Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 20:31:21
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
I had a bit of a strange scenario come up in a game and I wasn't really confident with how I answered the question.
A max size unit of terminators is embarked in a land raider, and tries to disembark into difficult terrain. Since they're moving into difficult terrain, they have to roll - and botch it, rolling snake eyes. However, with that roll, they can't actually all disembark and fit around the land raider. So what happens?
At the time, we decided that since the rules don't say you can choose not to disembark after rolling the dice but it couldn't disembark legally, the unit was forced to do an emergency disembarkation. Thoughts?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 20:43:45
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My thoughts in this case as debarkation is a set distance of 6", it should supersede normal movement rules, much like consolidation moves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 21:08:39
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I am of the opinion that if you don't get enough movement to disembark then you stay embarked
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 21:09:20
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
barnowl wrote:My thoughts in this case as debarkation is a set distance of 6", it should supersede normal movement rules, much like consolidation moves.
This is incorrect I'm afraid. Check page 79.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/23 21:10:34
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 21:55:51
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
barnowl wrote:My thoughts in this case as debarkation is a set distance of 6", it should supersede normal movement rules, much like consolidation moves.
It is specifically a normal move.
You would emergency disembark, as the process once started doesnt seem to be able to be stopped
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 22:08:36
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You cant ever change your mind about disembarking?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 22:18:51
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
40k-noob wrote:You cant ever change your mind about disembarking?
It doesn't say that you can, so you can't. At least, as far as I've found so far.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 22:19:07
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It doesnt look like it - you dont roll until after you place the first model. Find permisison to think again!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 22:19:58
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
40k-noob wrote:You cant ever change your mind about disembarking?
Not once the first model begins moving. You then have to finish moving all the models in the unit before you go on to another unit.
So the first model disembarks in contact with the access point. You roll for difficult terrain and roll snake eyes. That model then move 1". Now the next model disembarks and moves 1", and so on.
When you get to the point where a model in the unit can't disembark because there are friendly units in the way, you perform an emergency disembarkation with the remaining models, placing them in contact with the hull.
If you end up with no space to place the last models in the unit (probably unlikely with a land raider but I'll have to check it), then the unit can't disembark and remains on board, so the unit is put back aboard the land raider.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 22:54:06
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thanks for the info.
Does that go for moving and running as well, once you roll dice, you have committed to the move/run? Automatically Appended Next Post: time wizard wrote:40k-noob wrote:You cant ever change your mind about disembarking?
Not once the first model begins moving. You then have to finish moving all the models in the unit before you go on to another unit.
So the first model disembarks in contact with the access point. You roll for difficult terrain and roll snake eyes. That model then move 1". Now the next model disembarks and moves 1", and so on.
When you get to the point where a model in the unit can't disembark because there are friendly units in the way, you perform an emergency disembarkation with the remaining models, placing them in contact with the hull.
If you end up with no space to place the last models in the unit (probably unlikely with a land raider but I'll have to check it), then the unit can't disembark and remains on board, so the unit is put back aboard the land raider.
Obviously that many Termies cant disembark within 1" of a vehicle and since so you cannot stack on top of each other or halfway out of the LR door does that not constitute "impassable terrain" thus making the emergency disembarking the only option available?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/23 22:59:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/23 23:15:34
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
40k-noob wrote:Thanks for the info.
Does that go for moving and running as well, once you roll dice, you have committed to the move/run?
Yes.
For moving the rule is on page 90, right hand column, 3rd paragraph.
For running the rule is on page 14 last sentence of the first paragraph under 'Run'.
[/quote= 40k-noob] Obviously that many Termies cant disembark within 1" of a vehicle and since so you cannot stack on top of each other or halfway out of the LR door does that not constitute "impassable terrain" thus making the emergency disembarking the only option available?
If they don't roll hight enough, possibly.
It depends on how many terminators you have in the Land Raider to begin with.
But since the basic land raider can only carry 6 terminators and even the crusader can carry a maximum of 8, you should still be able to fit them all within 1" of the access points.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 01:22:34
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Most terminator units should have no problem being placed within 1" of the three hatches on a land raider.
The bigger issue may be with a full-size unit of 16 normal guys in a LR Crusader. Or 12 models fitting out of the single hatch on a Wave Serpent or Chimera.
But there is the Emergency Disembark option.
In the past there were no rules to cover similar situations- like a 20 model Necron Warrior squad disembarking from a Monolith, which was physically impossible under the 3rd-5th ed rules.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 01:37:50
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
How does a 40mm base disembark 1" of the hatch as the base is longer than 1"?
5th was 2" disembark to the back of the base but 6th is 6" to the front of the base... which means to me the front-end of the base can't be more than 1" from the hatch which means 40mm bases can't disembark without at least 2" of distance to move.
I am curious also for large 25mm units disembarking 1" as well... what happens?
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 01:53:07
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Good question. Like the Warriors and the Monolith, or Obliterators trying to walk into the table from Reserve in Dawn of War in 5th ed. GW didn't think it through.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 03:44:45
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
The unit makes a normal move, and must stay within 6". Two different things.
Taking a difficult terrain check doesn't change the 6" disembark bubble, so big bases are fine.
This also means (I think?), jump packers can make a 12" move around their transport, as long as they stay within 6".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 04:04:07
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Ah! Good observation. You're right. Big bases don't have a problem.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 15:18:37
Subject: Re:Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Yes because when disembarking, the model is placed in base contact with one of the vehicle's access points and then makes a normal move.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 17:47:06
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ok now I am a little confused.
