| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 18:12:32
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
One of the changes I have noted from 5th to 6th is the absence of the rule preventing you from trying to seize the initiative from someone who has already seized it from you.
Thoughts?
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 18:17:43
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Find permission to seize the initiative a second time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 18:24:14
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
I'm not. I'm seizing it for the first time. Find a rule that says permission to seize is limited to one roll.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/22 18:24:31
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 18:26:36
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You dont have permission
"Next, the person who deployed his army first starts the first turn unless his opponent can Seize the Initiative"
If you were going first you have no permssion to ever StI.
Now you have to prove you do, when the rule explicitly only gives permisison to one player.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 18:43:54
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
"If a player who is due to go second wishes to seize the initiative, he can roll a D6..."
If you follow the definition of the rule, it says that the player who is "due to go second" which has nothing to do with who deployed first.
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 18:55:09
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"Next, the person who deployed his army first starts the first turn unless his opponent can Seize the Initiative" "If a player who is due to go second wishes to seize the initiative..." Conclusion, the person who deployed first has no option to Seize the Initiative, as only that persons opponent is given the allowance to Seize the Initiative. You can not look at one sentence in a vacuum. You have to take all of the rules into account and look at the context of the section.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/22 18:56:11
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 19:05:07
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
What DR & nos 1001 said. It's a Permissive ruleset, Kitzz. If the rules don't say you can do it, then you can't. There is no 'rule' by omission. That's pretty much *all* games from soccer to M:tG.
Yer easteregg hunting.
BTW: have you tried this on an opponent?
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 21:26:05
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Fell Caller - Child of Bragg
|
Kitzz wrote:"If a player who is due to go second wishes to seize the initiative, he can roll a D6..."
If you follow the definition of the rule, it says that the player who is "due to go second" which has nothing to do with who deployed first.
"Next, the person who deployed his army first starts the first turn unless his opponent can Seize the Initiative"
That's all it says. The only time we even look at the Seize sidebar is for the person who didn't deploy first.
If you deployed first and they seized, there's nothing that says you can seize in return... you're not the opponent of the person who deployed first.
|
Over 350 points of painted Trolls and Cyriss |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/22 22:18:42
Subject: Seizing the seized initiative
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kitzz wrote:"If a player who is due to go second wishes to seize the initiative, he can roll a D6..."
If you follow the definition of the rule, it says that the player who is "due to go second" which has nothing to do with who deployed first.
So you're ignoring the rule that allows you to Seize the Initiative?
Why are you doing that?
I gave you the definition of the rule, in bold, that allows you to find out with StI actually does. It gives no allowance for the person who went first to ever, ever, seize.
Not only easter egg hunting, but blatantly ignoring a rule to do so.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|