically Appended Next Post: BRB pg 73 wrote:Shots are resolved against the facing of the vehicle that the shot comes from.
Necron FAQ pg 4 wrote:Q: Are cover saves and facings for the hits from the tesla destructor's Arc special rule worked out using the position of the firing unit or the unit it targeted?
A: From the firing unit.
Pretty clear (if unfluffy/illogical) where the shot comes from.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/18 22:07:26
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 23:31:13
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
''The FAQ tells you that cover and armor facings for arc hits are determined from the barge's perspective, that's a pretty blatant example that they consider the arc hits to need to be resolved from the barge.''
Yet it doesn't state LOS is determined from the barge for the arc rule only for the initial shot as for the arc rule ''you roll a D6 for each other unit within 6'' of the TARGET. If you roll a 6, that unit suffers D6 automatic strength 5, AP- hits.'' Both the Line Of Sight pg12 and the Out Of Sight rule on pg16 only references the TARGET UNIT that you have to see, not the other units affected by a special rule such as the arc, so in this case because they have that wording the arc rule would still affect units that cant be seen by the barge and the wounds would still be inflicted as they are not the target unit so the LOS & Out Of Sight rules do not apply.
|
Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 23:57:45
Subject: Re:Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
It wouldn't state that LOS is determined from the POV of the barge, as that is already a given due to the normal 'Shooting Phase' rules.
"...A model normally needs line of sight whenever it wishes to attack an enemy, whether with power sword, gun or psychic power..."
"...To target an enemy unit, at least one model must have line of sight (see page 8) to at least one model in the target unit...
"...If there are no visible models in the target unit, all remaining Wounds in the pool are lost and the shooting attack ends..."
I agree with everyone who is saying that the LOS 'should' probably be determined from the unit which the extra hits are radiating from, but currently there is no official rules to support that so you have to go with the default rules which indicate the annihiliation barge itself.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/07/19 00:00:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/18 23:59:20
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Devious Space Marine dedicated to Tzeentch
Australia
|
Maelstrom808 wrote: BRB pg 73 wrote:Shots are resolved against the facing of the vehicle that the shot comes from.
Necron FAQ pg 4 wrote:Q: Are cover saves and facings for the hits from the tesla destructor's Arc special rule worked out using the position of the firing unit or the unit it targeted?
A: From the firing unit.
Pretty clear (if unfluffy/illogical) where the shot comes from.
I agree with Maelstrom808 on the rules interpretation. However, I think that it's actually quite fluffy:
http://comps.canstockphoto.com/can-stock-photo_csp4922600.jpg
Arcing electricity still comes from the source of the current. So, in the pic above, if the nut was the original target, i'd see the arcing hitting the bolt and the pink stuff. Both have to be 'reasonably close' to the first target (the nut), but there still has to be a direct line between the bolt/pink stuff and the source of the current.
I think the 'Out of Sight' rules on p16 reinforce this.
BRB pg 16 wrote:If no models in the firing unit can see a particular model, then Wounds cannot be allocated to it, and must be instead allocated to the nearest visible model in the target unit"
I think 'target unit' here refers to the unit hit by the arc. I can't see anything in the rules anywhere that says that the arcing is exempt from this rule. 'Target unit' isn't even mentioned in the first half of the sentence, which disallows wound allocation to unseen models.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/19 00:00:08
2000 pts
Compel wrote:
Because in a universe where the basic weapon is a rocket propelled grenade machine gun, with gigantic battletanks, 5 kilometer long spaceships, huge robots and power armoured supersoldiers, the most powerful guy you want to field on a battlefield is a bloke in a pointy hat carrying a stick. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 00:01:25
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
DexKivuli wrote:Maelstrom808 wrote: BRB pg 73 wrote:Shots are resolved against the facing of the vehicle that the shot comes from. Necron FAQ pg 4 wrote:Q: Are cover saves and facings for the hits from the tesla destructor's Arc special rule worked out using the position of the firing unit or the unit it targeted? A: From the firing unit. Pretty clear (if unfluffy/illogical) where the shot comes from. I agree with Maelstrom808 on the rules interpretation. However, I think that it's actually quite fluffy: http://comps.canstockphoto.com/can-stock-photo_csp4922600.jpg Arcing electricity still comes from the source of the current. So, in the pic above, if the nut was the original target, i'd see the arcing hitting the bolt and the pink stuff. Both have to be 'reasonably close' to the first target (the nut), but there still has to be a direct line between the bolt/pink stuff and the source of the current. I think the 'Out of Sight' rules on p16 reinforce this. BRB pg 16 wrote:If no models in the firing unit can see a particular model, then Wounds cannot be allocated to it, and must be instead allocated to the nearest visible model in the target unit" I think 'target unit' here refers to the unit hit by the arc. I can't see anything in the rules anywhere that says that the arcing is exempt from this rule. 'Target unit' isn't even mentioned in the first half of the sentence, which disallows wound allocation to unseen models. Oooh that's a good point. I was thinking along the lines of chain lightning, that spell in fantasy games.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/19 00:01:34
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 00:11:47
Subject: Re:Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Neorealist wrote:I agree with everyone who is saying that the LOS 'should' probably be determined from the unit which the extra hits are radiating from, but currently there is no official rules to support that so you have to go with the default rules which indicate the annihilation barge itself.
This is correct.
Pg 4 Necron Errata
Q: Are cover saves and facing for the hits from the Tesla destructorr's Arc special rule worked out using the position of the firing unit or the unit targeted? (p82)
A: From the firing unit.
As far as cover saves go, see above. Note though, your armor save may be better, in which case, you'll have to take the armor save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 11:43:48
Subject: Tesla Destructors Arc vs LOS
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
It wouldn't state that LOS is determined from the POV of the barge, as that is already a given due to the normal 'Shooting Phase' rules.
"...A model NORMALLY needs line of sight whenever it wishes to attack an enemy, whether with power sword, gun or psychic power..."
"...To target an enemy unit, at least one model must have line of sight (see page 8) to at least one model in the TARGET UNIT...
"...If there are no visible models in the TARGET UNIT, all remaining Wounds in the pool are lost and the shooting attack ends..."
The LOS from the barge is used for the initial shot itself as it only advises that the TARGET UNIT has to be in LOS and in RANGE, the arc rule hits any other units within 6'' on the role of a 6 automatically but does not class them as being a TARGET UNIT, the TARGET UNIT is the unit i shot the TD at and not every other unit hit by the arc, you cant have multiple target units unless your unit has a special rule which will state you may pick another target unit such as the Power of the Machine Spirit does.
''I think 'target unit' here refers to the unit hit by the arc. I can't see anything in the rules anywhere that says that the arcing is exempt from this rule. 'Target unit' isn't even mentioned in the first half of the sentence, which disallows wound allocation to unseen models.''
You're correct it doesn't mention it in the first sentence of a paragraph, if you were to read upto the bullet point at the end of that paragraph you can see it does specifically reference a target unit.
I appreciate the assumptions that LOS and Out Of Sight rules should apply and i can understand them but due to those rules stating 'the' or 'a' target unit of which the rulebook only confirms the actual unit i chose and shot at with the TD being my target unit, aswell as the ARC rule not classing those hit by it as being targetted units themselves and thus why i believe it is up for debate.
The arc ability is a special rule of an already resolved shooting attack at a target unit, this ability is very similar to the Lord of the Storm used by Imotekh which is also not a shooting attack but a specific special rule, however LotS affects the whole battlefield but the arc only affects those in 6'' of the target unit, both roll a D6 for each unit in their area of effect and on a roll of a 6 that unit is hit automatically (it never states they are a targetted unit) so in these instances you dont have a target unit, due to having no target unit LOS does not apply which is why they can hit any unit in their area of effect and the Out Of Sight rule would not apply either so damage is still done and saves are still taken.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/19 11:46:47
Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. |
|
 |
 |
|