So if 8 Termies disembark from a LR in the middle of a forest and the "Difficult terrain" roll comes up double 1's they can still move out from the access point further than 1" so long as they stay within 6 inches?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 18:28:50
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No. You place the first model in Base with the access point then move 1". Then you place the next model in Base with the access point and move 1" keeping in coherancy, repeat until all models are disembarked or you can't disembark normally anymore. Should you be unable to normal disembark anymore and you have models still you MUST emergency disembark. Around a Land Raider, you MIGHT be able to get out 8 without an Emergency disembark.
The 6" bubble doesn't come into play in this scenario as you can't get outside of 1"+Base size of an access point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 18:29:21
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
40k-noob wrote:ok now I am a little confused. So if 8 Termies disembark from a LR in the middle of a forest and the "Difficult terrain" roll comes up double 1's they can still move out from the access point further than 1" so long as they stay within 6 inches?
No. The models are placed in contact with the access point, then they make the normal move, which can not end further than 6 inched from the access point.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/24 18:29:36
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 18:33:35
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
DeathReaper wrote:40k-noob wrote:ok now I am a little confused.
So if 8 Termies disembark from a LR in the middle of a forest and the "Difficult terrain" roll comes up double 1's they can still move out from the access point further than 1" so long as they stay within 6 inches?
No.
The models are placed in contact with the access point, then they make the normal move, which can not end further than 6 inched from the access point.
So they place the model, then move 1" which means they are moving 40mm + 1"
But the max distance they can end up is 6" not 40mm + 6".
Works for me.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 19:40:09
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
That is correct nkelsch.
The max they can move is 6 inches away from the vehicle, they must be fully within this 6 inches.
However they get the 40MM base +1 inch movement when exiting into difficult terrain and they roll a double 1
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 20:16:36
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:That is correct nkelsch.
The max they can move is 6 inches away from the vehicle, they must be fully within this 6 inches.
However they get the 40MM base +1 inch movement when exiting into difficult terrain and they roll a double 1
Ok but there is now way you can have 8 Termies disembark a LR and only move 1" some would end up stacked on top of each other.
Which brings me back to the OP's question, in the case where a unit disembarks into Difficult Terrain but does not roll a sufficiently high enough distance, would an Emer-Disembark be the option that he must take?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/24 20:20:48
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Not true. The LR has 3 different access points. it is not tough to get all 8 terminators out of the vehicle with only a 1 inch move.
But if somehow the exits were blocked or six terminators were in a chimera, then yes they would have to emergency disembark
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 17:43:44
Subject: Re:Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If the unit intends to disembark into difficult terrain, do you test per model (because they disembark one at a time) or do you roll once for the first model and all other must use the first roll? It says to repeat this process for each model in the unit.
The method given in the rulebook tells you to place one model at a time and then move it so that it remains entirely within 6 inches of the access point. And you repeat that until all models are out of the transport. Now obviously most people just plop down all their models and then measure to make sure they're all within 6 inches. The one at a time method isn't really needed unless there is a chance they won't all be able to fit/get out.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/04 17:46:49
Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 17:45:20
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Diff Terrain tests are per unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 17:47:07
Subject: Re:Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Disembarking is per model.
It says to repeat this process for each model, testing for dangerous and difficult is part of the process if you're moving into difficult terrain (dangerous if you're say a jetbike disembarking from a necron transport). For it to be only once then wouldn't only the first jetbike take dangerous?
“Pg 79
Placing Disembarked Models
When a unit disembarks, place the models one at a time, using the following method: place the first model in base contact with one of the vehicles access points. If the model cannot be placed in base contact with access point due to the vehicles flying base, place it so its body is in contact with the access point. In either case, a disembarking model’s base cannot be placed within 1 inch of an enemy model or within impassable terrain.
The model can then make a normal move – difficult and dangerous terrain tests should be taken as normal, but it must end its move wholly within 6 inches of the access point it disembarked from (we assume that any distance that is lost because of this has been used getting out of the transport). Repeat this process for each model in the unit. At the end of the units move, all models must be in coherency."
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/08/04 18:20:36
Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 18:00:17
Subject: Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
pg 79 emergency disembarkation
If even this disembarkation is impossible, because it is impossible to place one or more models, then the unit can't disembark.
So you start with a normal disembarkation method, if that can't be achieved you emergency disembark, and if that still doesn't get everyone out of the truck, you can't disembark.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 18:19:17
Subject: Re:Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Crablezworth wrote:Disembarking is per model.
It says to repeat this process for each model, testing for dangerous and difficult is part of the process if you're moving into difficult terrain (dangerous if you're say a jetbike disembarking from a necron transport). For it to be only once then wouldn't only the first jetbike take dangerous?
Dangerous terrain tests are per model
Difficult terrain tests are taken once by the unit
Which is why I said "diff" terrain.
You test once when you place and move the first model. That gives you the total distance the unit can move away from the vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 18:23:32
Subject: Re:Disembarking into Difficult Terrain
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
"The model can then make a normal move – difficult and dangerous terrain tests should be taken as normal" "Repeat this process for each model in the unit."
Taking difficult and or dangerous is part of the "method" of models disembarking, it tells you to repeat the process for each model.
Look I know you're just going to say to read pg 90, this is a case where each model is making its own move, one at a time and its a method you repeat for each model until they've all disembarked or you're forced to emergency disembark.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/04 18:28:08
Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did. |
|
 |
 |
|