Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 04:38:13
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
As the title says.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 04:42:10
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The Scout rule is on P. 41 of the BRB.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 04:48:27
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
Yes, thank you, I have read it. However I'm not clear on the wording. Does the statement of "If at least one model has this special rule" mean that that one model confers it to ANY one attached to the unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 04:51:48
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It doesn't confer the rule, but the unit can still benefit if not everyone has it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 04:51:50
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
matphat wrote:Yes, thank you, I have read it. However I'm not clear on the wording. Does the statement of "If at least one model has this special rule" mean that that one model confers it to ANY one attached to the unit?
Yes, if at least one model has it, the unit can redeploy.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/21 04:51:55
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 04:54:07
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
So by that logic, since the unit can use the scout USR, and the Scout USR also confers Outflank, then any IC attached to the Unit can outflank with that unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 05:11:43
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 05:37:47
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
pretre wrote:Yes.
No.
In order to use the Outflank Reserve deployment, the unit must be declared as outflanking ; which is only possible if at least 1 model has the outflank Special rule(alone or Via Infiltrate and/or Scouts).
ICs must Join units at deployment(or entering of reserves); and at the time that the IC without Outflank(Inherent or conferred via Infiltrate and/or Scouts) enters reserve(to attach to the Outflanking unit) the IC cannot join the unit as it has no rules granting it Outflank(It is not yet a member of the already outflanking unit, and has none of the 3 rules that allow it to Infiltrate).
First sentence/Paragraph of "Joining and Leaving a Unit" page 39 of the BRB IC Boxout is the RAW on this: " An Independent Character can begin the game already with a unit, Either by being deployed in unit coherency with it or, if the unit is in reserve, by informing your opponent of which unit it has joined."
Dissecting the 2 parts of the Bold above we first find that ICs cannot Join units during deployment until after the unit has deployed; this allows an IC to make a Scout Move, but disallows an IC from deploying with Infiltrators(unless the IC has Infiltrate as well), nor benefit from any other rules a Unit may have/declare upon deployment. The second part denies Outflank because in Order to join a unit in reserve; that unit must already be declared in reserve, and units that can outflank must declare their intention as they enter reserves( BRB Page, First non-italics sentence).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 12:24:13
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I agree with Kel, but I think RAI is that ICs can deploy with the outflanking unit.
I don't have rules to back that up, I just think that's what GW intended.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 12:24:32
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Isn't this the shrike problem again?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 12:53:21
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
pretre wrote:Isn't this the shrike problem again?
Yes, just worded slightly different.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 14:36:34
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Ugh. So rai vs raw until faq'd. Gotcha.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/21 15:34:34
Subject: Do DeffKoptas confer the scout USR to any IC attached to them?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
pretre wrote:Ugh. So rai vs raw until faq'd. Gotcha. They did FAQ Shrike.... ....sorta. FAQ Says: Change "...(and the models in his squad)..." to read "...(and any models in a unit that he has joined before deployment)..." While that does not specifically grant permission to Join him to the unit in any manner outside of the the previously stated 2; it certainly does imply that he can join a unit prior to any deployment, So at least you Shrike players have a leg in the argument. p.s. I would totally allow Shrike to join the unit and then they have Infiltrate/outflank without a seconds thought, due to the FAQ.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/21 15:36:15
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|