Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 06:42:55
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
Currently I'm toying with the idea of running a Dlord with my scarabs and came up with a few questions.
1) If the dlord gets the warlord power where he is scoring does that make the scarabs now scoring? pg 123 says that"Troops which are also swarms cant score" since they are not troops does that mean they can score if you roll that power?
2)If you move the scarabs 12" but the dlord only 6" does the unit get to re-roll its charge since the jump back on the dlord says pg17"If a jump pack model uses its jump pack to charge into assault it can re-roll charge distance"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 08:00:09
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
1. That warlord trait is about the warlord only. It doesn't make the unit he is joined to scoring too. Scarabs are scoring in "The scouring" mission.
2. Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 08:10:37
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Regarding the Jump Pack question:
No, only the model with the jump pack is given permission to re-roll his assault distance, not his entire unit. It is then governed by this rule on Page 21.
"ff a unit has models that roll differently for their charge range, the whole unit must charge at the speed of the slowest model."
in this instance, you could perhaps argue that you still get to re-roll his charge range, but you won't be able to charge any faster than your original roll which is the scarabs charge range, so all the re-roll would do is potentially make your unit charge slower if you rolled badly.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 10:25:48
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The scarabs have fleet.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 10:51:44
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
hmmm, well that's an interesting situation, since fleets re-roll allows you to do an individual die, but the jump troop re-roll is all or nothing.
I think maybe you have to roll separately for the scarabs and the destroyer lord, using whichever rolls lower as your distance, in fact I would extend that to any situation where two people have different rules affecting their rolls.
The alternative would be to just use the "slowest" rolling method for the whole unit, which in this instance, is the jump infantry one, but I'm not sure it would always necessarily be so clear cut.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0032/07/19 11:49:41
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
With fleet you car reroll one or more dice, with JI you can reroll the assault distance, so a full reroll is the common ground.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 12:12:05
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
i thogh Fleet just allowed you to re-roll your Run dice roll, OR ONE of your charge dice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 12:42:48
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Praxiss wrote:i thogh Fleet just allowed you to re-roll your Run dice roll, OR ONE of your charge dice.
Fleet is any number of charge dice, not just one.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 16:25:51
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Oh, nice!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/19 17:49:31
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And any number of Run dice, not just one.
Go HGaunts....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/20 04:14:15
Subject: Few swarm questions
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Just remembered the wording on the Fleet rule, it requires a whole unit having fleet ("A unit composed entirely of models with this special rule can re-roll one or more of the dice...") which means, since the Destroyer Lord does not have fleet, the unit loses the ability to use the fleet re-roll, which means the scarabs have no re-roll available, and the unit will just be forced to make a normal assault range roll with no bonuses to it.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|