Switch Theme:

Surf lord charge question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Dakka Veteran





If a Command Barge is destroyed on the charge by Overwatch fire, can the surviving Necron lord inside declare an assault of his own in the same turn? I assume the argument is that 'it's not really the lord charging the first turn, it's the chariot!'
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




As long as he passes that pinning test, I can't see why not.
   
Made in se
Dakka Veteran





Because he was a part of a unit that already declared a charge this turn.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





In no way is he part of the same unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in se
Dakka Veteran





If someone tried to claim 'my lord is not charging, only his chariot' he shouldn't be allowed to participate in the combat. He didn't charge after all.

Wouldn't it be the same thing as if you had a lord in a unit of Warriors, they charge and the Warriors are all killed by Overwatch fire. Now you declare a charge with the lord on his own? Fishy.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/27 13:56:52


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





N.I.B. wrote:If someone tried to claim 'my lord is not charging, only his chariot' he shouldn't be allowed to participate in the combat. He didn't charge after all.

Wouldn't it be the same thing as if you had a lord in a unit of Warriors, they charge and the Warriors are all killed by Overwatch fire. Now you declare a charge with the lord on his own? Fishy.


Not the same thing at all.
He lord can participate with the chariot because the rules allow him to, but is indisputably not part of the chariots unit.
The lord with warriors absolutely is part of the warrior unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





He can not, the lord is embarked on the vehicle. The vehicle is destroyed and he does an emergency disembark, therefore he can not assault.
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Wrecked? no, as he needs to disembark and then can't assault.
Exploded? He does not disembark, so technically yes.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

pretre wrote:Wrecked? no, as he needs to disembark and then can't assault.
Exploded? He does not disembark, so technically yes.
Actually even if it's wrecked the CCB is open-topped which means it has the assault vehicle rule. That rule says a unit can assault even after the transport has been destroyed.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Ooh, good call. Forgot about Open-topped.

So yeah, he can still charge in.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







Even though your CCB was destroyed on the overwatch, you still havent rolled your charge distance yet. Though, before you get to roll, you have to make sure that your overlord isnt pinned by the vehicle rules.

Also, your opponent doesnt get to overwatch again if your Overlord passed the pinning test.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




pretre wrote:Wrecked? no, as he needs to disembark and then can't assault.
Exploded? He does not disembark, so technically yes.

Keep reading the next paragraph.

Regardless of how the transport was destroyed, the models are considered "now disembarked"

   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

The next paragraph after Explodes! is referring to shooting at the passengers and is non-conclusive.

Either way, open-topped.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Even though it's referring to shooting passengers, the wording is very distinct and is followed up by the summary in the back of the book.

But yes, open topped so it doesn't matter.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/27 17:42:30


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: