Switch Theme:

Models entering play that cannot be placed....  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




What happens to a model coming in from reserve, that cannot be placed.

Say your opponent lined the short table edge you rolled to outflank from, and it was impossible to move the model all the way onto the board, or place it on the board edge due to enemy models in the way.

This was Outflanking War Walkers vs Guardsmen line on short table edge.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
pg40&124 seem to have no further instructions if the model cant make it onto the board, or be placed on the board edge without being ontop of or within 1" of enemy models...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/23 03:15:26


 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





I'm thinking they all die. That was how it worked in 5th for sure but I'm not sure if it works that way still.

3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/23 03:59:37


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you cannot fulfil either of those, then it only makes sense to destroy the models. It is how they ruled in the past, with this edition changing to allow models that only partly make it on, or cant move, o be placed on the back edge
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

In your given instance, the models would be destroyed. There's a very famous example of this occurring (in 5th, mind you) at a tournament where a White Scars player lost to a Tau player thanks to deployment. The White Scars player had put everything in reserve but couldn't outflank, and the Tau player as a result was able to infiltrate a large Kroot unit across his table edge. This meant his models couldn't deploy from reserve without moving within 1" of an enemy model.

However, in general - it's not always the case that models that can't be placed are destroyed. If Deep Striking, you need to consult the Deep Strike Mishap rules instead (pg 36 if memory serves). If it's simply down to dodgy, non-impassable terrain preventing what would otherwise be legal deployment then the Wobbly Model Syndrome rule would apply. I'm sure there are other examples.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







You'll notice that no one has so far actually quoted a rule concerning what happens.

The FAQ for 5th edition added a statement to address this problem. And confusing a tournament ruling to handle the game breaking for an actual rule doesn't change the situation.

As it stands, the rules don't say what to do. Good luck with that.
   
Made in us
Widowmaker





Virginia

There's nothing that says they are destroyed. That's old edition stuff.

I would say that with the rule of ongoing reserves or whatever it's called, that they would fall into that category.

2012- stopped caring
Nova Open 2011- Orks 8th Seed---(I see a trend)
Adepticon 2011- Mike H. Orks 8th Seed (This was the WTF list of the Final 16)
Adepticon 2011- Combat Patrol Best General 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I disagree - Ongoing Reserves says "If a unit enters reserve part way through the game, such as a Flyer leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves."

There's no permission to place a unit that hasn't entered the field yet into Ongoing Reserves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/23 17:05:25


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




there is no instructions to Destroy the models either, lol.

locally we will just be placing them back into reserve, not ongoing reserves until this is handled somehow by GW.

Some want to roll on mishap table, etc. pretty much all over the place, as the book surely gives 0 instructions.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The rules clearly state that the models "must" be placed fully on the board. But doesn't list any consequences for failing to do so.

It seems most logical that they are destroyed, which is what happens in (all?) other situations when models can't be placed.

Or you could say that the game just breaks and comes to a stop.

Or you could say that since they must, and can't, the owning player is not following the rules, and therefore loses the game.

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Im not really sure why 5th edition FAQ would matter at all. Many think otherwise, that in this edition (using flyers and deep strikers as examples) the unit should be treated more softly.

   
Made in fi
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine






But now a player can't put all of his units into reserves (exept daemons and bod assault) without losing the game straight on. Both players have models on the table, so a situation, where someone would be given 2 turns to abuse the situation would not happen, atleast often. But how i would suggest for units that are outflanking and can't, that they would just come in from the owning players own table edge. Ofc this would be a house rule as the rules don't tell us to do so.

White Scars Space marines
Daemons 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Having scoured the rulebook, I can't find anything to state what happens either and therefore retract the first line from my earlier post. However I'm still erring towards the destroyed side of the fence, because of the "Wrecked!" rules on page 80. Now, I absolutely recognise that this doesn't apply as RAW to reserve arrivals because it specifies models that can't emergency disembark from a transport. But it states that such models are "removed as casualties" and gives nearby models as an example of how this could happen. I think this is the closest we're going to get without GW clarification.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





The rules state that the model must be placed all the way on the table. If the model can not move all the way on so no part of it overhangs move it on to the table until no part overhangs.
So if the unit must be completly on the table and we know that the unit can not end up within 1" of an enemy unit I would say they have to be placed on the board further away than 1" from an enemy unit.
So roll it off to see if the enemy unit gets moved back till it is not in 1" or move your unit until it is not in 1".

I'm sure this will get FAQed. I don't see any really good way to handle it.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Gloomfang wrote:The rules state that the model must be placed all the way on the table. If the model can not move all the way on so no part of it overhangs move it on to the table until no part overhangs.
So if the unit must be completly on the table and we know that the unit can not end up within 1" of an enemy unit I would say they have to be placed on the board further away than 1" from an enemy unit.
So roll it off to see if the enemy unit gets moved back till it is not in 1" or move your unit until it is not in 1".

I'm sure this will get FAQed. I don't see any really good way to handle it.

I don't understand why you're trying to have the opponent move their models to fit yours on... That doesn't work in literally any other situation.

In 5th, the unit was destroyed. I expect 6th to be FAQed the same way.



My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

rigeld2 wrote:I disagree - Ongoing Reserves says "If a unit enters reserve part way through the game, such as a Flyer leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves."

There's no permission to place a unit that hasn't entered the field yet into Ongoing Reserves.


There are no rules stating the said unit is destroyed either. Unless of course maybe you can provide a page #?

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Dozer Blades wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:I disagree - Ongoing Reserves says "If a unit enters reserve part way through the game, such as a Flyer leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves."

There's no permission to place a unit that hasn't entered the field yet into Ongoing Reserves.


There are no rules stating the said unit is destroyed either. Unless of course maybe you can provide a page #?

I never said there was. In 5th ed. it was FAQed to be destroyed. I expect 6th to be the same way.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





rigeld2 wrote:I don't understand why you're trying to have the opponent move their models to fit yours on... That doesn't work in literally any other situation.

In 5th, the unit was destroyed. I expect 6th to be FAQed the same way.



It works in Tank Shock. Its the only other way I can think to resolve the Must and Can't of the situation. If Can't meets must then you roll it off.

I expect it to be destroied or go into ongoing reserves. Anything in reserves at the end of the game is considered destroyed anyway.
   
Made in us
Fell Caller - Child of Bragg







The only rule we have that's close is what happens to models that can't get out of the 1" range of enemy models during emergency disembarkation, which is "destroyed."

The best we can hope for is RAI here because the rules simply do not tell us enough. I think the above combined with the 5E ruling is enough to determine RAI, as long as we all agree that by RAW we simply don't know what to do.

Over 350 points of painted Trolls and Cyriss 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: