Switch Theme:

Ork Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





Okay, i played against an ork player last night and am pretty sure he wasn't playing all the rules properly. So here are my questions.

1) Ghazkull's waagh. How long does it last? He was claiming that it lasts for 2 full game turns. Im pretty sure it doesnt but he was adamant that it did and was getting annoyed that i kept trying to find it in the rules so i just let it go. And also, exactly how does the waagh interact with the new rules?

2) Can a big mek attach to a killa kan squad? He is infantry and killa kans are walkers so i dont he can. And if he has a KFF, what is the cover save on it? He was taking a 4+ which seemed pretty high.
   
Made in us
Axis & Allies Player




Texas

1) Essentially one full game turn. Waagh gives the Orks Fleet, with a codex specific disadvantage that is clarified in the Ork FAQ. Ghazghkull's Waagh also makes Orks Fearless and gives him improved saves.

2) No. 5+ cover (it was 4+ for vehicles last edition, though).
   
Made in gb
Pete Haines




Nottingham

Ghazgkull's Waaagh! lasts for two player turns. For example if I Waaagh turn 2, and if Ork's went first, it could cover Ork Turn 2, and Opponent Turn 2. If Orks went second, it could cover Ork Turn 2, and Opponent Turn 3. It is not 2 game turns! It says right in Ghazzy's rules "Ghazgkull's Waaagh! lasts the remainder of that player's game turn, and all the following player's turn" (Page 58).

Waaagh does what it always did, makes Orks fleet for a turn. However, what Fleet does has changed. You can no longer run and then charge. Instead you can re-roll run moves, or re-roll assault distance. You still take a wound if you roll a 1 (i.e., a 1 on either dice for assault range) for either of these moves, even if you then re-roll it.

Afraid I haven't got a copy of my 6th edition rulebook handy, so I can't check the exact working for Independent Characters joining vehicle squadrons. Though if it's like 5th edition, he cannot.

Kustom Force Fields grant obscured to vehicles within 6". Obscured is a 5+ cover save in 6th edition. It grants a 5+ cover to non-vehicle units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/20 13:14:36


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

1). One game turn. So if used during your turn it will last until the end of your opponents turn. No longer. Works fine with the new rules giving Orks Fleet, and counting run moves as 6" (see Ork FAQ).

2). No, a Mekboy cannot join killa kans as they are a vehicle squadron (top of P39).
KFF is 5+ for vehicles and infantry now.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Marshall Ragnar wrote:he was adamant that it did and was getting annoyed that i kept trying to find it in the rules


I wanted to point this out... he's the Codex and army owner. If you've questioned a Codex rule that he's using, the onus is on him to show it to you - not for you to accept it unless you find otherwise. Of course, without being there at the time I realise this could have been more awkward than I'm making it sound.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

The WAAAGH! lasts for 2 player turns. Ghazzy's WAAAGH! can be called at any time, so he can call it during your turn if he really wanted to for those sweet, sweet invulnerable saves. However, it would expire at the end of his next turn.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





How does Ghazzys waagh affect the dice roll though? He was claiming that one of the dice was automatically a 6, then he would roll 2 dice and pick the highest.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




A big mek has never been able to join a squad of kans. What a terrible idea anyway. He'd die.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Marshall Ragnar wrote:How does Ghazzys waagh affect the dice roll though? He was claiming that one of the dice was automatically a 6, then he would roll 2 dice and pick the highest.


They count as rolling a 6 for the run. (codex not in front of me, but i'm pretty sure)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And they still have fleet, so, if you still get both
(The auto 6 for running, and fleet to reroll one dice on the charge) that's a pretty big buff to ghaz.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/20 15:01:27


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Except you can't run and charge anymore

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The FAQ has needed info also, about Waagh and Gazzy
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




jcress410 wrote:
Automatically Appended Next Post:
And they still have fleet, so, if you still get both
(The auto 6 for running, and fleet to reroll one dice on the charge) that's a pretty big buff to ghaz.


Except that you can't charge the same turn you run.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User





As for Ghazghull's Waaagh!!!! it's now pretty useless, based on the FAQ.

"all Orks infantry units automatically count as rolling a 6 if they Run"

No charge bonus.

   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

If that's the case, it's no longer useless, just means a change to its use. Better saves and a guaranteed 6" run, but no charging? Use it on your first or second turn. You know - when you're closing the gap but are out of slugga/charge range, and most susceptible to return fire anyway.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You cannot use it first turn.

It gives you Fleet, meaning a reroll of charge. That is GOLDEN.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:You cannot use it first turn.

It gives you Fleet, meaning a reroll of charge. That is GOLDEN.


right, but regular waagh gives you fleet... so you don't by ghaz for his waaagh any more. (if you ever did)
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

In 5th, ghazzy's WAAAGH!(proper spelling ) was great because you had a guaranteed 18 inch threat range for assault. Now, it is more useful to bring up the boyz that are lagging behind a little.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: