Switch Theme:

Escaping combat without using Hit and Run  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

So here is a tactic i accidentally stumbled on in a game yesterday, using my tyranids:

I had a unit of Termagants in close combat with Grey Knight Terminators, as well as a tervigon. On my turn he caused some wounds that I took on termagants, and due to fearless we stayed locked in CC. On his turn, the tervigon killed the terminator in Base to base with it at initiative 1. Combat was again locked, so it came time to pile-in.

I piled in the termagants not in base contact FIRST, which kept all his models in base to base with little termagants, and also prevented the tervigon from making base contact with a 3" move. We checked the rulebook and it appeared as if the tervigon was now free to make a consolidate roll. I moved out of CC, leaving my little guys to handle the lone terminator that was left, and went to assault a sisters of battle unit that was contesting another objective.

so the question is, does that really work in 6th? Can you in an assault with multiple units, pile in to block off your other models from making base contact, and get them out of CC as long as they have no models in base to base?

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, same as it worked in 5th - just harder to pull off then as you got 6" of consolidation
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





Yes. If no member of the unit is engaged in the combat at the end of the final pile-in cobat ends (for that unit).
   
Made in us
Sergeant First Class





Gloomfang wrote:Yes. If no member of the unit is engaged in the combat at the end of the final pile-in cobat ends (for that unit).


Engaged? Or touching? Because unless you have enough gants to keep the tervigon 2" away from a touching model, he is still engaged? Does it specify?
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

culsandar wrote:
Gloomfang wrote:Yes. If no member of the unit is engaged in the combat at the end of the final pile-in cobat ends (for that unit).


Engaged? Or touching? Because unless you have enough gants to keep the tervigon 2" away from a touching model, he is still engaged? Does it specify?


Rulebook specifies a unit must have 1 model in base contact to be considered locked in combat. Since the tervigon was a different unit than the gants, and unable to b2b, I was able to consolidate out of cc.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: